Thread: Ireland V France

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar

what can i say...........ireland should have won it in the second half, it was possible, but typical of the french to play $hite and still win so far, only for them to play well today.

yup, ireland are never very good at comebacks

fúck that !! that wsa our best oppurtunity for years !!!

fcuk it!! thats a major disappoinment

185 Posts
    Im sick

What a chance we had for the Grand Slam and we blew it Ireland made way too many mistakes and Maggs isnt good enough to play against the French backline flair.

We can still win the Championship though

230 Posts
    I think we were just happy to be there.........oh, wait a minute...
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

i now have a sore head, sore throat and feeling very very $hitty and disappointed.

This team is spineless

Unhappy

i think sometimes they rely to much on o'gara's kicking to get points, they don't have a few fast guaranteed try-scorers, most of our points in games are from penalties etc. all we can hope for now is for the scots to hump the welsh tomorrow and for italy to er..hump the french next week and us hump the welsh again in cardiff next week, here's hoping.............
    we can only look forward now, not back

were a one trick team. If we cant kick it long into the corners and we try mauling or scrumming against a well organised side were pathetic. I never seen a heavier scrum go backwards like that today.

Very little intelligent use of the ball by the irish players and when it came to running, there were few player who can run with the ball in hand (bar BOD). Too many knock forwards and a weak mentality when we went behind despite all the talk of being able to cope with favourite tags.

A few less fellas playing gaelic and playing soccer and rugby would help.

relax lads....its only egg-chasing

Thumbs down

Very poor irish performance. South Terrace jinx again - i so hate the place.

Rugby very hard to see when at the game so i can't tell how bad ireland really were. French pack walked allover ireland. Slow ball from rucks, shockingly bad lineouts, poor midfield defense & did not deserve to be within 2 points of France near the end.

Fair dues to France as clearly the better team & must have had 15k+ supporters at the game. AT least they have a few songs or chants cos Ireland only had 2 - "Ireland" & "Fields of ..."

Aside from his try i thought O'Driscoll poor, why does he kick the ball at all??? Maggs was terrible, Murphy even bad with poor choices. Only Johnny O'Connor looked to be good enough to play.

Am i allowed to suggest O'Sullivan bottled it when it really mattered again? Team looked had no plan or at least no plan B, players played like individuals without a plan or support.

btw atmosphere was real poor, french made more noise.

wales are at present humping the scots 31-3 and not even half-time not helping us at all, the scots huh!

185 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
    wales are at present humping the scots 31-3 and not even half-time not helping us at all, the scots huh!
    Ah yeah, Scotland are sh!te but some of the Welsh rugby is a joy to watch

Talking

Welsh are great to watch esp steven jones ahem, seriously they have fit fast and confident try-scorers, great to watch, ireland don't score enough tries. scotland are crap, they had a great chance to get a try b4 half-team, but nothing! jonathon davies is hilarious to listen to, esp during a wales game, commentating, his accent is so cute......

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Am i allowed to suggest O'Sullivan bottled it when it really mattered again? Team looked had no plan or at least no plan B, players played like individuals without a plan or support.
    Bit harsh - you can't do anything without solid possession, and while the scrum has always been a weak link, the lineout wasn't providing ball either. Not easy in the wind, but our lineout is supposed to be the best in the world, yet made to look ordinary by the french. Even in general play, thought the pack was poor - too many having a quiet game.

Given the lack of ball, I suppose it's a mute point whether it would've been different if Darcy or Horgan had been fit - the french wouldn't have been able to crowd O'Driscoll out of it in midfield if either had been playing - in particular Darcy.

I blame George Hamilton anyway - why they let that cóck loose on such an important game. He's bad enough for football, but I really can't stand him for rugby. Thank God for BBC - Phillip Matthews co-commentating and Woods in the studio, yer man Doyle on the touchline. If RTE persist with Hamilton, they've lost me as a rugby viewer.

346 Posts
    In all honesty the pack have under performed in the whole tournament
    They have'nt gave a platform to one of the best back lines in the world.
    Injuries also have'nt helped
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Did anyone else notice that Ireland seem to be only as good as their current opponents..
    If a team is playing bad we play bad and if a team is playing well we play well.. seems to happen with the soccer team a lot as well

even though we have the potental to do soo much better

Thumbs down

I got home & when I heard Ryl Nugent was commentating on England realised must have been George Hamilton doing the Ireland match. I'd say RTE lost a lot of viewers to the BBC solely based on sh!te commentator but ratings probably peaked at halftime as everyone switched back for RTE analysis.

Ireland 5/1 for Championship now.

I'll admit i'm not the greatest singer of out National Anthem but is really really sad that more people sing "Irelands Call" than the National Anthem at Lansdowne. Its not because of Northern Irish as I couldn't heard many northern accents around.

Quote Originally Posted by pete

I'll admit i'm not the greatest singer of out National Anthem but is really really sad that more people sing "Irelands Call" than the National Anthem at Lansdowne. Its not because of Northern Irish as I couldn't heard many northern accents around.
    Kids should be thought it in school, like they do in America