Thread: LOI's greatest "Greatest League in the World" moment

66 Posts
    I had the fourth official threatened me mid match when we played Cabinteely in the summer of 2016 down in Stradbrook!

2,337 Posts
    The chip van ladies.

637 Posts
    Have to say even I enjoyed that clip

Another good celebrations moment from the RSC on Friday night when the Gardai parked behind the goal switched on their flashing blue nights on their van during the celebrations of Waterford's winning goal.

96 Posts
    Perhaps on a more modest scale, but my favourite GLITW moment was Waterford away to Cobh a few seasons back. During the warmup, Waterford's Dylan Mernagh miskicked a pass out over the uncovered longside terrace into the gardens behind. He looked to the terrace to see who would go for it, but no-one budged. He then looked around at teammates, coaches and whoever, all of whom stared back at him. It then dawned on him he was going to have get it himself, so off he trudged up to the top corner turnstile, out of the ground, down the linny behind the terrace, climbing over the fences, avoiding angry-looking and sounding neighbours' dogs to retrieve the ball.

I think he was just back from doing well at the World Student Games. He soon had his cough softened.

Surely the ultimate Greatest League in the World moment is the FAI stealing the name for their podcast without realising it was made up partly to make fun of their lack of interest in the league.

1,081 Posts
    Yeah I think it’s time to retire that hashtag now it’s been adopted by The Man.

Plus I’m a bit sick of it truth be told. Some prolific social media accounts are sticking it on anything remotely LOI related.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Yeah I think it’s time to retire that hashtag now it’s been adopted by The Man.

Plus I’m a bit sick of it truth be told. Some prolific social media accounts are sticking it on anything remotely LOI related.
    It was designed to take the p1ss, I actually think it’s quite tin pot using it officially. What must outsiders think when they see the league actually promoting itself as such

1,522 Posts
    When we proposed that the league adopt it a few years back, the idea was to both embrace the idiosyncrasies of the league and also to use it to highlight positive stuff like community integration, humour, fan displays or initiatives or anything like that.. although the usage did end up being mostly on the less positive stuff. In general though I still think its better to embrace our uniqueness and off beat stuff rather than trying to be some bland mini premiership with bugger all character or fun.

238 Posts
    Ollie Horgan stating in his interview on Fri night that they were all off for pints in Mother Hughes is up there. Whata guy.

870 Posts
    Ollies assessment of the performance of the bar staff and how his lads put away the pints would be fun (even if they didnt actually head to Mother Hughes).
    Last edited by Nesta99; 28/02/2018 at 5:03 PM.

2,337 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Ollies assessment of the performance of the bar staff and how his lads put away the pints would be fun (even i they didnt actually head to Mother Hughes).
    Unfortunately, they didn't. Although, I'm sure some of the lads might have went for a few pints being close to home...(O'Connor x2)..

2,337 Posts
    Funny I thought there was a much longer greatest league on the world thread.

Anyways, Longford Town are running a competition on Facebook to name their new mascot.

Have fun folks

893 Posts
    Longford McLongfordface

Maybe just: why the long face?
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

21. Thanks From:

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Funny I thought there was a much longer greatest league on the world thread.

Anyways, Longford Town are running a competition on Facebook to name their new mascot.

Have fun folks
    It's a Lion. 'Lonely the Lion' for me.
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

1,081 Posts
    We’re going to call him John in a gesture of thanks to Him.

24. Thanks From:

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    It was designed to take the p1ss, I actually think it’s quite tin pot using it officially. What must outsiders think when they see the league actually promoting itself as such
    'Tin pot' - exactly. I find it embarrassing and excruciating.

131 Posts
    'Tin pot' - exactly. I find the phrase embarrassing and excruciating.

893 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    We’re going to call him John in a gesture of thanks to Him.
    Might as well go the whole way so - John Deliony.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

28. Thanks From:

33 Posts
    Ok I will bite, if you pardon the pun. Why have Longford Town adopted a lion as a mascot? Athlone Town had/have a lion as a mascot because there is a lion on the crest of the Athlone Town AFC jersey. The county of Longford has a hound on its coat of arms. Why not a hound?
    It is the same bug bear I have with Dundalk using ‘C’mon the Town’ when this is the old catch-cry used for Athlone Town, who have Town actually in their title and are the oldest club with an unchanged title.

30. Thanks From: