Thread: Beer at LOI Games

387 Posts
    Love having a beer at a game whenever I can but then again I generally wouldn’t have a load of beer before a game. It’s the lads who get mouldy drunk pre games that are the problem but they’re generally the problem whether there is beer served in the ground or not.

999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Love having a beer at a game whenever I can but then again I generally wouldn’t have a load of beer before a game. It’s the lads who get mouldy drunk pre games that are the problem but they’re generally the problem whether there is beer served in the ground or not.
    This is what I'd say too. The lads drunk enough to be a pain in the hole will be that whether there is a bar or not - some will be smuggling in drink regardless.

184 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    It basically all comes down to the unhealthy Irish drinking culture. Many Irish people are unable to be happy unless they're properly drunk, which isn't the case (or at least not to the same extent) in most other countries.
    It's a terrible shame. I've visited over 30 countries in my life and in almost all those countries, if someone gets properly drunk it's a mistake, not a purposeful act. In countries with a healthy relationship with alcohol, people go home when they feel they're drunk. In Ireland, getting hammered is the intention for many.
    I was at a well known cinema in Dublin last night and a guy one seat away from me guzzled a full bottle of red wine while watching the movie. A full bottle of wine... In the cinema!!!
    That's the reason why we can't drink alcohol in public places in Ireland, and why it's probably a blessing in disguise that we can't drink legally in the stands, because many people can't control themselves and they ruin it for everyone else.

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Philosophizer View Post
    It basically all comes down to the unhealthy Irish drinking culture.
    We're not unique in our attitudes to the drink. We're fairly similar to the Brits and Scandinavians.

Our repressive alcohol legislation really doesn't help. It re-enforces the concept of alcohol consumpation being an 'event'. Have a beer for breakfast on a Tuesday morning, you're branded an alcoholic. Have a dozen pints on a Saturday night, no-one bats an eyelid. The opposite would be true in, for example, Portugal or Germany.

I'd love to see alcohol on sale at LoI grounds. It would encourage responsible drinking, eliminate the lads bringing bottles of spirits in and necking them by the end of the first half, and, the best selling point, would generate extra revenue for clubs.
    I'd have little hope that it will happen any time soon though. It'd be far too progressive an idea for the FAI to pursue.

I think people have a tendency to believe Ireland's culture with alcohol is somehow exceptional and more extreme than others. It's not really the case but I can understand why. There are cultural differences of course but a lot of countries have issues with drinking, as brendy mentioned.

1,081 Posts
    True. I was in Prague recently and apparently the Czechs are quite proud of being the biggest beer drinkers in Europe.

184 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    True. I was in Prague recently and apparently the Czechs are quite proud of being the biggest beer drinkers in Europe.
    They might well drink more beer than us, given that it's home to the best Pilsners in the world, but their relationship with alcohol is a lot healthier than ours.

Naggin of vodka into a seven up bottle and your sorted. The only thing worse than getting twisted before a LoI game is being stone cold sober during a LoI game.

Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    There was a time during the Liam Murphy era that id HAVE to be drunk watching the games.
    Ahh Alan, Sure 1 bottle of bud would do that for you and then refill with water from the tap....
    ENJOY EVERY MINUTE OF EVERY DAY.

They might well drink more beer than us, given that it's home to the best Pilsners in the world, but their relationship with alcohol is a lot healthier than ours.
    No it's not.

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    How did you come across that video?

I think.....? myself and a US football supporter had this conservation about beer at games before(about 8 years ago)....caught me right in the urinals he did!
    Last edited by ToberonaTornado; 16/01/2018 at 7:30 AM.

184 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    No it's not.
    Man, i'm telling you, i've lived in Mlada Boleslav in the Czech Republic. Yes, Czechs can drink a lot, but you don't see them making a holy show of themselves in public as often as some Irish people do.

For instance, back in 2012 when Ireland were playing their opening game of the euros against Croatia, i took my Czech girlfriend and a couple of other mates to the fanpark thing that was set up down at the George's dock. She had never seen anything like it. Wall to wall, people were sideways drunk. There was ****ing, vomiting, fighting, riding in public, and just a distinctly unpleasant atmosphere. It was a disgrace so we left after about 10 mins. Some Irish soccer fans just can't be trusted to drink responsibly.

184 Posts
    Above is a very extreme example of course, but i'm just trying to illustrate my point.

An extreme example by definition doesn't illustrate your point.

649 Posts
    Man, i'm telling you, i've lived in Mlada Boleslav in the Czech Republic. Yes, Czechs can drink a lot, but you don't see them making a holy show of themselves in public as often as some Irish people do.

For instance, back in 2012 when Ireland were playing their opening game of the euros against Croatia, i took my Czech girlfriend and a couple of other mates to the fanpark thing that was set up down at the George's dock. She had never seen anything like it. Wall to wall, people were sideways drunk. There was ****ing, vomiting, fighting, riding in public, and just a distinctly unpleasant atmosphere. It was a disgrace so we left after about 10 mins. Some Irish soccer fans just can't be trusted to drink responsibly.

