Thread: Limerick FC Open Hour

I have to say it was patetically poorly organised. Nothing that was promised came through. Was it you Joesoap who was organising it? I hope not cause I don't see the (dis)organiser of that event hanging on for much longer...
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Manager Noel O’Connor will introduce his backroom staff to the press and public and the final squad for the season will also be announced. The all-new home strip will be unveiled, together with details of the clubs fixtures for the season.
    The main objective of the hour was to get people to meet the players and management, and for the new kit to be shown. The fixtures are readily available for everyone to see, and details of the Shamrock Rovers friendly haven't been fully confirmed yet due to the fact that Rovers are in Spain on a training camp and these details aren't fully ironed out yet.I'm not prepared to announce fixtures that aren't 100% in the bag.

The new kit wasn't ready , plain and simple. Not making any excuses, it just didn't arrive from the manufacturers. We were expecting it to be there, but its not fully ready yet, so I apologise for any inconvenience that was caused. I explained this to suporters club members there face to face and at the time my apology and explanation was accepted, so either that acceptance was false and just to appease me, or something has happened in the meantime??

The squad was there, and the backroom staff and new U-21 manager was also there, and everyone was free to mingle with them. The whole point of the hour was that it was to be friendly and casual, something I think it was. Local radio, The Post, The Echo and The Sun were there on the day with live links broadcast on Live 95FM.

I'm still on a learning curve with this, as are most of the new people involved with the club. I probably will make more mistakes, but I'll also try my best to continue raising the profile of this club wherever I can, and I think we currently have our highest media profile in many years. I can't satisfy everyone, but am perfectly happy with the way things are progressing. Any advice or suggestions will be gratefully accepted. PM them or email me.

Pat.

Some were unable to make it. There is no club website so this forum really is the only way to find out what is going on at the club. Because of this can we get the squad posted?
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

2005 Squad

The website is currently being sorted, and will be available shortly. The full squad and management for 2005 is as follows:

Manager: Noel O'Connor
    Assistant Manager: Aidan Ryan
    First Team Coach: Declan Farmer
    Club Physio: Barry Heffernan.

Playing Squad 2005

Noel Mooney, John Healy.

Stephen O'Mahoney, Paul Finnucane, Anthony Woulfe, Paul Tobin, Michael Aherne, Frank Browne, Timmy Lynch.

Brendan Hughes, Chris Kearns, Darren Young, Brian Donnellan, Ross Cosgrave, Conor Molan, David Ryan, Tommy Barrett, Jamie Nolan, Eoin Conlon.

Derek McCarthy, John-Paul Stokes, Colin O'Brien, Robbie Kelliher.
    Last edited by joeSoap; 08/03/2005 at 8:44 AM.

It is a very impressive looking squad. I think the worries posted here by some about who had signed and who hadn't have been dealt with. Fair play to the new owners and the management for putting together what seems to be a solid squad for the season. Of course there are a few I would like to have seen in there - Kulsten, Fyffe, Sugrue, Conway, and maybe even Warren and Sweeney - but all told it is hard to complain.

And we must be one of the very few first division clubs with a full international - Darren Young of NZ.

The good thing is that we seem to have cover in each position. Lets just hope we avoid an injury crisis like last season.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    Kerry blue well done for travelling from ballyb with all YOUR kids there all yours dont be lieing lol
    I don't know who you met from Ballyb, but it certainly wasn't me!
    I wasn't there!
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Kerry blue well done for travelling from ballyb with all YOUR kids there all yours dont be lieing lol [/QUOTE]Gael, 1. I'm not from Ballybunion and 2. all those kids are not all mine, I know, cause I've seen their birth certs, although..........one of them looks remarkably like you, can you account for your movements about 12 years ago.....you sly old dog.
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

Quote Originally Posted by Kerry Blue
    According to Shamrock Rovers official website the match is taking place next Saturday, March 12th with a 7.00pm kick-off. The venue is to be confirmed but the match will be played in Limerick.
    The website shows its on 11th March 7.30pm K.O?????????
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

Quote Originally Posted by Kerry Blue
    I don't know who you met from Ballyb, but it certainly wasn't me!
    I wasn't there!
    Don't worry about it Kerry Blue, I think Gael is getting you confused with me, By the way Gael, 2 of the 4 are mine the others, bear a striking resembelance to you.........you sly old dog you.

Quote Originally Posted by Westside
    The website shows its on 11th March 7.30pm K.O?????????
    When I checked it, it showed the match fixed for Saturday. I see that it's changed now. I think Rovers were in Spain away from the cold weather. Now they've returned I presume that they have confirmed that the match is on Friday at 7.30pm. But does anyone know where?
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Addition to the squad....see above...Eoin Conlon from Cobh.

Rovers game fixed for Hogan Park next Friday night at 7.30pm.

not for me thanks

sorry lads i am sorry for mixing ye up! But westside if your trying to lob your kids onto othr guys once more i tell ye! Sorry too to you Joe its just i was a bit busy getting pics and getting question thingies filled in by the players. I still think ye should have a had a room booked out and each plaers introduced to the fans one by one and then let them get to know each other not us just going "and who might you be", "i'm Colin O'Brien" etc but in hindsight maybe thats what makes up such great supporters the way we can do everything. Dont call any more press things though from now on, just push the Rovers game and let anyone who wants to see the new gear (if its arrived) can come up to that one to see it. Will cars be allowed park in hogan park on Friday?

