Page 5 of 68 FirstFirst ... 345671555 ... LastLast

Thread: 2018 Transfers

Quote Originally Posted by Briuk View Post
    In football, the last 6 months of the contract players are free to negotiate with whoever they want. The clubs interested don't have to notify the club in property.

If the pre-contract is broken it is because there is a clause for both of the parts which allows them to break it under some conditions, normally paying a fee the player is going to be able to break it. Probably Sheppard got that money from Cork in the signature o the new contract as a "bonus" or "loyalty payment"
    Your first paragraph is incorrect as per league rules. Clubs must notify the other club. I'm sure it gets ignored all the time, but usually clubs don't publicly talk about doing so.

363 Posts
    Using the Ciaran Martyn case between Derry / Shels about 10 years ago, Dundalk could be entitled to seek compensation from Sheppard for breach of contract. The pre-contract that Martyn signed with Shelbourne saw a figure of 6 or 8k I think paid to Shels to facilitate his change of mind when he moved to Derry. Not sure who actually paid the figure but it was paid.

I wouldn't expect Dundalk to take this any further, but it was interesting to see the side of the story that it was Sheppard who approached Dundalk and met with them in a hotel to sign that document around Sept / Oct.

There is a strong probability now that Cork offered Sheppard an improved offer, this would also likely to have involved a bonus to sign with Cork for 2 years.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    He’s going to Sligo apparently
    I think he has to join Sligo before moving to Cork!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

1,081 Posts
    Josh O’Hanlon signs for Cork. He must have a good agent.

http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2017/1...igns-for-city/

447 Posts
    I know literally nothing about him. What a signing.

817 Posts
    JC just said Josh went to Bournemouth and came on loan to Longford where he did really well. He couldn’t get a game in the worst town side in recent history who were relegated. He barely got a game for pats. He’s been released by every club he’s ever signed for. Lazy player with a big time Charlie attitude.

817 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Josh O’Hanlon signs for Cork. He must have a good agent.

http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2017/1...igns-for-city/
    Apparently Andy Cousins is his agent, enough said

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    JC just said Josh went to Bournemouth and came on loan to Longford where he did really well. He couldn’t get a game in the worst town side in recent history who were relegated. He barely got a game for pats. He’s been released by every club he’s ever signed for. Lazy player with a big time Charlie attitude.
    Certainly wouldn't agree with him being lazy, he ran his socks off for us any time he got on the pitch BUT he looked more likely to fall over th ball than to score.
    Works hard but technically very poor, surprised at Cork even thinking about signing him judging on what I've seen of him.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Couch Potato View Post
    Certainly wouldn't agree with him being lazy, he ran his socks off for us any time he got on the pitch BUT he looked more likely to fall over th ball than to score.
    Works hard but technically very poor, surprised at Cork even thinking about signing him judging on what I've seen of him.
    Can't say I know a great deal about him.
    JC must see something in him.
    He has a chance to prove himself at City.
    It remains to be seen if he can take it.

184 Posts
    From the few times I've seen him in at Richmond park this year, he seems like a fairly big, strong and mobile unit, but never seemed to have the touch or class in front of goal like Fagan.

Basically, he's a young Irish version of Achille Campion. My guess is that he'd be a direct replacement for Campion, who I presume is leaving City? O'Hanlon and Ellis will likely be backups to the main CF next year, who has still yet to be signed.

178 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Using the Ciaran Martyn case between Derry / Shels about 10 years ago, Dundalk could be entitled to seek compensation from Sheppard for breach of contract. The pre-contract that Martyn signed with Shelbourne saw a figure of 6 or 8k I think paid to Shels to facilitate his change of mind when he moved to Derry. Not sure who actually paid the figure but it was paid.

I doubt you can have a breach of contract on a pre-contract. Pre-contracts arent worth the paper they are written on. Taking Chris Turner as an example ... signed a pre-contract with Sligo Rovers and was given some cash afaik. He decided to join Shams then (thank fuk) but couldn't sign until he gave it back. There was no breach of contract or compensation.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

53 Posts
    Turners contract was invalid as it was done on an old form.Different situation.

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Asterix View Post
    Turners contract was invalid as it was done on an old form.Different situation.
    Go way again with this ould sh1te, A contract has three elements and the antiquity of the paper ain't one.

536 Posts
    I am stunned with Josh O Hanlon signing. He has not being the same player since he left us 4 years ago to go to the UK. He has one hell of an agent. He was useless beyond belief in his second spell with us and had behavioural problems with us. I wish ye luck but I wouldnt take him ever again if I was Neale Fenn.

28 Posts
    Danny Morrissey signing for Limerick

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MattB11 View Post
    Danny Morrissey signing for Limerick
    any good?

reading what McDonald said about him says
    we need to get him a lot fitter than last season

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    any good?

If fit, he's a cracking player.

If fit.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    any good?

Danny was fantastic for us a few years back before the injuries started. Huge potential and talk of the heights he would reach. The injury was a killer. And it sounds like fitness is still an issue. Hopefully for the lad he can stay fit and get back to near where he was

Crucially himself and Nathan Boyle fed one of our old lads whiskey in Letterkenny after the last harps away game.

Sound young lad is Danny. I'll be writing to the bue army asking them to give him at least two games before turning on him.

2,346 Posts
    Crucially himself and Nathan Boyle fed one of our old lads whiskey in Letterkenny after the last harps away game.

Sound young lad is Danny. I'll be writing to the bue army asking them to give him at least two games before turning on him.
    Assume that's meant to be Ethan Boyle. Apart from Nathan Boyle being in Derry, the clue is in anything alcohol related would usually involve Ethan Boyle!

Page 5 of 68 FirstFirst ... 345671555 ... LastLast