Page 38 of 60 FirstFirst ... 28363738394048 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Junior Soccer

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever
    Can someone enlighten me as to what the story is regarding these late transfers?? When will it be dealt with? Who makes the ultimate decisions? Would the clubs involved be punished automatically or does there have to be appeals put forward from the opposing clubs? The Ballyheane man who scored twice against us in the F.A.I cup was signed after the deadline..what would happen if they were to be considered illegal? Etc Etc...
    Cheers....
    Settle down, these players were signed from mayo league clubs and were signed for external comp, deadline for which is the 31st Jan. Believe me Ballyheane would be first on the Mayo leagues list if anything was amiss.
    Last edited by The Don; 07/12/2005 at 1:20 PM.

Further more the clubs involved with transfers even if found to be at fault are not responsible. The league issues reciepts saying when players are able to play for their new clubs.

Quote Originally Posted by gnasher
    The Connacht Cup game was a warm up for the main event alright. Corrib will be hard beat on Sunday. We have a big support going so that may help us on but if i knowwestport we'll get through .....the hard way.
    big test for westport on sunday ! can't see them really beating corrib in their home patch if they struggled against them in mayo last week !

Quote Originally Posted by headerball
    big test for westport on sunday ! can't see them really beating corrib in their home patch if they struggled against them in mayo last week !
    Yeah, it'll be tough alright. The Galway boys were saying their pitch is about as bad as the Sports Park was on Saturday (even George Best might have turned his nose at it, it was such a state. Both teams have to play on it either way).

Westport did not play well and I don't know enough about the opposition to say whether or not they played well or not. When we had to go for it they caught us on the break a few times but that said, when we played it about like we can we had them in bother.

It will be a very interesting game if Westport pull outtheir usual FAI form and play like they can.

I'd say possibly two of three Mayo sides to go through but I'd hate to make an idiot of myself and predict who. It'll be 'squeaky bum' time as Sir Alex put it a few years ago....

Angry Late Transfers

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever
    Can someone enlighten me as to what the story is regarding these late transfers?? When will it be dealt with? Who makes the ultimate decisions? Would the clubs involved be punished automatically or does there have to be appeals put forward from the opposing clubs? The Ballyheane man who scored twice against us in the F.A.I cup was signed after the deadline..what would happen if they were to be considered illegal? Etc Etc...
    Cheers....
    The bottom line, mon ami is that the LMC of The MAFL is the body appointed by the clubs to implement the rules of the Mayo League,As has been graphically displayed this season They do not appear capable of the task given to them.we have the ridicolous situation where the Secretary of the Mayo League is seeking clarification from the CEO of the FAI of their own rules! THINK about it

Just to let ye Westport boys know,Corrib Rangers did not play well against ye last sunday and they will lift their game this sunday a lot more and the pitch is in very good condition at the moment

there are only 2 ex galway players that have played league of ireland for galway utd and thats the player manager brendan and the goalkeeper John.
    There are 2 or 3 other players that played for Galway utd under 16's about 7 years ago so if your including them its just silly??
    Its gonna be a hard game for both teams

51 Posts
    Lads,
    Chill out, let the football do the talking ok. to be honest both of these teams are very good from my sources so it is a shame for connacht football that they had to meet so early. may the best team win on sunday but as i am a mayo man i hope its westport.

Cool the thinker

Quote Originally Posted by Le Grande Eric
    The bottom line, mon ami is that the LMC of The MAFL is the body appointed by the clubs to implement the rules of the Mayo League,As has been graphically displayed this season They do not appear capable of the task given to them.we have the ridicolous situation where the Secretary of the Mayo League is seeking clarification from the CEO of the FAI of their own rules! THINK about it
    Yes Ur right they are the governing body, and elected by the clubs. And if you and the clubs are not happy with the way the represent you or clubs, then at the next A.G.M. remove from office.
    How could the Secretary behave in any other way when El Duce runs the show?
    JD knows the rules but his hands are tide by the great one. So in order to save face he looks for confirmation from F.A.I.

