Page 31 of 39 FirstFirst ... 212930313233 ... LastLast

Thread: Eurovision Uberthread

176 Posts
    Dustin finished 16th with 22 points, finishing behind Andorra who got 22 points overall but with 12 points received which put them ahead of us. Dustin's highest points were 7 from Estonia.

God only knows where the Russians will put it on next year. If they want to be really nasty, they can put it on in Vladivostok.

Congratulations to Norway, the one Western European country who scored well and showed RTE what can be done.

3,491 Posts
    And Ireland vote 8-10-12 for UK, Poland and Latvia, who were second last, last and lower mid table at the time respectively.

Public voting has turned the Eurovision into a farce, but it's not going to stop while there's a few million people ringing phone lines and paying money.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Eurovision was popular here until we started winning a few times in a row.
    ...It's tragically still popular here. It may have been more popular, I dunno I don't have the stats, but that was probably because it was more of a formal gown cabaret and less of a Fuertaventura karaoke. It also nearly bankrupted the national broadcaster.

The begrudgery in us couldn't handle it, so we wanted to go back to mediocrity, this was further aided by Wogan's trashing of every performance every year.
    ...nnnnnnnnnnnnno ...that would be because the songs that won it were sh1te, very annoying and never off the radio (and yet STILL couldn't forge a sustainable career for any of those involved in them).

I suspect a bloody decent percentage wouldn't tune in at all but FOR Wogan. It'd be interesting to see what percentage of the ROI viewership actually watched BBCs coverage rather than our own. That's why RTE now has Marty Whelan apeing him on their broadcast.

The rewards for winning are massive. For the singer, european and global opportunities for their career...
    I've previously dealt with the Irish winners but I'll just add that Linda Martin has stated that winning Eurovision had a "huge effect on her career". She further explained that it meant she could make the leap from playing weddings to "corporate events". Note ...no record sales, no record deals, no tours. BUT she could charge an extra grand to play Dells staff Xmas dinner do in the Greenhills.

Now -of the people who have won it since Eimear Quinn (living in Cavan and all but out of the game) a career trajectory of the winners would make some reading I'd say. I have seen exactly one -exactly once - on a TV screen since ...Dana International on Eurotrash at about 1AM a year or so after Israel won ...oh and I read an article on Lordi in kerrang.

The rewards for winning are massive. ....for the country, the honour of hosting the event, and on the week itself, a financial windfall for those in the local travel and retail industry. That's why the likes of Armenia and Azerbaijan enter it.
    Then, quite logically, make Bord Failte, the Chamber of Commerce and IBEC pay for and run the ****er.

Our attitude is "choose a gobshy, and feed him to the wolves" Then we complain about the voting, having used the same procedure to choose our own artist. Iceland, Norway and Portugal have made the final, we haven't. There's enough talent in our country for it to be the other way around.
    I sincerely hope the genuinely talented people in this country continue to give the thing the wide berth they traditionally have done and leave it to the cabaret acts and wedding bands that have traditionally gone for it.

Congratulations to Norway, the one Western European country who scored well and showed RTE what can be done. .
    I'd sooner RTE went in the direction of Austria and Italy for an excellent example of what can be done. I wonder if Royaume Uni will up stumps after poor auld Andys treatment ...tut tut ...you send a soulful black guy to do a soul-less white guys job...

" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

112 Posts
    Have to say, I love Wogan's commentary but hate his use of the word 'we' for UK. His commentary and sarcasm is spot on, but sometimes I really wish he'd remember where he came from. And the UK entry was just awful, but nowhere near the worst. That Spanish entry was the pits as was Bosnia's but they got voted by their neighbours a lot. Just wondering which are the worst culprits for bloc voting, Scandinavian, Balkans, or ex Russian states?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

3,491 Posts
    He's on the BBC; he uses "we" the same way Lawrenson does. He never denies his Irishness.

Would be fun to compare Eurovision votes to percentage of immigrants in each country.

112 Posts
    Would be fun to compare Eurovision votes to percentage of immigrants in each country.
    That would be interesting alright. The Poles getting the 10 points from us shows much our country has changed. Germany gives a lot of votes to Turkey and vice versa because of the amount of Turkish immigrants there. Anyone else feel a bit ashamed of our choice of announcer for the Irish votes. Think Dustin should have done it for the craic. Niamh Kavanagh was not good. And not pretty compared to some of the european announcers. Caroline Morahan would have done a fine job!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

http://esctoday.com/news/read/12003

The top 5 if only votes from Western Europe were considered:

1. Greece - 96 points
    2. Armenia - 93 points
    3. Norway - 92 points
    4. Ukraine - 84 points
    5. Russia - 83 points

The top 5 if only votes from countries that qualified for the final are considered:

1. Russia - 142
    2. Ukraine - 137
    3. Norway - 127
    4. Armenia - 116
    5. Greece - 108

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    I dunno...but...logically, make Bord Failte, the Chamber of Commerce and IBEC pay for and run the ****er. It also nearly bankrupted the national broadcaster.
    That tired whinge is only 15 years outdated.

The state broadcaster pays only 50% of the cost now, hence why RTE try harder than it used to. The rest of it is paid by A2, TVE, ARD, and BBC. Given how much profit RTE now make every year, they can easily cover 50% of the cost.

How do you think RTS, NTU, ETV and the other Eastern bloc broadcasters are able to host it??

...nnnnnnnnnnnnno ...that would be because the songs that won it were sh1te, very annoying and never off the radio (and yet STILL couldn't forge a sustainable career for any of those involved in them).
    Most songs on the radio today are American/British Rap, and totally shyte.

I suspect a bloody decent percentage wouldn't tune in at all but FOR Wogan. It'd be interesting to see what percentage of the ROI viewership actually watched BBCs coverage rather than our own. That's why RTE now has Marty Whelan apeing him on their broadcast.
    I watch the BBC's coverage, but their coverage in general is better than RTE's, not just in Eurovision. Also BBC's commentators for the semis sound as if they know their stuff, unlike Wogan.

I've previously dealt with the Irish winners but I'll just add that Linda Martin has stated that winning Eurovision had a "huge effect on her career". She further explained that it meant she could make the leap from playing weddings to "corporate events". Note ...no record sales, no record deals, no tours. BUT she could charge an extra grand to play Dells staff Xmas dinner do in the Greenhills. I sincerely hope the genuinely talented people in this country continue to give the thing the wide berth they traditionally have done and leave it to the cabaret acts and wedding bands that have traditionally gone for it
    Linda Martin has also stated how Eurovision changed her career. Regular gigs from as far and wide as Iceland to Cyprus. Logan has chart success in the low countries and Scandinavia, among other places. The current champion is off on a post-contest parade, with visits to here among other places.

I'd sooner RTE went in the direction of Austria and Italy for an excellent example of what can be done. I wonder if Royaume Uni will up stumps after poor auld Andys treatment ...tut tut ...you send a soulful black guy to do a soul-less white guys job...
    Won't happen. After the usual whinge has blown over, the fact of the matter is the BBC need the Eurovision, and the Eurovision needs them. As indeed do RTE.

Only 51 more weeks to the next one lads....

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveyCakes View Post
    http://esctoday.com/news/read/12003

The top 5 if only votes from Western Europe were considered:

1. Greece - 96 points
    2. Armenia - 93 points
    3. Norway - 92 points
    4. Ukraine - 84 points
    5. Russia - 83 points

The top 5 if only votes from countries that qualified for the final are considered:

1. Russia - 142
    2. Ukraine - 137
    3. Norway - 127
    4. Armenia - 116
    5. Greece - 108

What is that supposed to show???

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Seems the countries with the most gas, or a pipeline running through it got the most votes

101 Posts
    Dustin finished 16th with 22 points, finishing behind Andorra who got 22 points overall but with 12 points received which put them ahead of us. Dustin's highest points were 7 from Estonia.
    We came 15th actually. They have changed the rules so that in the event of a tie, the country getting votes from the higher number of countries wins. The criteria of which country received the most twelves comes next.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

That tired whinge is only 15 years outdated.

The state broadcaster pays only 50% of the cost now, hence why RTE try harder than it used to.....
    That tired old whinge is as legit and sound today as it was 15 and 30 years ago. Let those who are speculating on supposed dividend front the cash for the thing privately.

Most songs on the radio today are American/British Rap, and totally shyte.
    Whataboutery ...from which I can reasonably conclude you don't contend that even the Irish winners songs were thin gruel at best that have not stood any test of time.

Linda Martin has also stated how Eurovision changed her career. Regular gigs from as far and wide as Iceland to Cyprus.
    Aw will you stop ...what's regular gigs? Whoring it round the cabaret circuit the week before Eurovision? She doesn't even have a website. You can't buy her stuff anywhere because it doesn't exist and never did. She was a presenter or whatever on the Lyrics board within a couple of years of winning the Eurovision.

Logan has chart success in the low countries and Scandinavia, among other places.
    You forgot Germany and Turkey. While a lot of his live work appears to be in the continental versions of Butlins he is, from an Irish perspective, probably the exception that makes the rule in terms of turning a Eurovision success into a career.

The current champion is off on a post-contest parade, with visits to here among other places.
    I look forward to his ticker tape parade, his appearance on TV3s Ireland AM and his instore at 2Euro.

He'll keep til this time next year after that and we'll see what a year he's had.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

176 Posts
    That tired old whinge is as legit and sound today as it was 15 and 30 years ago. Let those who are speculating on supposed dividend front the cash for the thing privately.

