Page 20 of 60 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Junior Soccer

I agree with you Swinford dude. I was not having a go at Mr. Dee.

If he did pack it in cos of the Dinosaurs the underlying problem must still be there, so there is still a problem, and us sobbing over the latest casualty is not going to find out what it is.

Does anyone have any inside info? Being from Westport all I would get from the Mayo league would be the forked tongue displayed and maybe a kick in the sweets so I don't have much a chance finding out do I?

The Don, where are you? You usually start the conspiracy theories and have the inside info.

'Bout time you starting spilling the beans to us!

Quote Originally Posted by mossy
    Well JD gone , a bit of a wobbler if I say so myself but he only half resigned as he is still with the dinosaurs !!! Unusual to say the least. He is still employed by the Dinosaurs dont forget !!!!. Well July 14th is over for this year but we should mobilise enough for a Valentine's day Massacre next year.
    LONG LIVE ROD |||||
    Are the Mayo League arranging their AGM for Valentines Day next year?

646 Posts
    Thursday 12 August Results
    Super League
    S & F 3-0 Manulla
    Wport 1-2 Celtic

Div 1
    Manulla B 1-2 Wport B

Div 2B
    Celtic C 2-2 Ballyheane B
    Moy Villa 3-0 Ballinrobe B

Opens up the Super League race, Westport still in charge though.

The premier promotion race is a close one, one point between Ballyglass, Fahy and Crossmolina. With the latter two playing this weekend. Big game.

Division 1 promotion is pretty sewn up but Claremorris lead the title charge by 2 points from Westport United B.

Division 2A should be decided this weekend. Lacken seem to have the title but Snugboro B have an outside chance of catching Ballina U for second.

Divison 2B is another tight one. Partry look like winning it but second is tight with incumbents Moy Villa being chased by Celtic C and Charlestown.

It looks like the Division 1/Division 2 relegation/promotion playoff could be scrapped this year because of Urlaurs withdrawl. Meaning second bottom and third bottom Division 1 would automatically go down to be replaced by first place in 2a and 2b and the winner of the 2a/2b playoff.

Glenhest Rovers were relegated last night.
    Last edited by Closed Account; 12/08/2005 at 5:01 PM.

glenhest

That last line on Joe Denilson's posting is one I didn't think I would ever see. Glenhest finally gone down, they could struggle big time now to keep players

Has anybody heard anything more concrete regarding the resignations of Messrs Durcan and Dee?? Both of them were at Milebush last night and seemed sound. I would tend to take this craic with a pinch of salt until something more definite is released. The next meeting should be fiery anyway!

Huge match this weekend for Fahy rovers and Crossmolina as mentioned by Joe Denilson, a win for us would put us four points clear of them with 3 matches left. Cross still have Celtic to play next week too. It's looking like it's between those two and Ballyglass for the promotion places. Conn Rangers could do us a favour and beat Ballyglass as well, if they fancy it. I think staying in the Super league would be a great achievement for any team going up though, it's getting better yearly.

Resignations

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever
    Has anybody heard anything more concrete regarding the resignations of Messrs Durcan and Dee??
    Whatever about Dee, where did this Durkan story pop out of? Heard for definite about the former but the latter seems to be a surprise if it is true.

51 Posts
    Welcome on board pablo yes will be a great battle between fahy, ballyglass and crossmolina for promotion to super league cant see ballinrobe getting up although it be great for super league seeing a south mayo club involved in it.

Wilkommen my Colombian friend.

Good to have another club and another point of view on the forum.

Welcome back Fahy Forever also, were you in jail? (messing)
    Can you tell us the story about what will happen if ye come second to Celtic B this year? Will ye get promoted? The lads reckon ye won't but I for one would be mightily pi**ed off if Fahy could not play Super League soccer next year. Great club, nice lads all. It'd be good to have another local derby for the 'Port.

ballinrobe are playing mulranny away this evening so hopefully i'll have my shooting boots on, i'll post the result this evening,

646 Posts
    Sorry for disregarding ye pablo. Great club Ballinrobe, weren't ye stopped from going up before because of the dressing rooms ye had at the time. Have ye upgraded them? Hope Fahy do come up though, they were very tough to beat when we(Boro) were down in Div 1 with them, pipped them to promotion by a point i believe.

The Boro losing streak continues, lost to Swinford 3-2 in a good game of football. No excuses from the Boro, Swinford played a great game. Bit fortuitous with the second goal though, we're badly missing keeper Mick Wallace. Little too late for your relegation survival push though. Never say Never though.

Ballinrobe

Welcome my southern friend and my I complement ye on the magnificent clubhouse which has transformed the robe into a club to be respected. I was there to see an underage match this year and on the way home some kids were talking about facilities - I kid you not. Anyway the Gist of it was how come smaller rural clubs have them and our town brethern have not , Ballina being excused as they seem to have got the finger out lately . They mused about the Port being the best team in Ireland and something else as regards facilities/pitch etc. The county town team while leading the way years ago have been very stagnant since, I thought it was interesting how they observed this and while in the port on Thursday night I relayed this to a covie colleague, whose opinion was that it would never happen in his lifetime due to politics etc and I thought how sad ! Anyway, is the super league now over after Erris\Celtic drawing ? Can the Heane stay Second ? The Robe and the Glass for super next Year ? I think Fahy will get there eventually but where will our much vaunted facilities be ?
    The Boro look rocky now or will they upset the odds on Thursday and take something from the Port ? With the Port playing the Boro and the Heane expect the league to be over by Sunday or No !!

Gavin Dykes

What is the position with Gavin Dykes? Since Castlebar Celtic are an amateur football club and Gavin Dykes plays for the first team and he is getting paid as manager, does that make him as a semi professional? What is the ruling on semi professionals playing for amateur clubs?

Rumours and the rest

Interesting one TB, you always seem to have the best ones in the bag. I reckon he could be classed as semi-pro but considering who sits atop the tree in the MAFL he'll probably be classed as the C team kitman, and they'll carry on.

Funny enough rumour doing the rounds that the latest spate of resignations over in Milebush are down to the registartion of certain players and clearance being given without the correct documents being in place.

I wonder who is repsonsible????

646 Posts
    I think theres an appeal lodged about the validity of Ciaran Kelly's transfer prior to the AIB semi final with Snugboro. A replay could be on the cards?

As regards semi pros, isn't J Maloney getting paid in Ballyheane and i'd say Ciaran Kelly is probably getting some sort of bursary.

keith carty and keith carty and daimen scanldaimen scanlon to rejoin there local team

Keith Carty and Damien Scanlon to rejoin there local team from Castlebar celtic! keith and damien will rejoin current Sligo Leitrim champions Abbey Utd.They will not join until they have played in both of Castlebar finals.Which will mean they will not be available until mid oct for Abbey!

When you get them back don't let Dykes get his claws into them again. Those lads will be burnt out if they're playing all that football. Are they playing much for Celtic anyway?

Is that true? would be a shock for Celtic in a big way. another question, where did the story about Durkin come about. deffo not true.
    And one other thing, anyone who was in Westport saw what was good about Mayo football. Why cant we be positive sometime about it.
    And finally - my deepest respects to Ballinrobe and to Mary's family. she was a dear friend and all that is good in local football. Katie's performance in the under 18 cup semi final was incredible considering. Just harsh kuck they were beaten by a fluke.

rumours

Indeed there are talks of celtic pulling a fast one as regards their keeper but the one who resides on the top of the MAFL wont have anything said about celtic so expect them to get away with it , Ditto Manulla these are the two untouchables in Mayo football and if you are wondering why look at the top table or the tree !!.
    As regards payment of players I dont think our snugboro friend can go around accusing other clubs of paying players/managers, how the hell would you know that for sure take Maloney in the Heane if he wants to play super footie what club is nearest to his kilmaine base - The Heane of Course. It is probably a long shot but you can never be sure, what about Campbell far Manulla and McGreal surely money there and the two sligo lads have to be on more than the glorified expenses !!!

51 Posts
    Lads,
    this forum getting abit heated lately - time to put out the fires
    Its obvious that some players are getting pay and to the ones that are - good luck to them!!!! and to the managers who are also - if the clubs are willing to send that money then the more fools they are!!!! if castlebar celtic sending that money good for them but from what i can see, they still behind westport and ballyheane in mayo!!!!! are the westport management getting any money, cause you what, they deserved it!!!!!

Also sorry to the walsh family in Ballinrobe on the loss of they mother mary, lovely person which will be missed by everyone

Here I come with a load of Petrol!

Gnasher says: It's about time this forum threw off the sissy tag and we started a real debate so here I go.

Agree / Disagree - 'That the members of this forum do not believe it is right for players/managers/kitmen/pitchmarkers to receive money/re-imbursement from the club they provide the service to'.

I agree with my own motion. That means (in the parliamentary sense) that it is automatically thrown out.

Drat!!!!

Seriously though, lets have a debate.

Getting back to previous posts, what will happen if we end up with a Super League dominated by those with the most cash at hand. It would not bode well for any team if they relied heavily on EL rejects (ouch )to bring them success, as their youth will end up not being able to get into the teamand playing at a high level.

To answer a previous poster. The Westport managment (to my knowledge) receive not a penny from the club. Old fashioned, but very effective. Pride is the ultimate motivation!

Page 20 of 60 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast