LOL,you're losing it lad,the plot
https://www.dundalkfc.com/supporters-flag-project/
“I think the supporters would rather win that than the league, to be honest with you.” This has to be tongue in cheek Rovers fans?
There is a real sense of resignation (no pun intended) from Bradley in that piece. Echoing Caulfield too yet both clubs have and can sign top players. Cleary has been a revelation since joining Dundalk and Rovers could have signed him. Finn was offered better terms that what Dundalk were offering. Im sure there are other examples. Rovers and Cork can surely use the 'every player would want to play at the most successful/best supported club' in the country as a makeweight against Dundalk's financial clout!!
Im not sure why Bradley is saying this stuff about McEleney unless there is a tough game coming up and needs to do some deflecting too, the cup being what supporters really want fits in with this. He is aware of the mitigating factors in the McEleney transfer dealings. Leaving as an out of contract player to Oldham, not released by Dundalk. Finances crashed at Oldham as we know and they needed to cut costs so the opportunity arose for Dundalk to make an approach.
There is a lot to this transfer that we dont and wont know. Paying a fee, (reported only by Oldham!!), may have smoothed the way for a 'cheaper' transfer in for Dundalk; Oldham would have been obligated to pay up McEleney's contract if they were just releasing him and there was no mutual termination of his deal. It has been suggested locally that not only did Dundalk pay a lot less (maybe nothing) than what Oldham valued McEleney at, they may also still be paying him a % of his contract and Dundalk paying him a %; Similar to when Stephen Kenny was signed on as manager - we were able to offer him less, a top up if you like, as he was still getting paid off by Rovers, hence it was a cheaper appointment for Dundalk than what Kenny was actually earning. Overall it could be a cheaper transfer and signing than say Sean Gannon's new contract. Its all conjecture and there are only 3 or 4 people that know the true cost.
There is no credibility issue for the league on this transfer as Bradley is suggesting. What's happening at Bray, (Limerick, Athlone) is where comment on the league's credibility should be.
Last edited by Nesta99; 05/07/2018 at 2:26 PM.
You don't understand how piddled off we are with the cup issue.
If you offered me a choice between winning the league next year and winning the cup id have to think hard and probably go for the cup.
The only thing that might swing me towards the league would be the financial stuff CL money etc....but that's head not heart.
I'm not sure its a creditability thing re DFC paying a fee for McElaney its more for me that the UK clubs now will star to expect fees from LOI clubs but so what that's life.
The Athlone / Limerick / Bray stuff , you are bang on
> Rovers and Cork can surely use the 'every player would want to play at the most successful/best supported club
I'm sure we'll try, but in a practical sense that only tends to work if the player has some connection to the club. For most, money talks (understandably).
It's no gonna be so much an issue of having some quality players. I think we will always have and sign quality players and Caulfield will get the best out of them, the difference will likely be in squad depth.
Looks like Dundalk have deleted the photo, Garda twitter still has it up though
Cant find the photos.(or mirrors of them)
One of the banners in the photo depicted a spear like flagpole going through a shamrock rovers badge with a legend written on it.The photo includes the banner,the guys who made it during a Garda diversity community programme.Pat McEleney,Liam Burns,a few vol people,members of AGS and a couple of other current Dundalk players.
The young guys are no more than 17 y-o.
The second photo - the young lads had made a banner depicting the '3-in-a-row'
All very harmless.
Why was it removed from the website?
I don't know and i'll not be speculating either.
For anyone who thinks Delaney is on huge money you'd be very wrong. You can argue about it here all you like but I'm willing to trust the guy himself. Listen here at 01:15 on. He said it was the easiest negotiation JC has ever had. Earlier in the video be mentions offers from the UK and elsewhere but none of that excited him. He just wanted to move home with his pregnant girlfriend.
https://youtu.be/RTBJnHQmCJk