It seems that Serbia managed to take maximum advantage of the organisation of the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest but not only in terms of financial profit for the broadcaster and the city of Belgrade. The ultimate goal of the Serbian authorities and people was to show Europe the new face of the country and the organisers feel that this has been achieved as well.
    According to Aleksandar Tijanic, general director of the Serbian broadcaster, RTS spent 8,5 million euros for the event. The entire cost of the organisation was in the neighbourhood of 21 million euros. RTS was funded with 10 million euros from the Serbian government for HD equipment and the City of Belgrade invested 2 more million euros.

But what was Serbia actually looking for was not just to make a financial profit from organising the contest. The prevalent feeling was to show European press and public the modern, hospitable and friendly face of the country: "We took great care of the fund we had at our disposal. According to the latest data, RTS spent 8,5 million euros on the Eurovision Song Contest. However, Serbia's profit is over billion euros, the value of the fact that you turned 3 thousand bloodthirsty journalists into friends who glorified Belgrade during their 10-day-stay, seeing Serbians as friendly, cordial and hospitable European nation living eventful and passionate lives, speaking different languages, with good looks and decent behavior," Aleksandar Tijanic told Blic.

Between 11.000 to 15.000 of foreign fans and press members visited Serbia for the duration of the contest, many spending up to two weeks in the capital city, something that reasonable prices of accomodation, food and transport made possible. Although it is difficult to estimate the exact amount of income for the local businesses it could be said that it reaches tens of millions euro. "Belgrade hosted about 15,000 foreigners who spent much money in restaurants, cafes, hotels, but it is hard to estimate the exact sum. We have invested much money, but I think that the money also returned to Serbia. However, much more important is an incredible promotion that Serbia gained. All European countries recognized Belgrade as an excellent host, and our people as very hospitable.The image of our city is not the same anymore," Zoran Alimpic, Deputy Mayor of the City of Belgrade says to Blic.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    Have to say, I love Wogan's commentary but hate his use of the word 'we' for UK. His commentary and sarcasm is spot on, but sometimes I really wish he'd remember where he came from. And the UK entry was just awful, but nowhere near the worst. That Spanish entry was the pits as was Bosnia's but they got voted by their neighbours a lot. Just wondering which are the worst culprits for bloc voting, Scandinavian, Balkans, or ex Russian states?

ah jeez, where have you been for the last few years

by the way he has a british passport now so its no big deal

176 Posts
    I look forward to his ticker tape parade, his appearance on TV3s Ireland AM and his instore at 2Euro.

He'll keep til this time next year after that and we'll see what a year he's had.

Friday night, Eurovision Song Contest winner Dima Bilan performed on The Late Late Show in Ireland. The entire show, the last of this television season, had a light flavour of Eurovision related topics. the programme also featured one of the original Riverdance stars. The dance ensamble became famous worldwide after featuring as interval act at the 1994 Eurovision Song Contest.

At the beginning of the show, Dima performed his winning song Believe, together with violin player Edvin Marton.
    Last edited by mypost; 01/06/2008 at 4:46 AM.

71 Posts
    European countries recognized Belgrade as an excellent host, and our people as very hospitable.The image of our city is not the same anymore," Zoran Alimpic, Deputy Mayor of the City of Belgrade says to Blic.
    So hospitable they booed the Slovenian entry before she even started.

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    So hospitable they booed the Slovenian entry before she even started.
    Sorry Poor Student, can't let you away with that. It's one thing for someone to discuss bias and favouritism amongst the actions of the voting trends. But blaming a city for the imagined actions of an audience is very unfair.

Ms. Rebeka Dremelj, Slovene entry 2008. (Postcard intro. lasts 34 secs)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j0k2n...eature=related
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    Sorry Poor Student, can't let you away with that. It's one thing for someone to discuss bias and favouritism amongst the actions of the voting trends. But blaming a city for the imagined actions of an audience is very unfair.

Ms. Rebeka Dremelj, Slovene entry 2008. (Postcard intro. lasts 34 secs)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j0k2n...eature=related
    Let me get away with it? Imagined? You can hear it on the video you posted though not as audible as the proper quality sound of TV, I did watch it on RTÉ live.

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Let me get away with it? Imagined? You can hear it on the video you posted though not as audible as the proper quality sound of TV, I did watch it on RTÉ live.
    There is applause and appreciation at the beinning of her set.
    Two further broadcasts....
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LcOvi...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GwOHw...eature=related

There is applause at the costume change a third of the way through her act and further appreciation at the end of the song.

When I see someone I know make so obviously a biased remark, I stop and ask why. You don't need to be so cutting about the Belgrade Eurovision, it's over, you can relax, it's going to be in Russia next year and....oh shoot wait............ that's going to be a problem for you aswell.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

71 Posts
    There's applause and booing. There are plenty of people there from around the continent, remember.

How am I biased?

Page 31 of 39 FirstFirst ... 212930313233 ... LastLast