Absolute rubbish about the club having it's best media presence in years at last Saturday's event.

The most publicity the club has had in recent memory has been as a result of the Supporters' Club, especially the work of Gael 353. The media turnout last weekend was pathetic, lets not fool ourselves that it was anything else but that.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."

Quote Originally Posted by deise deserter
    Absolute rubbish about the club having it's best media presence in years at last Saturday's event.

The most publicity the club has had in recent memory has been as a result of the Supporters' Club, especially the work of Gael 353. The media turnout last weekend was pathetic, lets not fool ourselves that it was anything else but that.
    I never said that last Saturdays event had the clubs best media presence in years.What I said was that the club currently enjoys a higher media PROFILE than it has done in many years, and that is a fact. I have plenty of time for the members of the supporters club, and am grateful for all its good work, especially those who pm me, or ask me FACE TO FACE about these issues, not shrivel up behind the security of a computer screen, and criticise. You had ample opportunity to criticise me on Saturday, but chose not to, but choose to from behind your screen.That to me is weak, cowardly and pathetic.

In future, please be man enough like some others in the SC, and confront any issues you might have with me directly, as I'm not going to start going down the road of petty squabbling amongst ourselves on this forum.

Grow up.
    Last edited by joeSoap; 10/03/2005 at 2:12 PM.

Will cars be allowed park in hogan park on Friday?
    Supervised parking available in the TBA / Heatmerchants car park over the road.

Grow Up?

Great PR work. A criticism of something that was badly organised by you and you moronically attack the people who turned up. I did speak to you on Saturday. I asked you about the jerseys, you grunted and walked away. I hope your employers can add that mark to your card too.

I'm afraid I don't need to grow up. Maybe you should grow up and realise that your obvious inability to organise a media event last weekend for a club that has the POTENTIAL to have it's biggest media profile in decades shows either:
    (a) You don't know how to do the job.
    (b) You think that the bare minumum is enough to justify your paycheck.

If you do a bad job you will be criticised, just in the same way you criticised others last year. If you don't like being criticised DO YOUR JOB PROPERLY or quit.

I did speak to you on Saturday. I asked you about the jerseys, you grunted and walked away. I hope your employers can add that mark to your card too..
    I never grunted at anyone, as Trevor and JohnD and Damien will verify. I said the jerseys weren't ready, and apologised.Nobody else seems to have issues with this.

I'm afraid I don't need to grow up. ..
    So you should be...

Maybe you should grow up and realise that your obvious inability to organise a media event last weekend for a club that has the POTENTIAL to have it's biggest media profile in decades shows either:
    (a) You don't know how to do the job.
    (b) You think that the bare minumum is enough to justify your paycheck..
    Last week wasn't just a media event...it was an 'open' event. I won't attempt to outline the difference to you. Maybe I don't know how to do the job...maybe I should leave it to real experts like you.

And there is no 'paycheck'....

If you do a bad job you will be criticised, just in the same way you criticised others last year. If you don't like being criticised DO YOUR JOB PROPERLY or quit.
    I have no problem with criticism, providing its constructive, and theres a point to it. Please feel free to advise me on how to better things and I'll certainly give them a go......

Dont call any more press things though from now on, just push the Rovers game and let anyone who wants to see the new gear (if its arrived) can come up to that one to see it. Will cars be allowed park in hogan park on Friday?
    This is directed at Joe Soap, with regard to pushing LFC. Does the club have 95FM on side in terms of plugging,the up and coming games for this season.Its the voice of the masses and if we got 1/4 of the air play that Munster Rugby does then it would only benefit the club long term.

Quote Originally Posted by Westside
    This is directed at Joe Soap, with regard to pushing LFC. Does the club have 95FM on side in terms of plugging,the up and coming games for this season.Its the voice of the masses and if we got 1/4 of the air play that Munster Rugby does then it would only benefit the club long term.
    Yes we do...Leonard Burke will be doing live feeds from all home games, and the possibility of full commentary into some of the more important ones as the season progresses is being considered.

Joesoap:
    Well done on another waste of space post. If you don't mind constructive criticism why are you over-reacting when it is given? Well done on throwing abuse at an SC officer who will be meeting you face-to-face on many occassions over the year. I will be having a chat with certain people tonight as to you behaviour in this thread. I know that a good working relationship is wanted by those running the club. They have put a lot of time and money into this venture. PR is very important and that event last weekend was worse than JP's one last year. By half-running events you will compound the lack of professionalism that has existed in the club until the end of last season. Those running the new show are anything but incompetent, and last weekend's fiasco reflected badly on them, tainting them with an air of incompetency that they don't deserve.

As for you calling me an "expert," I'm no expert. That said last week I launched my debut album. The media (local & national - papers, radio and magazines) presence there was significantly higher than last weekend's "open" day. And don't forget I'm no expert. I just thought that someone who is doing the job should have some sembelance of expertise.

If you want to talk some sense pop up and have a chat with me this evening at the game - but only do it if you want an adult conversation, no more childish tantrums please.