James O Malley For Ballinrobe Town?

Fat controler has his say

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead
    I know all that Mayo AFL Committee Stuff is old news at this stage, but it seems the referees are getting a little tired of being stuck in the middle of Il Duce and his contemporaries. The referees are threatening to strike(not unprecedented) if the rift in the committee is not mended. I for one am strongly behind the referees. They are taking a strong stance that may once and for all rid the Mayo League of any bad seeds. And even if it means a season without football(god forbid) it seems, the refs are the only ones prepared to do anything.
    It seems that the talk of a strike is greatly exageraterd! The fat controler says that all is well is footballing circles, especially as the distribution of games is now so evenly spread out.
    No league can exist without the men in black, and they belive that a rift cannot exist between 5 committee members.
    Any way, with 8 new refs in the pipeline, it looks like another 'tequila sunrise'.
    The only way is up and if rumour is to belived, the 2 new mayo league committee members are going to have a real positive impact on the development of the game in 2006.
    (Nice of P.Burns to welcome the Sligo imports at the presentation night)!
    How come 'Daisy' Glynn did'nt get the overall golden boot as he scored the most goals in 2005?

Missing the boat

Quote Originally Posted by mossy
    I see that the local press have gone to town on the CFA decision and el Duce had nothing to say to the Mayo News The Conn went even further by suggesting that another player is now illegal. When will this end ?
    Will the new final tables be printed in the local press ?
    Question. When the Port play an ineligable player they lose the game, so Why when Celtic do it is it replayed ? Different rules for different clubs anybody !!
    Another !! Would any of this have ever got out if the Fox was still their and did not squeel to the Boro and if so it makes you wonder what the favoured clubs have got away with in the past. By the way favoured clubs = Celtic & Manulla. Any others anyone. You for you perhaps Manfred
    Hi Mossy, I was'nt ignoring you, I.ve been caught up in work lately, sorry for the delayed reply.
    The CFA decision has been proved wrong by the FAI. If their judgement was upheld it would have meant that no player could transfer within Mayo after the 31st deadline. For instance;man moves from Dublin to Ballina in August. Wants to play soccer, applies to local club (Ballina Town), but is told he cannot play till January (5 months away). This would be against all the etos of FAI particapation. So, thankfully, M.Fox got it wrong again,Conn got it wrong (on M.Fox advice), and movement of players has been protected.(I'm not in favour of the flood of outside players coming in)
    On your thought that Fox did well 'to squeel to the boro', would you like to be part of a committee that included a person who 'squeeled' when he did'nt get his own way?
    How many disapline decisons against Super league teams benifeted the 'heane? (No, I do'nt have the answer, but it is an interesting question)
    I would like to work with people committed to the sport, not bitter and twisted people who get ancy when passed over for jobs that they are obviously not suited to!

Missing the boat.

Nice to see you back in good form Manfred. I like yourself dont like to see players who want to play soccer held back by red tape, but in this instance the mayo league created the red tape by having a 31st July deadline, its not up to them to pick and choose when they can and cannot use their own rules. Futhermore when you talk of "bitter and twisted" look at the severity of actions taken against clubs which have ex league members and tell me is this the action of a fair league.!

Missing the boat.

Nice to see you back in good form Manfred. I like yourself dont like to see players who want to play soccer held back by red tape, but in this instance the mayo league created the red tape by having a 31st July deadline, its not up to them to pick and choose when they can and cannot use their own rules. Futhermore when you talk of "bitter and twisted" look at the severity of actions taken against clubs which have ex league members and tell me is this the action of a fair league.!

Hope

Quote Originally Posted by biffo
    James O Malley For Ballinrobe Town?

I havn't heard any rumours about O Malley going back to Ballinrobe but i know he would be a very welcome addition. Its good to see quality players going back to clubs where they cut their teeth instead of leaving. For instance, Gerry Burke and Joey Maloney are now at celtic. Both very talented players but what will they get out of Castlebar that they couldnt of got out of Brobe? I hear they're not getting paid but are only playing on the promise that they will be at Athlone Town next season with Gavin 'Jose Mourinho' Dykes. Alan Murphy(Derry City) played with Ballinrobe Town before getting the call for Galway United before going to Derry. He played with Ballinrobe in the lower divisions while Celtic and Westport were cruising in the Super League.Kieren Kelly went from Ballinrobe Town to Derry City aswell. Good players just dont have to leave small clubs,if they're good enough they will make it.

