Thread: Tv's Worst Pundits?

Thumbs down Tv's Worst Pundits?

Heard Eamon Dunphy on Newstalk saying that the English pundits are the worst in the world, in fairness to him i actually enjoy Dunphy and Giles these days compared to BBC and Sky... My choice for the worst pundit is Peter Schmeichel , great keeper, but the guy is muck on tv. Anyone agree or have there own opinions on the worst?

Giles, Chippy & Eamo are great to watch with Bill trying to play them off against one another. They see things in games that I would never think of.

I have to agree with Eamo, most of the Sky/ITV/RTE/TV3 & BBC commentators are crap:

RTE
    Beglin - good with George, use to like him & Tylesdley on ITV CL.My Favourite colour commentator
    Houghton - Tries too hard to be contreversial

BBC
    Hansen - As good as any pundit
    Lawrenson - To many sh*t jokes with Motson
    Mark Bright, Schmeichel - Rubbish

ITV
    Ally McCoist - Concentrates to hard on trying to be funny
    Andy Townsend - What type of fridge is it?
    Venables - single minded english blindness syndrome

Sky
    Andy Gray - Good but thinks the premiership is the be all & end all, ref baits too much
    Alan Smith - Get some elocution lessons
    Brian Marwood - Exagerates too much, ref baiter
    Tony Cottee - Annoying, horrible accent
    Niall Quinn - Talks to much, too nice

I like some of the older guys that do Soccer Saturday

TV3
    Toshack - Only in it for the money
    Lawrenson - Doesn't try as hard with the jokes, has a clue
    Frank - Is frank and frank is frank is frank
    The opinions expressed above are not those of my family, my church or myself,
    but they are the opinions of Humphrey Bogart as revealed to me through the medium of my pet hamster, Dr.Samuel L. Jackson

Peter Reid is woeful. Mark Wright way too biased for england to pundit (is that verb?)

not a pundit but jeff stelling is a legend ,
    also with sky rob mccaffrey and guillem balague are very good .
    gotta say i like dunphy as a pundit same with most of the irish guys except johnny giles never liked him for some reason

199 Posts
    I can't stand Rodney Marsh and Eamon Dunphy

Is it only me but does Packie Bonner look totally uncomfortable with his job at tv3? I agree that Bill O'H is a little creep of a man but he's a familiar part of the furniture now so its ok, who's that other really stern serious looking guy on tv3 or maybe Rte?.. He looks like he'd fight you for a fiver!..never smiles or shows any emotion whats so ever.

112 Posts
    Least favourite, Venables. hate especailly during when ITV shows Champions league coverage, a little box in the corner comes up when Terry in the studio says something 'important', Managers View... eh Terry, if your that good why are you managing a cartoon strip side in the Sun and not a Premiership side. U fecked up Palace and Australia so get off your high horse... Anyway on to my favourtie, Chris Kamara! His enthusiasm is infectious and Jeff Stelling is a legend with the witty banter and one-liners...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by what biy!
    what bout that plonker TREVOR WELSH. totally useless.

i think brady is very good.

but the funniest must be the rugby lads on RTE. brent pope and tom mcgruik(i think) are brilliant taking the **** out of george hook. i love it when hook says to the lads "let me finish, please". u can actually see his blood boiling in his face.
    Agree. The rugby boys on RTE are definitely the best

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kowalski
    Giles, Chippy & Eamo are great to watch with Bill trying to play them off against one another.
    So John , Eamonn was saying that you're a bit of a big girls blouse? Haw? well John what do you have to say about that? Ye fecker.

They see things in games that I would never think of.
    Thats cause you used to play for Crumlin....

Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

20 Posts
    It took ages for someone to mention Wright. He was painful to watch but has one good tv moment

Post match analysis of Ireland 1 Germany 1 in WC 2002
    Roughly goes...
    Wright: You were creaming when you saw that
    Lineker: You said dreaming didn't you

And before you ask I was in Scotland so couldn't watch it on RTE.

Glad to see the back of him but given the propensity for stations to hire bad pundits and his other successful (yet dire) TV escapades why was he fired?
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

144 Posts
    Ray "Rant" Houghton - god awful.
    Schmeichel is woeful, hasn't a clue.

Packie Bonner is the worst presenter of a show that there is, the man has no personaility whatsoever.
    Don't like Terry Butcher on 5Live either,

On the positive side
    For analysis during the games Jimmy Armfield on 5Live is about as good as it gets. Also over the last while Graham Taylor has been excellent.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

as entertainment:
    Dunphy
    Giles
    Brady

unbeatable combo entertainment wise

for actual knowledge of the game that you might learn something from:

Toshack
    Brady
    Giles (not on tv - his newstalk stuff - he gets more time and its superb)

for knowledge of the actual football scene and ability to know current players names:

Toshack
    Brady
    Graham Hunter

unbeatable on la liga:

Hunter
    phill ball
    sid lowe

and the dregs: packie bonner, linekar, anyone on ITV or who has ever appeared on ITV for that matter - previous form does implicate you with the guilty - venables mccoist et al. and last but not least mr dour : alan hansen - idiot oh and ray houghton - state the obvious bloke
    Last edited by wws; 01/03/2005 at 12:39 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    unbeatable on la liga:

Hunter
    phill ball
    sid lowe
    Have never heard Phil Ball, but read one of his books called Morbo.Its a great read.

30 Posts
    Anyone remember Matthew Lorenzo and Elton Welsby.
    Think they were on ITV when they had the english league coverage.
    Never liked either of them

gerry armstrong on sky's la liga coverage is pretty good... and damien richardson is always good value, even if you do need a dictionary next to ya when he's talking...
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

The best would have to be the rugby boys on rte. Worst would be Houghton, Stapleton & Tony Catch-a-rhino

Noel King
    Frank Stapleton
    Niall Quinn
    Ray Houghton (crap on Sportstalk too)
    Ronnie Whelan
    Jim Beglin (thought I'd escaped him when I left Granada region tele)
    Gary Lineker
    Steven Gerrard was brutal the other week for the FA Cup game.

Worst had to be Elton "the evertonian" Welsby - good call Ash. Remember he once said that "not many people get their name sung by the Stretford End" - most people would prefer it if it wasn't accompanied by "you're a wánker".

250 Posts
    gordon mcqueen
    champagne charlie nicholas
    jim beglin

Quote Originally Posted by Kowalski
    Sky
    Andy Gray - Good but thinks the premiership is the be all & end all, ref baits too much
    Andy Gray knows his stuff alright, he's normally very astute, but it irritates me the way he's such a massive Anglophile: "As English as Finchley"!

I hate Dunphy. He's an arrogant drunkard with an enormous chip on his shoulder.