Page 14 of 68 FirstFirst ... 412131415162464 ... LastLast

Thread: 2018 Transfers

1,524 Posts
    Galway should be a serious force in the first division. The level of sponsorship they receive from the Comers gives a big head start on other clubs.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Galway should be a serious force in the first division. The level of sponsorship they receive from the Comers gives a big head start on other clubs.
    I would like to think that we will be in the mix for the title but I doubt there will be any Waterford or Limerick type teams in the First next year that will dominate.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

thanks lads that`s what i was thinking myself. ye look set to have another signing or two soon also. will be competitive henderson has cobh in good nick as always, cabo look to be trying to push on and their`s a few more with solid chances from last year and with 3 relegated sides competition will be fierce i`d expect.

27 Posts
    For the first time in years the First Division is looking really interesting this season. Early days but you would imagine Galway and Longford are favourites with Cobh, Shels, Harps and Drogs all looking for at least a play-off. Cabo keep improving so could shock this year while UCD will push as always. Wexford will be competitive, while I don't think anyone can evaluate Athlone yet. All in all, it's a hard league to call with plenty of competitive games.

817 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cobhlad View Post
    For the first time in years the First Division is looking really interesting this season. Early days but you would imagine Galway and Longford are favourites with Cobh, Shels, Harps and Drogs all looking for at least a play-off. Cabo keep improving so could shock this year while UCD will push as always. Wexford will be competitive, while I don't think anyone can evaluate Athlone yet. All in all, it's a hard league to call with plenty of competitive games.
    You’d imagine Wexford will improve but shouldn’t be any higher than 9th in all truth. Was speaking to an Athlone player a few weeks ago that wants to stay on for next season but said there’s been absolutely nothing out of the club since end of season.

Simon Madden has just been confirmed by Pats! Brilliant signing.

184 Posts
    Bohs have resigned Ian Morris and Philip Gannon for 2018, and have also signed Kevin Devaney from Galway.

That's 21 players Bohs have signed up for next season.

222 Posts
    Simon Madden signing for Pats there. I'm a fan, thought he was great at Derry now.
    Have you ever won the treble?

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cobhlad View Post
    I don't think anyone can evaluate Athlone yet.
    That's an understatement.

172 Posts
    Madden gone to pats. Cest la vie. At least he's not gone to a direct rival for European places.

445 Posts
    One of the best full backs in the league and we didn’t even have to pay 10 grand for him. Happy Days.

363 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    One of the best full backs in the league and we didn’t even have to pay 10 grand for him. Happy Days.
    Excellent signing for Pats.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

194 Posts
    He any good that this Madden chap? Shams fans?

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    Would say you should remember him from his Dundalk days but he was pre 2013 so you probably weren't watching Dundalk then 😁

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Saint Ringo View Post
    Simon Madden has just been confirmed by Pats! Brilliant signing.
    Killian Brennan and Owen Garvan confirmed as well (though I thought Garvan was under contract anyway. Squad is shaping up nicely.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

He's rubbish, didn't want him to stay. I've said all along Ethan Boyle is the best defender in the league

Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Would say you should remember him from his Dundalk days but he was pre 2013 so you probably weren't watching Dundalk then 😁
    I’d say he’s no good as Sean McCaffrey didn’t want to keep him. 🤔

164 Posts
    Goalkeeper Niall Corbet to Waterford from UCD

646 Posts
    Happy for Madden he's not having to drag himself off somewhere to get a gig, he will be a good signing for Pats.
    Considering our record against Pats he'll probably do well next year

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Madden gone to pats. Cest la vie. At least he's not gone to a direct rival for European places.
    Who do you think will challenge Rovers for 3rd / 4th place?

Page 14 of 68 FirstFirst ... 412131415162464 ... LastLast