I don't think its an extreme example at all, I would NEVER go to any FREE public event in Ireland where drink is available,
    almost without exception its a disaster.....

184 Posts
    No it's not.
    An extreme example by definition doesn't illustrate your point.
    Care to get involved in the discussion in a more constructuive way?

21. Thanks From:

874 Posts
    Anyone who wants to see the worst of alcohol available in abundance at a 'sporting' event should go to the Cheltenham Festival. I have never seen so many well dressed men and women in a complete mess in one place. English or Irish it was embaressing in general. In the hotel we stayed in people were passed out in corridors, and stairwells. No agression that you could have at a football match but ye'd swear that these people were having their first ever drink and the next day it was being banned.
    The UK habit of drinking during lunch hours among city workers in particular is bizarre. 2 or 3 pints at lunch then another 2 or 3 before the train home, every day and then there is the break out on Friday evenings. Add in the whole alpha male egos with the drink in those circles and there were plenty of scuffles among lads that were suited and booted.
    Drink as part of the football hooligan problems in England is more an issue at international away games than domestically in my experience. I suppose travelling fans, if travelling any good distance drink is an greater issue whereas home support tend to have a few beers before and after games and filter away over the hours after the game.

The English, in a sweeping statement, drink less but neck pints in a shorter space of time than we tend to do here. A pint in every bar on a high street is their preferred way rather than settling in to a place and maybe being there 'til 2 or 3am like many here.

If supporters were inclined to sit in ticket allocated seats rather than stand in closed groups rammed in to one area I suppose in theory beer could be served. It would be irritating for those not fussed and there is the inevitable idiot who chucks their pint everywhere when there is a goal. There might be some more control than the way things are with sneaking cans in or skulling nagans of vodka before going in to the ground. Certainly if there is a contentious decision its better to have people with plastic pint glasses than cans that often land on the pitch. At rugby matches it seems to be a badge of honour among some if stinking of beers after pints getting thrown everywhere.

Its not so much the level of alcohol consumption thats the issue as much as the (almost) cultural behaviour of people that are drunk. Whether drunken behaviour involves agression, acting like complete fools aka 'having the craic', or socialising with your group and leaving for home relatively quietly definitely varies from country to country. Cities on the continent it doesnt feel like yer running the gauntlet getting home or queuing for a taxi is looking for trouble.
    Last edited by Nesta99; 21/01/2018 at 5:27 AM.

818 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Anyone who wants to see the worst of alcohol available in abundance at a 'sporting' event should go to the Cheltenham Festival. I have never seen so many well dressed men and women in a complete mess in one place. English or Irish it was embaressing in general. In the hotel we stayed in people were passed out in corridors, and stairwells. No agression that you could have at a football match but ye'd swear that these people were having their first ever drink and the next day it was being banned.
    The UK habit of drinking during lunch hours among city workers in particular is bizarre. 2 or 3 pints at lunch then another 2 or 3 before the train home, every day and then there is the break out on Friday evenings. Add in the whole alpha male egos with the drink in those circles and there were plenty of scuffles among lads that were suited and booted.
    Drink as part of the football hooligan problems in England is more an issue at international away games than domestically in my experience. I suppose travelling fans, if travelling any good distance drink is an greater issue whereas home support tend to have a few beers before and after games and filter away over the hours after the game.

The English, in a sweeping statement, drink less but neck pints in a shorter space of time than we tend to do here. A pint in every bar on a high street is their preferred way rather than settling in to a place and maybe being there 'til 2 or 3am like many here.

If supporters were inclined to sit in ticket allocated seats rather than stand in closed groups rammed in to one area I suppose in theory beer could be served. It would be irritating for those not fussed and there is the inevitable idiot who chucks their pint everywhere when there is a goal. There might be some more control than the way things are with sneaking cans in or skulling nagans of vodka before going in to the ground. Certainly if there is a contentious decision its better to have people with plastic pint glasses than cans that often land on the pitch. At rugby matches it seems to be a badge of honour among some if stinking of beers after pints getting thrown everywhere.

Its not so much the level of alcohol consumption thats the issue as much as the (almost) cultural behaviour of people that are drunk. Whether drunken behaviour involves agression, acting like complete fools aka 'having the craic', or socialising with your group and leaving for home relatively quietly definitely varies from country to country. Cities on the continent it doesnt feel like yer running the gauntlet getting home or queuing for a taxi is looking for trouble.
    Galway races on students day is the same, little naggins all over the gaff Don’t know why anyone would want to pay €30 in to a place to get drunk. Ruins it for the genuine racing fan

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    A quick Google search couldn't find European stats for drunk and disorderly crime, but it must be out there somewhere. This doesn't have to be an anecdotal conversation.

1,524 Posts
    Galway Races on any of the big days is a horror show, nothing to do with students. I have been through town on the big nights a couple of times and when sober it's quite something to witness, and not in a good way.

But anyway, there should be no issue with people having a few drinks at most games so long as there is no glass involved and it's kept sensible. The problem is always the few who ruin it for the many.

But it should not be insurmountable.