Page 8 of 39 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast

Thread: Eurovision Uberthread

112 Posts
    http://www.esctoday.com/annual/2005/page/19

Greece! douze points!!

check same website for Ireland criticism! the Milky Bar kid and his mother!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Between 1995 and 2005 we have been outside the top flight for precisely one season !
    We won the FAI Super Cup in 2000 that's right in the current millenium!We also played in the Intertoto Cup the same year. Did you know we are the only current EL team never to lose a home leg in European football ?

Well let me see now the last time Athlone Town won the FAI Cup we still had Pounds shillings and pence not to mention a Lord Lieutenant in the Park.
    Longford Town and Derry City had not been founded and the Free State League consisted of 8 teams if I am not mistaken.. NOt having a go Sir hamish just stating the facts... sure Ireland used to win this Eurovision thingey every year... once upon a time !
    Ahh, CTID, I'm just not able for you College boys. We'll be back and you can even sit on one of the new seats I've sponsored and appreciate a real stadium and a crowd to boot. Just wait...you'll see,,,,,,,

Golden Pond 2 = cheek and nerve of you!!!
    Last edited by hamish; 17/05/2005 at 8:09 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Ahh, CTID, I'm just not able for you College boys. We'll be back and you can even sit on one of the new seats I've sponsored and appreciate a real stadium and a crowd to boot. Just wait...you'll see,,,,,,,

Golden Pond 2 = cheek and nerve of you!!!
    Well Athlone Town is Ireland's oldest club... just paying due respect to the elderly!

Das Griechen Madchen ist sehr huebsch

using the most commonly spoken lingo in the EU I said that Greek girl is a babe!
    Last edited by sligoman; 24/12/2005 at 3:44 PM.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar

Well Athlone Town is Ireland's oldest club... just paying due respect to the elderly!
    Aren't Cliftonville older? Did you know that Castlerea Celtic - Ros Lge junior side are five years older than Town. Founded by a vicar called Coote who then moved to Athlone and founded ATFC. The Roscommon lads who used to come from that town used to call us their juniors when Shane Curran signed from Celtic.

elderly? Dear God!!

Das Griechen Madchen ist sehr huebsch

using the most commonly spoken lingo in the EU I said that Greek girl is a babe!
    The male Greek dancers are stinking though

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7
    http://www.esctoday.com/annual/2005/page/19

Greece! douze points!!

check same website for Ireland criticism! the Milky Bar kid and his mother!

she'd get it alright pauro, and she doesnt have the usual big round nose that a lot of greeks have.

hamish castlerea celtic is one of the oldest clubs in ireland. founded in 1887. did ye know that??? there is even a picture of the first game played there!!!!

here KT the picture you sent is that your one on the right? she doesnt look like she has a face for radio, she could even get on TG4 by the looks of things!!!

sorry meant to say could get on TG4 as they are hot on that.
    Last edited by sligoman; 24/12/2005 at 3:44 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    here KT the picture you sent is that your one on the right? she doesnt look like she has a face for radio, she couldnt even get on TG4 by the looks of things!!!
    aye that's the brother and sister

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
    you really do take this too seriously. I really don't care if it is in Off-Topic or Music, but seems like you will huff and puff if it's not. I assumed it would be moved and merged with off-topic as that was the longest and original one.
    Why shouldn't I take it seriously? If more people here took the Eurovision seriously, we might have a better chance of winning! It's one of the few things we are capable of winning. Eurovision is about a music contest, that's why I began a thread in here, and also because the thread is likely to remain longer in here, than if it was in OT.

Saw the Bosnian entry on Saturday with the others. The girls are indeed striking, but the song is poor and cheesy. They are certain to receive 12 points from Croatia on Saturday, as they are all Croatian girls. Bosnia will return the favour to their neighbours on Thursday, as the Croat singer is Bosnian. Eurovision is one of the few times in the year when bitter enemies become friends. Even then, it only lasts 3 hours!!

On a lighter note, Greece's Helena Paparizou is one of the favourites to become EBC winner (Eurovision Beauty Champion) 2005, as well as win the contest itself. Her competition will mainly come from Russia's Natalia Podalskaya, and Germany's Gracia. There are lots of glamourous foreign girls competing in Eurovision this year, unlike last year, when it was a male dominated event.

As for Donna McCaul, she's more likely to be a contender for the Barbara Dex award, for the worst-dressed performer. That is a real award. She might be beaten to it however by Malta's Chiara, who is a Mary Harney lookalike singing a ballad alone, therby guaranteeing zero chance of winning for her country, who normally send good songs, and do well in the contest. Well, Malta has to be good at something!!!
    Last edited by mypost; 19/05/2005 at 2:59 AM.

[QUOTE=paul_oshea]hamish castlerea celtic is one of the oldest clubs in ireland. founded in 1887. did ye know that??? there is even a picture of the first game played there!!!!

I'd say they're even older POS cos Athlone were founded in 1887 and Castlerea were founded by Coote at least 5 years before that. I have the Athlone Town history book - will check it out.