Ciaran Kelly

Quote Originally Posted by Manfred
    Hi Mossy, I was'nt ignoring you, I.ve been caught up in work lately, sorry for the delayed reply.
    The CFA decision has been proved wrong by the FAI. If their judgement was upheld it would have meant that no player could transfer within Mayo after the 31st deadline. For instance;man moves from Dublin to Ballina in August. Wants to play soccer, applies to local club (Ballina Town), but is told he cannot play till January (5 months away). This would be against all the etos of FAI particapation. So, thankfully, M.Fox got it wrong again,Conn got it wrong (on M.Fox advice), and movement of players has been protected.(I'm not in favour of the flood of outside players coming in)
    On your thought that Fox did well 'to squeel to the boro', would you like to be part of a committee that included a person who 'squeeled' when he did'nt get his own way?
    How many disapline decisons against Super league teams benifeted the 'heane? (No, I do'nt have the answer, but it is an interesting question)
    I would like to work with people committed to the sport, not bitter and twisted people who get ancy when passed over for jobs that they are obviously not suited to!
    Regardless of your clear anger towards Mossy, there are a number of matters that you have to be corrected on Manfred.
    Rule 34 of the Mayo League, which is a flawed one in many respects, states thus: 'Any player from leagues or associatins outside the jurisdiction of the MAFL must provide a copy of his official transfer from his last club. This must be submitted with the players registration form and must be accompanied by a letter of clearance from the player's previous League Secretary to show that the player has no monetary or disciplinary commitment to his former league or association.
    Also ''The deadline for transfers shall be July 31 in any one season'.
    How could Kelly be signed before July 31 if the Mayo League did not receive clearance from the eircom league until August 4. The fact is he wasn't. I think too that Pat Quigley's actions in the aftermath were essentially an admission of guilt, ie telling snugboro to think of 'the spirit of the game' and delaying in giving them the transfer documents.
    Nobody likes going down the road of objections but the Mayo League weren't slow in the past to hand out suspensions to many clubs when they erred slightly. One rule for clubs and another for the League?
    Whatever decision the FAI make, and I wasn't aware that they had made one, it is by no means guaranteed to be the correct one.
    You are right Manfred, movement of players should be freer but it is the league who have the July 31 deadline, nobody else.

by the way who are the suspected new members of the league going to be?

Welcome back Manulla Man

Manfred your grasp of the intricacies of rule 34 astounds me. Only one Question . When did the FAI prove the CFA wrong ? Perhaps you can explain ? Let me also ask you one question. When a Rule says JULY 31 then why is August 4th deemed ok ? It seems pretty straightforward to me !!
    I see the Muinteoir is not in Manulla on Sunday they must think Bangor can be beaten without the 12th man. No doubt he will be back their before long !!
    The Dinner Dance was it's usual ****, I think their day is long gone. How many clubs persist with this utter crab , can't think of any of hand. Hard to know how to fix it though , maybe it should be held in the home of the champions from now on and just have a buffet type social or would this upset a MAFL member who loves the Welcome Inn people ? Don't know ?
    Manfred, Your club do one and by all accounts it is a good night not a money making night but good craic all the same I am led to believe. Maybe ye might led the way !!!! Afterall the fat controller is a cute country whore who does f*** all wrong to ye !!!!

646 Posts
    ''The FAI appeal board rejects the appeal of Castlebar Celtic FC.The Connaught FA was correct in deeming Ciaran Kelly ineligible for Castlebar v Snugboro''

Well that settles it then. It seems like we have now got to go to the top table in Irish Football to get away from the narrow-minded, back-scratching, shenanigans we are so used to in Mayo. I, for one, have had my fair share of appeals down through the years (mostly appeals for me to stay away from people!) and I've never seen them get it wrong up in Merrion Sqaure.

Rest easy lads, the FAI have our backs.

Does that mean that the 'Boro are awarded the tie or will Il Duce step in and get celtic a replay?

What odds the second option?

Oscar Traynor

I think whoever the mayo manager is this year should start looking at exceptional players outside the super league for a change.

Alot of the so called mayo players are c**p but because they play for celtic or manulla they get the call up.

Some premier division players and division 1 players should be given a chance!!

Same applies to the U-21's which was a shambles last year!!

What now Manfred ? Do you think they should appeal to UEFA, ah sure skip all that, maybe an appeal straight to FIFA. Guess what though, they would still be found to be at fault.

replay

Regardless of the result of the FAI, the ruling of the Connacht FA was that the Snugboro Celtic tie be replayed. Date fixed is December 12 i think. To be fair to Celtic they were unaware that Kelly was illegal, the Mayo League told them he was legal. They are victims too

Quote Originally Posted by OscarBravo
    Regardless of the result of the FAI, the ruling of the Connacht FA was that the Snugboro Celtic tie be replayed. Date fixed is December 12 i think. To be fair to Celtic they were unaware that Kelly was illegal, the Mayo League told them he was legal. They are victims too
    Ahem, bo**o*Ks.

Do you seriously believe that the head of the Mayo FA and the upper echelons of Celtic are not joined at the hip (or the lips to the a**e)?

Get real my friend. it's been going on for ages. they'd tell you your name was 'Right Said Fred' if they thought they'd get away with it.

gnasher

Hold on just a second mate, do not try to make me out to be naive.
    I realise fully that Celtic have got the benefit of the Mayo League in the past but I think any club that is told that a player is legal will play him.
    I don't think you are right in saying that Celtic and the Mayo League tried to swindle this together. I think you will find the main reason why Mr Quigley wanted Ciaran Kelly signed (clearly the nature of his manourves around July 31 were indicative of a man who wanted Kelly to sign more than would be the norm for a league chairman) was not for the purposes of Castlebar Celtic, but rather for his beloved Mayo team in the Oscar Traynor. Kelly would have to be signed for Celtic before he could play for Mayo so I think this is where the ineundo rests and not with a Celtic/Quigley joined at the hip blah blah blah
    Last edited by OscarBravo; 24/11/2005 at 2:20 PM. Reason: typo

51 Posts
    What about this donegal who beat mayo 2-1 in oscar .... cup got the a*** well and then donegal got truly beaten in galway by galway 5-1, another bad year for mayo, they have to beat defences forces next wednesday night and then beat galway (not a chance) to progress.

Quote Originally Posted by OscarBravo
    Hold on just a second mate, do not try to make me out to be naive.
    I realise fully that Celtic have got the benefit of the Mayo League in the past but I think any club that is told that a player is legal will play him.
    I don't think you are right in saying that Celtic and the Mayo League tried to swindle this together. I think you will find the main reason why Mr Quigley wanted Ciaran Kelly signed (clearly the nature of his manourves around July 31 were indicative of a man who wanted Kelly to sign more than would be the norm for a league chairman) was not for the purposes of Castlebar Celtic, but rather for his beloved Mayo team in the Oscar Traynor. Kelly would have to be signed for Celtic before he could play for Mayo so I think this is where the ineundo rests and not with a Celtic/Quigley joined at the hip blah blah blah
    No need to get so upset Oscar. I was just giving my opinion, if you don't rate it then have a think before you go loony and put me in the subject line. Fair enough if his motives were as you say, our opinions differ. Maybe you know more than me about it, who really cares anyway. If our 'leader' wanted the keeper to play for the OT team then it just shows how far he'll bend the rules to keep inflating the ego. What about the classy 'Boro keeper who should be the OT goalie? Oh yeah, he does'nt play for Celtic, and whoa, he's not a big-head who has to try to take the ball around the advancing striker in the last minute of the game because his ego is also inflated having played and failed in the Eircom League, leaving the 'beloved' Mayo OT team sh*t out of luck. I guess it happens. The sooner these mercenaries ski-daddle out of the MAFL I'll be happy. Is it Athlone Town there off to?, bottom of the Eircom First Divison, classy!

I'm not calling you naive my friend, I'm allowed to say what I have to. It's not like your reputation (??) was tarnished by my post. Get over it.

With Celtic winning yesterday does this mean that they will have to play Erris again in a replay because of KellyGate scandal

51 Posts
    Lads,
    So we have four good teams into Round 5 after the weekend; Westport Utd, Castlebar Celtic, Manulla and Ballyheane. its good for Mayo soccer, lets hope they can get all home draws tomorrow when draw is made in Dublin.

Also congrats to S+F Utd as they advance to last 32 in Connacht Cup. rest of connacht cup this weekend coming, some great games on show.

Page 34 of 60 FirstFirst ... 24323334353644 ... LastLast