Thumbs up For Ur eyes only

Sorry Mossy,
    Didn’t mean to offend with a misspell words it true sometimes my grammar isn’t always what it should be, but never the less someone as intelligent as you shouldn’t pick out someone weakness when knowing the perfectionist that you are.
    I don’t think the point I was making was loss only miss under stood by you.
    I think the word was they are interpreted there own version as to no if I am El Duce or another member the answer is no but I am on your side

come on corrib teach those westport boys a lesson ps make sure ye check the rules ye usually have to beat them twice

only 1

Still bitchin I see !!!

51 Posts

Gnasher win Westport win?

Well Gnasher reputation on the line now will they will on Sunday is the hunger still there? or have you the guts to tell us?

Easy Tiger

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc
    Well Gnasher reputation on the line now will they will on Sunday is the hunger still there? or have you the guts to tell us?
    Are you having a go?

We're down a few players (big players) so it's going to be tough. Losing last week could be the best thing to gee up the team. We'll see. I'd advise anyone who's knocking around Westside on Sunday to pop out and see the match, should be a belter.

Who are Swinford playing?

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gnasher
    Are you having a go?

Who are Swinford playing?
    Only match swinford playing weekend is under 18 against glenhest!!!!!

Question Castlebar United

How did Castlebar United get on against Galway Bohs in cup match. Close game? lucky/unlucky?

Smile Mayo teams abroad

Great Away Day for mayo teams,Any match reports?

FAI Junior Games

Westport(Pens), Castlebar(Extra time) and I think Ballyheane are all through!!

Westport were nil nil after norm and then went 1 down in extra time before Brian Fahey equalised. Westport won 5-4 on pens.

Castlebar won 3-2 AET, I think??

Gnasher: You at the game?? How did they play?

Smile F.A.I. CUP match reports @December 18th

Quote Originally Posted by Le Grande Eric
    Great Away Day for mayo teams,Any match reports?
    What a great day for Mayo Clubs all came from behind and ended up winners Ballyheane seem to do the impossible travel with 12 players two of them Robert Coyne And Gerry Walsh had other ideas on there minds I am sure they will be dealt with by the Disciplinary Committee of the club in due course.
    Goals from Jamie Carr ex Celtic Matt Conroy who level the match 2-2 in injury time Ballyheane were awarded a penalty up step the Keeper Sean fahey made it 3-3 then game went to penalties which Sean fahey save two penalties end up winning 4-1
    Well done. Also should be noted that there inspiration Captain Peter Bourke Was away for the weekend also Brian Donnelly away at wedding in Kilkenny god no what they would have done with a full team.
    Well what I can say about Westport well I put my head on the block in recent reports I thought West port would come through, only just thanks to double substitution which paid off in the last 4mins of injury time went on to win 5-4 on penalties. Once again must be noted the big support Westport had with them must be worth a goal in any game. Word of thought on Corrib Rangers a good side will be hard to beat this season fancy them in there league to go all the way and in the Conn Cup
    Castlebar Celtic found themselves two goals in arrears before they could level the scores 2-2 after normal time.
    Extra time to be played up popped Sean McHale with the winner injury time goes on to win 3-2
    There is a sting in the tail how legal was there team? Will there be a protest from Sheriff YC will wait and see.
    Next up on the list is Mossy Lally Manulla v Athenry on December 18 hopefully Manulla will be able to concentrate on the proceedings at foot because Athenry are no push over I fancy ATHENRY to win this one even though they are away. But you never no? Depends on who J.D. DECIDES to referee this one.
    Next up on the same day is Castlebar Celtic at home in the Connaught Cup v. Glenview Stars of Sligo I sure Noel Kennedy will be keeping watch over this one .
    May the force be with you Mayo CLUBS in the up and coming games ahead?

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball

Gnasher: You at the game?? How did they play?
    They were more evenly matched today than last week and it always looked like ET and possibly pens were the only way to separate them.

Both teams played it around nicely but again the surface began to cut up and the ball bobbled all over the place, hard to get it down and play like both of these teams try to do.

Corrib had more clear chances and got a goal from a mistake by the Westport keeper, it looked bad this was the second half of extra time but somehow Brian Fahy popped up with and equalizer, a great drive from the edge of the box that beat the keeper at the near post. Penalties were very good and the Corrib no.4 missed with their last one after the first nine were sent to the net.

Lucky, but very happy to have got through. Corrib are a very good side.

A word of thanks to everyone on this thread who wished us well last week, fair play.

Page 38 of 60 FirstFirst ... 28363738394048 ... LastLast