Thread: Bus to portadown

Quote Originally Posted by redgav
    it goes from opposite the kilkenny shop in nassau street - 3 pm sharp
    Now that we've filled the bus (nice one exile) can I tempt people to a pre-bus bevvie (just the one, I don't fancy waiting for pit stops ) somewhere in the Nassau Street region around 2pm

Suggestions?
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Now that we've filled the bus (nice one exile) can I tempt people to a pre-bus bevvie (just the one, I don't fancy waiting for pit stops ) somewhere in the Nassau Street region around 2pm

Suggestions?

judge roy beans??

Quote Originally Posted by James
    look forward to travelling on the bus paul
    cheers for organising it
    I know its a european hame 'n all but I thought was just for exiles? Who left him in?

Judge Roy Beans sounds good as evryone should be abale to find that.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I know its a european hame 'n all but I thought was just for exiles? Who left him in?
    I did There's 5 of us travelling up to the pale in my car

eaaaanr you beter make shure we in the pale in time for a pre bus drink
    life is random

Lads, Im looking for an excuse to get out of the lab early, any ideas? Im going to be new and it might as well be a new job (except not getting paid ) but I dont get any time off for holidays or anything like that.

Should I:
    a) Come clean and ask for a half day.
    b) Arrange a trip for the 'dentist'
    c) Pull a sickie
    d)?????

I need help! Has anyone had any similar experiences?
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Quote Originally Posted by Troy.McClure
    Lads, Im looking for an excuse to get out of the lab early, any ideas? Im going to be new and it might as well be a new job (except not getting paid ) but I dont get any time off for holidays or anything like that.

Should I:
    a) Come clean and ask for a half day.
    b) Arrange a trip for the 'dentist'
    c) Pull a sickie
    d)?????

I need help! Has anyone had any similar experiences?
    if your not getting paid just say you have a pre arranged family function

u want me to write ya a note troy
    life is random

Have you started in the lab yet?

If not started yet say you have pre-arrange meeting/function
    /whatever on the day....also say you can survive with just the half day off...will make it seem you doing them a favour...?

Yeah, I agree with Pete.
    Say you need the day off for a pre-arranged function, then if they 'hum and hah' do them a great favour by telling them you will swing things around and try and get in for a few hours in the morning.

City match and brownie points!!
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    City match and brownie points!!
    and a few pints b4 we get on the bus
    the job like

agree with the lads too, its a new job, tell them pre arranged thing but u putting yurself out a bit by coming in for a half day.. works for me all the time here does that one
    life is random

126 Posts
    Hope there won't be trouble up there. Last night after they scored against Shels, according to a fan who's a friend of mine, they made 'gestures' of a bigoted nature.

Ah sure we all break into "All you need is Love" from the beatles if they start any sectarian sing songs.

Not that we'll be heard
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

Quote Originally Posted by anti dub
    Hope there won't be trouble up there. Last night after they scored against Shels, according to a fan who's a friend of mine, they made 'gestures' of a bigoted nature.
    I heard of bigoted words and chants, but what is a bigoted gesture?

The Ports were given a Garda escort last night because Longford were given one to Glentoran. I was at the game. There was no sign of any trouble but there were chants from both sets of supporters...the same you'd get at any game.
    I would think the bus will be escorted to the ground, we'll be expected to stay there, be loaded up afterwards and sent on out merry way with all three points.

Quote Originally Posted by niamh
    The Ports were given a Garda escort last night because Longford were given one to Glentoran. I was at the game. There was no sign of any trouble but there were chants from both sets of supporters...the same you'd get at any game.
    I would think the bus will be escorted to the ground, we'll be expected to stay there, be loaded up afterwards and sent on out merry way with all three points.
    I can confirm that - 2 police bikes blocked off the crossroad at collins avenue and 2 police jeeps escorted the buses down grace park rd into Tolka park away from the home fans.There was a lot of additional security and looked like guards were well on top.Fans had to buy tickets away from the ground to avoid congestion at the turnstiles -
    We'll have the same goin to Ports I'd imagine,just waitin to hear back from the PSNI about it.
    The lunatic is on the grass
    Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
    Got to keep the loonies on the path

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Have you started in the lab yet?

If not started yet say you have pre-arrange meeting/function
    /whatever on the day....also say you can survive with just the half day off...will make it seem you doing them a favour...?
    Thanks guys.

No I havent started in the lab yet (I'll be in RCSI which I would guess is pretty work intensive but handy for the bus).

What can I say the function is? A Christening or something? I cant exactly say that Im rushing off to a christening with a City top on. I'll need to leave at 2:45, what can I go to that will last longer than 2:30 hours? I think that I need something better than the dentest.

How about:
    Dentest appointment at 3:20 near St James's where I live,
    I'll need 30 min to get there on time so I'll have to be gone by 2:50 at the very very latest (Im only 2 min away from the Kilkenny shop).
    Wont be out of the dentest by 4 when you consider delays and all that.
    Couldnt possibly be back before 4:30.
    Is it worth coming in for one hour? So I'll have to take the afternoon off

Unfortunatly, I dont think that they will have a problem in saying that I can just stay in the lab til 8 to make up for lost time!
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Try asking for the full halfday, have the "i could come in til 2.45..." in reserve if needed?

Thanks guys.

No I havent started in the lab yet (I'll be in RCSI which I would guess is pretty work intensive but handy for the bus).

What can I say the function is? A Christening or something? I cant exactly say that Im rushing off to a christening with a City top on. I'll need to leave at 2:45, what can I go to that will last longer than 2:30 hours? I think that I need something better than the dentest.

How about:
    I'll need 30 min to get there on time so I'll have to be gone by 2:50 at the very very latest (Im only 2 min away from the Kilkenny shop).

Unfortunatly, I dont think that they will have a problem in saying that I can just stay in the lab til 8 to make up for lost time!
    I hope they're reading this site

Thanks guys.

How about:

Why not just throw a sicky?! Ring up on the morning of the game and say you've had hot sweats, been up all night, you're feeling very weak and the room spins every time you try to get up. They can't say a thing then, can they? Mind you, if you do say that and they're reading this forum....you're shagged!
    Football is life. The rest is mere detail...