Thread: Mayo Junior Soccer

Manfred

Manfred,

I don't know what you are inferring by people giving out about the under 21 not being at the meeting. As mossy said wasn't it purely a delegates meeting. And wasn't the decision to abandon the under 21 team an indicator that more than those who spoke out in the papers had problems with the under 21 team.
    It is unfortunate that the team is gone to the wayside but the clubs cannot be blamed, the League have to take the wrap, they tried to bring in a rule without consent of the clubs and a rule which completely degraded the Super League. Think it's time you realised this

Unhappy Chairman's Fairwell

Quote Originally Posted by mossy
    Who are you referring to here ?. If it is the two ex league officers who had articles in the Mayp News ? Then I don't think that they could be there as it was a Chairman/Secretary meeting only and they do not hold these positions in their clubs. The fox has already mail shot clubs about the U 21 fiasco So his views are well know on the subject and the other fella just detests El Duce and who can blame him.
    Questions for anybody at meeting :
    Did El Duce insult a delegate over his twitching ??
    Did he patronise a lady delegate ?
    Did he try and include a vote that had left the building ?
    THIS IS OUR CHAIRMAN LADIES AND GENTLEMEN
    FOR GOD'S SAKE GO NOW BEFORE HE IS REMEMBERED AS A COMPLETE FOOL IN OVER HIS HEAD
    Mossy the twitching yes, he was trying to put a spell on el duce but he got caught. Patronise well doesn't he always.
    He tried to, but the clubs were not having it when J.L. LEFT THE ROOM.
    YOU ARE RIGHT THIS WAS A NO VOTE FOR THE CHAIRMAN AND IT'S TIME HE WAVED GOOD BY HAPPY XMAS

Manfred Manfred

Quote Originally Posted by OscarBravo
    Manfred,

I don't know what you are inferring by people giving out about the under 21 not being at the meeting. As mossy said wasn't it purely a delegates meeting. And wasn't the decision to abandon the under 21 team an indicator that more than those who spoke out in the papers had problems with the under 21 team.
    It is unfortunate that the team is gone to the wayside but the clubs cannot be blamed, the League have to take the wrap, they tried to bring in a rule without consent of the clubs and a rule which completely degraded the Super League. Think it's time you realised this
    YOU ARE RIGHT THE PAPER ONLY HI LIGHTED THE PROBLEMS THE LEAGUE FAILED TO DEAL WITH THE ISSUES. FOX WAS RIGHT TO RAISE THE QUESTION.
    he was only supporting mossy because he was right. the league had no answer
    the flagship as far as the league concern was U-21 AND KEEPING Leo happy
    manfred try and get your facts right. if you want to be a spokeman for the mayo league just say so,Ive no problem with that

has the boro any date for the match against cc in the replay of aib cup game....if its after xmas will kelly be eligble?....january 1st an all that...has the boro taken a couple of players from celtic and lost keeper to ballina..if so can he play in celtic game? cant see boro beating the hoops after watching super cup final...a good celtic win on sunday next will make it a good xmas. seasons greetings to one and all

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by renovater
    YOU ARE RIGHT THE PAPER ONLY HI LIGHTED THE PROBLEMS THE LEAGUE FAILED TO DEAL WITH THE ISSUES. FOX WAS RIGHT TO RAISE THE QUESTION.
    he was only supporting mossy because he was right. the league had no answer
    the flagship as far as the league concern was U-21 AND KEEPING Leo happy
    manfred try and get your facts right. if you want to be a spokeman for the mayo league just say so,Ive no problem with that
    Ok, points taken. I'm not looking to be a spokesman for any association. Its dissapointing when all, or at least 90%, of clubs dont turn up for what is two or three meetings a year. Thats where WE need to be heard.
    I liked the U21 idea, but the structure was'nt right.
    With regard to M.Fox, I only ever heard him raise issues that affected the 'heane. I do'nt see his interest been football as a whole in Mayo. Look back a season or two and see where Fox junior played his football, and that will answer the Mossey connection. Club loyalty, especially at youth level, should be encouraged.
    On a slightly different note, it was interesting at the meeting to note that some clubs wanted the Schoolboys & Youths to take on the U21 job and develope a squad around the 18 age mark. Has any one spoken to them about this?

