Thread: Beer at LOI Games

71 Posts

Beer at LOI Games

I have been at plenty of games in Europe, especially in Germany, where you can buy beer, sit down and enjoy the game. In fact, I dont think there is anything better. Not only is it relaxing, but increases the Atmosphere around the place. I find in pretty frustrating the lack of a beer at LOI games.

Of course, in the more heated games it should be restricted, but why cant Dundalk fans drink when the play Bray, or Cork when they play Harps when of course there will be no trouble.

Not only are the clubs missing out on potential new stream of income, but they also miss out promotions and a demographic, ie. how about strating your Friday at a game before moving into town after.

Anybody else have these thoughts, or is this just me in silly season mode?

555 Posts
    No thanks.

I went to a rugby match once (once was enough) and spent the whole game standing up and sitting down as people trudged by with trays of spilling beer, not to mention the inevitable toilet breaks. Then there are the beer farts.

Fans can have a drink in Oriel before the game, at half time, and at full time. How much drink do people need?

999 Posts
    What are the actual rules on alcohol sales?

772 Posts
    You can sell alcohol in the ground but you can't bring it to your seat AFAIK.

2,337 Posts
    Just wear big socks and stuff them with cans.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Dutch Gold is always freely available in the Shed

360 Posts
    An absolute no from me. Totally agree with WH on the rugby thing. It also looks ridiculous in my view on tv when you watch the 6 nations. The day out merchants waving to the camera with their plastic cups of beer.

Few things are better as a fan than having a good pub pre match, build up the pre match with a few beers, or even the atmosphere for those who do not drink. Also at HT (where available) quick one then back to your seat / spot for the second half. We are fortunate in Dundalk to have 2 bars* to chose from depending on where you go. Most of the stand fans who like to take a drink tend to go to the smaller bar, middle part of the stand, whereas a lot of those going to the terrace prefer the bigger lilywhite lounge.

If one thing that needs to be improved at LOI matches it's the choice of food available. Leave the booze out of it while the match is on.

* on the subject of bars, the bar inside the YDC at the shed side in oriel park has a licence to print money on match days alone, would save the walk over pre and after half time for starters. Has been out of action for a few years due to the change in ownership.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    No thanks.

I went to a rugby match once (once was enough) and spent the whole game standing up and sitting down as people trudged by with trays of spilling beer, not to mention the inevitable toilet breaks. Then there are the beer farts.
    Plus the guy one or two rows behind you getting too excited and spilling his beer into your neck in the process. No, thanks.

164 Posts
    Can't clap if you're holding a beer

772 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    How much drink do people need?
    There was a time during the Liam Murphy era that id HAVE to be drunk watching the games.

79 Posts
    Take 2 cans into every home game (Pint at HT also), never any issue! The stewards know what lads may throw cans etc so they are the ones they search.

Away games is a diff story, Rovers very hard to get even 1 bottle in although odd time you get it in.
    Cork no chance, was nearly refused entry as i had a can on me! Got in after Steward basically told a guard to cop the **** on.
    Any other away game, no issue with getting drink in.

Stewards don’t even search you where you would hide drink!

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    Take 2 cans into every home game (Pint at HT also), never any issue! The stewards know what lads may throw cans etc so they are the ones they search.

Away games is a diff story, Rovers very hard to get even 1 bottle in although odd time you get it in.
    Cork no chance, was nearly refused entry as i had a can on me! Got in after Steward basically told a guard to cop the **** on.
    Any other away game, no issue with getting drink in.

Stewards don’t even search you where you would hide drink!
    Could literally replace the word can/ drink with flare/ flares and the response you'd get would be different!

Can take it or leave it myself tbh, few pre match pints/ half time/ full time then is grand. Though on the baltic nights an auld snifter is always good to have in your possession!

131 Posts
    Was only ever drunk at one game (Ireland v Wales in 1990). Didn't enjoy the experience much. Save it for the pub later, lads and lasses.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts
    When I was kid at a GAA game in Semple one year lads at the back were throwing cans, some still half-full, at those in the front (maybe aiming for the pitch? Ambitious if so). Made an impression on me (not literally, thankfully). I never drink during a game I'm attending.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

408 Posts
    Irish culture and society is saturated in alcohol to a degree that's pointless and unhealthy.

I suspect that fans of every club have their own humorous and/or horror stories of drunken idiots doing stupid things or sleeping their way through a crunch game.

Anyone who can't watch a game of football for 45 or 90mins without a drink really needs to assess where they're at in life IMO.

And the sort of characters who's attendance at an LOI match would be determined by the easy availability of alcohol are probably not the sort we'd want there anyway, as they'd be varying degrees of the annoying arses outlined in posts above.

26 Posts
    Any game I go to I'd have to drive some or all of the way. Drinking doesn't even enter the equation.

31 Posts
    Generally don't drink going to home games but enjoy cangs on the way to away games or checking out the nearby pubs...Nice to have the option of a halftime pint but tbh it's more hassle queing up getting the pint and risking missing the start of the second

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Here in Switzerland n Germany its very common to have a beer while watching the game, its normal. I enjoy having a beer watching the game, nothing wrong with that. Beer n football go hand in hand.

But here people dont tend to get mouldy drunk so I am not sure a similar system would work at all in Ireland. In fact it normal to see people on trams here with a can of beer at any given time and no one bats an eyelid!

Pre match/Half time/full time in the Dalymount bars is great craic though.

194 Posts
    Drink 'til your full and never miss any match action!

Kinda *NSFW*

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KjAnMu218l0

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    How did you come across that video?