IMO, that would be a very possible interpretation of it, given the relationship between LFC and the LDMC in recent years. But again, I'm not fully up to date with all the ins and outsOriginally Posted by Sheridan
Small piece in tonight's Herald caught my eye, not seen it discussed elsewhere. Essentially, the gist of it is that the LDMC have provisionally agreed to enter an Under-21 team in next season's eL competition, subject to final ratification in March.
I'm not fully au fait with the machinations of football politics in Limerick, but would it be unreasonable to interpret this move (which would, of course, increase Limerick's representation in next season's Under-21 league to three teams) as an attempt by the LDMC to hinder Limerick FC's re-entry into under-21 football by draining the player pool? Or have I got the wrong end of the stick?
A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.
IMO, that would be a very possible interpretation of it, given the relationship between LFC and the LDMC in recent years. But again, I'm not fully up to date with all the ins and outsOriginally Posted by Sheridan
This is the first I have heard of it. If it is true it is an absolute disgrace. The LDMC have shown no interest in this competition. When Limerick needed an U-21 team before the LDMC were dead set against helping it. Probably best not to anything until it is confirmed as something they are considering but it would be the final nail in any attempt to build a relationship with this shower. After this it would be everyone taking care of themselves and the devil take the hindmost.Originally Posted by Sheridan
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
What are you on? If true, the timing suggests that the LDMC is simply trying to undermine any attempt by Limerick FC to enter a team. The LDMC have shown no interest whatsoever in the U-21 league. None. Now suddenly, when Limerick FC say they will be entering a team, the LDMC start getting all concerned about player development. When the new consortium took over they clearly stated their intention to have an u-21 team and in time maybe an u-18 team. It is fairly clear then that some clubs in Limerick are worried about losing younger players to an u-21 Limerick side and have pressed the LDMC to do this. And it is indicative of the small mindedness of the junior football administrators in the city that would rather keep a player togging out in the Lawson Cup or some other mickey mouse competition than to help players develop and achieve the highest level possible for that player. They don't care about players, they care about their own little empires and being the big men in their own little clubs. They would gladly sacrifice senior football in the city to serve the needs of local junior mickey mouse clubs.Originally Posted by poacher
This rant is based entirely on the suggestion as put out that the LDMC are entering a team separately to any Limerick FC one. I hope this isn't the case. but I am cynical about junior clubs and administrators in the city. Maybe they are going to stun me and do something positive for football in the whole of the city and link with the senior club to achieve something positive. Somehow though I doubt it.![]()
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
FWIW, this is the report that appeared in Monday's Herald.Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
-- my formatting.LDMC creating U21 side for eircom League
The Limerick District Management Committee have passed a motion to enter an U21 team in the eircom league next season, PRO Eddie Barry has confirmed, writes Bernard O'Neill.
The motion will now be put before Limerick clubs for a vote at a delegate meeting in early March.
If the motion is passed by a majority of LDL clubs then Shannonside will have three teams competing at eircom U21 level.
UL/Aisling Annacotty have a team entered for the last two seasons and Limerick FC has entered a side for the upcoming season, which will kick off this summer.
It is understoood that the proposed LDMC U21 eircom league side, if entered, will be a separate entity.
A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.
Well said LFCIE ...Everyone Knows that the LDMC Are a shower of bitter old men stuck in the 50's...Sounds Like me that Poacher is a bit sour cos Limerick dident ask him to play 21's..Dont worry Poacher...Paddy Cusack might sign you for the LDMC TEAM
Originally Posted by poacher
So players such as Robbie Kelligher (Fairview) Dave Ryan (Balla) along with 35 other players training in UL, most of whom are from local leagues and are under the age of 21, so where u say "as far as i know" the fact is you dont know very much do you? and if you knew what most on this site do about the under 21 set up and why the LDMC are entering a team (which has to be ratified by the FAI) then you wouldnt even contimplate making any posts at all, but please do come along to the SC AGM next week and i shall endevour to fill you and others in on the blank spaces where "fact" is concerned
I notice you don't have an avatar and from your posts I reckon you aren't a Limerick FC fan. So we can take your winding up for what its worth. We have enough to concentrate on in the eircom League without having to worry ourselves about the fans and goings on of mickey mouse junior clubs.Originally Posted by poacher
well said LFC in exile that clown does nt know what hes talking about.bet you wont see him at too many games.
LDMC = Parochial Scum
Think that sums it all up really.
The parochial bit yes, the second bit may be a bit overboard.Originally Posted by sadloserkid
You know, for two people who get on quite well we're really world's apart on some levels aren't we?Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
do tell us why your so BITTER Poacher,
it sounds like sour grapes to me!!!!!!!!
super blues!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I could go through the posts (though they all seem to just say the same thing - do you think if you say the same thing over and over that it might eventually be funy?) - but I never get into a battle of wits with a half-wit.
I just think the word scum is not a good one to use. Just because people are petty and incompetent doesn't mean they are scum. But I get your point.Originally Posted by sadloserkid
"say what u like robbie wont be playing u21s thats fir (for) sure" this is fact again yes? "young ryan has another year of minor football i dont suppose ye have an u18s team either" is that a question? and young ryan as opposed to that older gent who is our no 2 this year...is that what your saying?
" i think it will be much same as last year" now there u go again your thinking too much and your brain could overheat be careful!
"junior clubs in limerick are run better then limerick fc and that FACT[/QUOTE" on this one you could be right and knowone here would say diff, but id edit ur piece to "some junior clubs ar run better then Limerick" But have to correct you again on some other things. This year we own our own ground as opposed to renting one last year. we have a squad and an under 21 team, which we didnt have last year, we have a bus, our own and have loads of other stuff but im not gonna give you the lot now as your memory capacity might be reaching its "full' limit. please come to the AGM on the 8th please do![]()
Yeah but you would say that being a smalltime, bitter, nobody who can't even use a capital letter wouldn't you?Originally Posted by poacher
It must really make you sick that all your superbly run junior clubs are still operating on a lower level than Limerick FC wouldn't you?![]()
The 'jokeshop' just went out and signed two of Fairview's best players. Seems that they're not quite as entrenched as you are are. Glad to see then that idiocy isn't widespread in the junior leagues but just limited to a select few (much like our own setup).![]()
There has been a lot of negative threads from so called limerick supporters eg;poacher willy john etc.I think the best way to answer these threads is to simply ignore them,the real limerick fans know exactly what we have this year compared to other years,the season is full of expection and most limerick fans looking forward to the new season.These clowns are only hoping we fall flat on our faces,so again i ask ignore these begrudgers.
Fail to prepare,prepare to fail--R.keane.
Spot on.Originally Posted by dutchie
Ah now i'm sure willie john wants the club to succeedOriginally Posted by dutchie