Quote Originally Posted by OscarBravo
    Manfred,

As with most meetings, it was'nt only chairmen & secs at this meeting. I know it was supposed to be. But I do belive that we could have voted a new system in, if we wanted to, rather then vote the team out.And I'm not in favour of degrading the super league when the 'port have shown what can be achieved at that level.
    On your second point, we all know that most people had a problem with the U21 set up. But I do'nt belive that stepping backwards, instead of finding a new way forward, will help any footballer in Mayo.
    We should be back to looking at constructive ways forward.

Quote Originally Posted by Manfred
    With regard to M.Fox, I only ever heard him raise issues that affected the 'heane. I do'nt see his interest been football as a whole in Mayo.
    Manfred could you please employ that piece of grey matter between your ears before throwing in any more misguided and false statements. You accuse Fox of only favouring the heane, in the next sentence you say his son played for Manulla. If your hell bent on attacking Fox do so, but dont be using Ballyheane as a go between.What had Ballyheane to do with the U-21 issues or the transfer sagas?. We can hardly be accused of getting any special treatment from the league now can we?.

On a slightly different note, it was interesting at the meeting to note that some clubs wanted the Schoolboys & Youths to take on the U21 job and develope a squad around the 18 age mark. Has any one spoken to them about this?
    The league seemed uninterested in this idea from what I have heard. If you want to develop footballers and give them a fighting chance of making the grade as a professional you have to putting all your resources into the u-10 u-14 age group after this age it is very unlikely that any player would make the grade. No glory in this for the league though.

51 Posts
    What about this under 18 taking on Sligo this weekend? are they any good or could they be used as a under 21 team? any comments?

Quote Originally Posted by The Don
    Manfred could you please employ that piece of grey matter between your ears before throwing in any more misguided and false statements. You accuse Fox of only favouring the heane, in the next sentence you say his son played for Manulla. If your hell bent on attacking Fox do so, but dont be using Ballyheane as a go between.What had Ballyheane to do with the U-21 issues or the transfer sagas?. We can hardly be accused of getting any special treatment from the league now can we?.
    You know Don, you could be right.Having a club member driving past his own club to an underage team in Manulla, is'nt really any of my business.I suppose the point I was trying to make was that some of the problems that exist at junior level have their roots in underage football. If possible, you might elaborate on your term " false ststements". With regard to being misguided, we all have opinions, they all differ, and all can be seen as misguided, by others.And, as a new year resolution I wont speak of M.Fox or any one else, but I will comment on, and give my views on soccer in Mayo. In return, you could try to be a little calmer, take a wider view, and mabe get some help in your battle to control your hatred for...........whoever.

Manfred.Yet again the point has been totally lost on you. You are free, as all people should be to make any comments concerning whatever topic you like.
    Point being if you do make a point especially a false one like the heane had Fox working their case for them and without even giving an example to back this up, then expect people to take exception. Hatred is a very strong term so please don't throw it into a sentence in a futile effort to patronise me (Are you Quigley in disguise).

Manfred.Yet again the point has been totally lost on you. You are free, as all people should be to make any comments concerning whatever topic you like.
    Point being if you do make a point especially a false one like the heane had Fox working their case for them and without even giving an example to back this up, then expect people to take exception. Hatred is a very strong term so please don't throw it into a sentence in a futile effort to patronise me (Are you Quigley in disguise).

Easy lads.Ye sound like two girls bickering. Agree to differ and stop taking up thread space with such ****e talk. Its meant to be a recreational site for talking about football, so talk football.

Your a rock of sense

Quote Originally Posted by Richard Dunne
    Easy lads.Ye sound like two girls bickering. Agree to differ and stop taking up thread space with such ****e talk. Its meant to be a recreational site for talking about football, so talk football.
    Relax thy kacks Mr. Dunne. They can say what they want, it's still on topic.

