View Poll Results: Were the City players right to go to the papers about training facilities?

Voters
88. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes.

13 14.77%
  • It would be better if they hadn't but they had no choice.

14 15.91%
  • I can see why they did, but it wasn't the right thing to do

23 26.14%
  • No.

35 39.77%
  • Unsure

3 3.41%
Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast

Thread: Players In Stand off

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    lads a group of us got together to see if tehre was anything we could do
    we're goin to try and raise funds by selling this tshirt

only 10 euro

every cent raised will go straight to into programmes to provide basic
    training facilities for impoverished professional footballers in the
    cork area
    http://homepage.eircom.net/%7ESEI/2005/WELL.jpg
    why did i laugh at something wws did
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Its ridiculous, Dolan wanting to spend money like its going out of fashion and Lennox holding the purse strings tightly, rightly.
    You can't have everything and land costs serious money these days so training facilities would be fairly expensive.
    If Lennox turned around tomorrow and said sh@g the lot of ye i'm out of here, where would we be then?
    agree. and who could blame him if he did.

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    lads a group of us got together to see if tehre was anything we could do
    we're goin to try and raise funds by selling this tshirt

only 10 euro

every cent raised will go straight to into programmes to provide basic
    training facilities for impoverished professional footballers in the
    cork area
    http://homepage.eircom.net/%7ESEI/2005/WELL.jpg
    would anyone like to thank Pat Dolan for making a laughing stock out of our club. Well done Pat.

126 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    well if he hasnt got it,he cant run a football club
    If he leaves, corner, who'll take over? He's managing to keep the club going on his own cause he doesn't want to see City go down.

If he did pack up and go, CCFC would be no more, you have to think realistically - we'd all love to be in a position to buy tons of players.

522 Posts
    I just don't see it meself. I think both Lennox and Dolan have done more for City since they appeared on the scene than the previous owners did in what, 4/5 years? More?

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta
    I just don't see it meself. I think both Lennox and Dolan have done more for City since they appeared on the scene than the previous owners did in what, 4/5 years? More?

true, but neither side has been perfect and its their insistance to let things come to a head that has caused this.

i just by the end of the season we have qualified for europe and we have a amiable chairman, manager and players.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

522 Posts
    Nobody's perfect, and there will always be personality clashes in organisations the size of a football club. What I'd love to know here is what prompted the players to go to the press. Did they seriously attempt to address the issues they're highlighting via all possible regular channels first, or did they ask a couple of times and fly to the press when they didn't get their way. I'm not jumping to conclusions btw, I'd seriously love to know. I doubt I ever will though.

Here's another question, if it's been answered earlier then fair enough, just point me at that: What's the alternative, what's the solution? If there's another location available, why hasn't Lennox gone with it? Is there a perfectly valid reason perhaps?

Last edited by dahamsta; 27/02/2005 at 5:06 PM.

Next time I have to merge a thread on this subject I'm banning the person responsible.

Time to put a few moderators on the transfer list?
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Here's another question, if it's been answered earlier then fair enough, just point me at that: What's the alternative, what's the solution? If there's another location available, why hasn't Lennon gone with it? Is there a perfectly valid reason perhaps?
    The club stated quite some time ago that they wanted to sort out training facilities. I imagine that is still the case. But there just isn't the money there at the moment. There is no viable alternative at the moment.

I think that after tonight's BRB, its fairly obvious that someone orchestrated the 4 players speaking to the different papers, as it looks like MOST of the players were taken by surprise.
    I personally think Dolan is behind all this sh*t-stirring, and now the man who can't keep his mouth shut for 2 minutes is all of a sudden struck dumb.
    Dolan would want to have a long hard look at himself, because if he tries any of the sh*t with Cork City that he tried up in SPA, he can f*ck right off pronto.
    DO YOU JOB DOLAN, AND LESS OF THE BULLSH*T......

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    I think that after tonight's BRB, its fairly obvious that someone orchestrated the 4 players speaking to the different papers, as it looks like MOST of the players were taken by surprise.
    I personally think Dolan is behind all this sh*t-stirring, and now the man who can't keep his mouth shut for 2 minutes is all of a sudden struck dumb.
    Dolan would want to have a long hard look at himself, because if he tries any of the sh*t with Cork City that he tried up in SPA, he can f*ck right off pronto.
    DO YOU JOB DOLAN, AND LESS OF THE BULLSH*T......
    Very well said patsh. couldn't agree more. Unfortunately I think the situation has gone too far at this stage, unless Dolan comes clean and promises to get on with his job very soon.

The fans interviewed on Red FM

Was that all random or were the fans selected?

c'mon eanna most of us knew from the start anyway that dolan had something to do with it....but the players arent muppets and wouldnt have done it if they didnt want to

im for dolan 100%

c'mon eanna most of us knew from the start anyway that dolan had something to do with it....
    If Dolan WAS behind it, he has to go. No question, no way back.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    If Dolan WAS behind it, he has to go. No question, no way back.
    your entitled to your opinion

would you do everythin you were told by your boss if u didnt agree with it... i certainly wouldnt but if u wanna be somebodies puppet........fair enough

the players wouldnt do something that they didnt want to

would you do everythin you were told by your boss if u didnt agree with it
    No I wouldn't. I would either talk to my boss about it and try and sort it out, or else look for another job. I wouldn't take the Pat Dolan approach which seems to be whinging to everyone about it, get others to whinge about it for you and then when the boss offers you a meeting, not turn up.

No I wouldn't. I would either talk to my boss about it and try and sort it out, .
    well from what i can see, pat and the players went on numerous occasions

really?

really?
    yes.............

Care to expand on that Corner???
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast