McCarthy shouldn't have been called up. It's madness.
Everton has reason to be cautious with McCarthy's health.
We quite frankly, don't. It's make or break and he's our best midfielder -- if he can participate effectively in a full-field scrimmage with his teammates, it's worth giving him some time against Moldova -- maybe an hour -- and if he comes through that well then start him against Wales.
I'll take an 80 percent McCarthy if our medical staff and the player himself feel that's he able to play.
Take 80 per cent McCarthy.
You've obviously never gone through an off season trying to get your fitness and then your match fitness?
McCarthy shouldn't even be there. I like the lad - good player and dedicated to the cause, but as much as I have criticised Everton and sided with us over the last year, I agree with Koeman on this one.
And how does one get their match fitness up then? Moldova could be ideal, if he has reached that point of his recovery. If not, obviously don't consider him.
Don't consider him. He hasn't kicked a ball competitively. He just isn't match fit, and, not his fault as I'm sure he's glad to be there, but the fault of O'Neill for even including him.
And think of the kick in the teeth it would give to the player who misses out (Meyler maybe? Or Hourihane?)
Wes doesn't seem to have the stamina for two international games on the trot, so he should be conserved for Cardiff. Friday night's game is one game where I would actually defend O'Neill not starting Wes. We should have enough to break down Moldova without him. If not, we can always bring him on at some point in the second half, but starting him would be foolish and wasteful, in my opinion.
In saying that, I can see O'Neill selecting both Wes and McCarthy from the start on Friday night. It's hard to see how McCarthy could be match-fit though and I'd have serious reservations over starting a player who hasn't played in months and who might be half or three-quarters fit ahead of others who are 100 per cent. Maybe O'Neill could give McCarthy a bit of time towards the end of the Moldova game to ease him back into action and see how he gets on (if he's fit enough for even that). It may be possible to get a better judge of whether or not he'd be ready for Wales off the back of that. Personally, I'm not sure how he could be ready though and I certainly wouldn't be throwing him in from the start on Friday night. Then again, I'm not the team doctor, but O'Neill has misjudged things before with McCarthy when he had him down to start against Wales back in March before the player pulled up in the pre-match warm-up and missed the game.
I got the impression that Whelan was "phased out" during the last round of games. Meyler came in and did well; even O'Neill was talking about Whelan being an ageing player in a post-match interview, or something to that effect, if memory serves me right. Maybe someone can remember that in greater detail? I don't think Whelan will start again for Ireland if the likes of McCarthy, Arter and Meyler are fit, although he might sneak in on Friday night due to the others' injury troubles.
The trouble about that line of thought is that unless we take 3 points on Friday, then Monday may be irrelevant. I think you have to play your best side in all games, no matter who the opposition is and worry about the next one when the time comes. It's not as if we're Germany and are guaranteed a win even if we play a reserve side. We don't have a Robbie Keane in the side so goals may be an issue. Play Wes and IF we get two ahead, he can be taken off. Otherwise, I think he has to start.
Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.
Not necessarily. We could lose to Moldova and it wouldn't change much for us so long as Wales also fail to beat Georgia. As I explained in another thread:
That's not to say I'd be banking on Wales failing to beat Georgia away, although it's very possible. I just think we'd have enough to win three points against Moldova at home without Wes anyway.
Match fitness won't return in 3 days. If anything it'll take him longer to recover from his first game back, unless he only plays 30 mins or so.
I'm getting more and more frustrated when I hear O'neill speak recently. HIs attitude has changed completely in the last month. He should have fcuken been this positive ages ago.
Failure to make the play-offs is purely down to him, and his hail mary football, relying on a player to pull him and us out of tight corners. He reminds me of the shy lad who waits all night for his mate to go over and chat a few birds and then lauds the thing when it all works out in the end. Well yer mate is sick and he hasn't been in the form to bail ye out Martin.
We should be talking about prospects about who we could get in the play-offs or even possibly topping at this point in time, Serbia slipping up in a game they are expected to win cos they are nervous. We should be criticising oneills friendlys, both teams selected to play against, teams selected to play, players not played and performances. We should be giving out that he never took them seriously and now we are going to be unseeded again for a play-off. These are all the things we should be talking about going into the penultimate match.
We should not be talking about Martin happy out expecting an extension and that we have a whole load more season tickets sold. Well don't martin ye know about season tickets sold but ye haven't a clue about points we needed all along to qualify or how important international friendlies are in this day and age....:grindteeth:
So if we beat Moldova and Wales draw away to Georgia tomorrow, is there any chance that a draw against Wales would be enough to get us into the play-off?
Doesn't matter, if Wales win and we draw, you said take all 3 points, not including the draw. How many points for the draw?! We'd still only be 3 behind and if we beat wales we would surpass them. It would be enough because our points against Moldova would be discounted anyway.