I'm partial to a bit of bickering, it allows good deep discussion.

I dont think anyone here thinks that Mayos U-21 team could beat the leagues top super league teams.
    Surely the under 21 squad should have been seen as a development squad ie for player development. I have no doubt that stronger more physical super league sides would have beaten them, but we should have been talking about a higher level of skill, technique and overall understanding of the game.

Cool setting the matter straight

Ok, points taken. I'm not looking to be a spokesman for any association. Its dissapointing when all, or at least 90%, of clubs dont turn up for what is two or three meetings a year. Thats where WE need to be heard.
    I liked the U21 idea, but the structure was'nt right.
    With regard to M.Fox, I only ever heard him raise issues that affected the 'heane. I do'nt see his interest been football as a whole in Mayo. Look back a season or two and see where Fox junior played his football, and that will answer the Mossey connection. Club loyalty, especially at youth level, should be encouraged.
    if not looking to be a spokesman you don't fool me.
    i think your 90% certainly sounds incorect more like 48% didn't turn up I belive there was 24 votes one had left the room the other had to walk out because of abad manner chairman who owes an apolgy to MR Coll. the other 48% had no interest in the u-21 threre for will be find by L.M.C.

We all like the idea, but when the league goes out and breaks it own rules who can you trust?

Don't no where you could have heard him raise issues related to Ballyheane
    certainly not at Mayo League meetings because it would not be aloud you would need to give more details regarding supporting the heane it not a crime
    for any Lmc member to support a club only if he abuses his postition.
    it true to say P Quigley is celtic fan like J Durkan is manulla so what is wrong with his son playing with another club may he thought it was in the interest of his son may be his son didn't want to play for the heane. at leased he didn't stop him it was his son choice AND MANULLA WERE GLAD TO HAVE HAD HIM AS A PLAYER
    Iwill agree on one thing is best on your part to get off the fox case and turn your attention on what realy matters FOOTBALL
    Last edited by renovater; 15/12/2005 at 7:36 PM.

The one person that would be disappointed with the events of this week would be not Pat Quigley, not Leo Tierney but Pat Duffy, Eircom U.21 League Development Officer, who, as a Mayo person, pushed for a Mayo U.21 side. Players in the county needs something to aspire to. If they think they can play a higher level of junior football, it is important that they are allowed the opportunity to showcase their talents.

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster
    The one person that would be disappointed with the events of this week would be not Pat Quigley, not Leo Tierney but Pat Duffy, Eircom U.21 League Development Officer, who, as a Mayo person, pushed for a Mayo U.21 side. Players in the county needs something to aspire to. If they think they can play a higher level of junior football, it is important that they are allowed the opportunity to showcase their talents.
    It won't just be Pat Duffy and the rest mentioned who will rue the desicion to opt out of under 21s, the whole of Mayo soccer could suffer. If the FAI decides no regional Centre no FAS development squad, no more pilot projects. We could become the lepers of Irish Football

Thumbs down

Where did the League Management Committee votes go to in the the desicion to opt out of Under 21 football. I have heard that they did not vote, surely this is not the case. Last night should have been a time to stand up and show leadership or maybey there were some who didn't want to retain the U21s

Thumbs down

[ With regard to M.Fox, I only ever heard him raise issues that affected the 'heane. I do'nt see his interest been football as a whole in Mayo. Look back a season or two and see where Fox junior played his football, and that will answer the Mossey connection. Club loyalty, especially at youth level, should be encouraged.
    Your reference to Fox Junior is quiet shocking and low if I may say so. Since when are we allowed talk about underage persons on this forum !!
    I think your utterances to date would imply that you are an ex LMC MAFL 'er ( for that I am sure you have issues!! ) Perhaps you miss your dual role and would like a piece back

Page 40 of 60 FirstFirst ... 30383940414250 ... LastLast