The Greek one is not bad, though not the type I would run after... Skin a little too tanned for me, not a goth type at all. But may suit if I have a lonely night during a travel to Greece

As for the site "All Kinds of Everything": nice part with all Irish ex-participants.

This reminds me of the days when I gambled on the Eurovision contest. Eimaer Quinn's "The Voice" is one of my favourite entry's ever and I was one of the only Belgians who liked the song in advance (i was in trance from the first time I heard it) and one of the only ones that was hoping for an Irish win. This said, the bookmaker in town didn't like me at all the day after when entering his shop

I used the same tactics the year after: one bet on the likely winner, one on the country I liked best myself. The year before I had luck with Eimaer Quinn, the year itself my favourite was Finland and it ended somewhere around 17th spot. As the expected winner didn't win at all, it was bye-bye to my cash...

The year after I kinda expected Katrina & The Waves to win, but after the nasty experience the year before I didn't dare to make a bet again... Damn!

I think The Mullans' "When you need me" was a decent entry from Ireland as well, a bit underrated and finished way too love. I also liked Mark Roberts' "Mysterious woman", and my mom was heavily supporting "Is always over now" from Dawn.

I think there's a site as well where you can download all songs that ever entered the actual contest, but I'm not sure of the URL and if the site still exists.

The guy is in Ukraine now ?

Friends of mine, a gay couple in Holland, have been to some ESC finals as well. They are collectors and buy every single CD, single-CD and compilation album of every single ESC participator. Their apartment is filled with over 10000 records of Eurovision alone !

They're also within the Belgian and Dutch ESC fanclubs, of which coincidentially (?) 80% of the members is homosexual... A gay club in disguise it is !

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    As for Donna McCaul, she's more likely to be a contender for the Barbara Dex award, for the worst-dressed performer. That is a real award. She might be beaten to it however by Malta's Chiara, who is a Mary Harney lookalike singing a ballad alone, therby guaranteeing zero chance of winning for her country, who normally send good songs, and do well in the contest. Well, Malta has to be good at something!!!
    Barbara Dex... Everytime the Flemish enter a song they're way behind in today's music tendencies, but still everytime everyone thinks they'll win straight away. Afterwards the complot theories come up of Eastern European countries having some bizarre anti-Belgian complot... Lisa Del Bo and Barbara Dex got very good comments in advance, but I wonder why. Their songs may have scored well if they came 15 years earlier, but were not according to the Eurovision trends at those times.

I did like some of the Walloon's entries a lot. "La voix est libre" by Frederic Etherlinck (1994) was IMO the best Belgian entry of the past 15 years and had deserved much much more than the mid-table spot it finished on... "Sanomi" of Urban Trad finished second, the closest we came to victory since Sandra Kim actually won for Belgium in 1986. Urban Trad did a very original song and they fully deserved their credits I think. "Nous on veut des violons" by Morgane (1992) could have scored very well but the background orchestra ruined the song unfortunately
    Last edited by sligoman; 24/12/2005 at 3:45 PM.
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    and also because the thread is likely to remain longer in here, than if it was in OT.

On a lighter note, Greece's Helena Paparizou is one of the favourites to become EBC winner (Eurovision Beauty Champion) 2005, as well as win the contest itself. Her competition will mainly come from Russia's Natalia Paparizou, and Germany's Gracia. There are lots of glamourous foreign girls competing in Eurovision this year, unlike last year, when it was a male dominated event.
    * Don't you know my reputation for keeping threads going?

* Are they sisters??? And here's me thinking you were taking this seriously

Only kidding, truce?

they could wel be sirhamish but the picture that is dated 1887 i always thought was from the first game played however they may have just made that up. i knw that it is one of the oldest clubs in the west.

staying on topic, who is the favourite to win the eurovision and where willl we come???

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    . I also liked Mark Roberts' "Mysterious woman", and my mom was heavily supporting "Is always over now" from Dawn.

The guy is in Ukraine now ?

:
    I liked that song too, he was a bit tasty as well It was a good song for that time as catchy ballads were the thing. Yeah, the guy is a big fan, he went out nearly a week ago, says on his website somewhere. Would love to go for one! Have you ever watched the contest on BBC, Gerrit, with that Brit-licking Irishman Terry Wogan? You have to, it is just so funny, his comments. It won't be the same when he quits, it is a bit of a cult in Australia now, he is a part of it!!

staying on topic, who is the favourite to win the eurovision and where willl we come???
    Thank you Mr 'on-topic' O'Shea , I would love to see Poland win, I really love their song, gypsy style, hope they have plenty of good dancers. But not sure if they will win, but they have plenty of neighbours.

I don't think Greece will win, maybe come 2nd, I would prefer to hear it in Greek. Cyprus have a good chance, they will get the gay vote (which is big in eurovision) and the teeny bopper vote. It is a replica of Sakis(greece) shake your arse carry-on. shake-it shake-it. I liked it and him

I think Javine will come in the top 5, could even win it.

Ireland will get to the final and come.......10th
    Last edited by sligoman; 24/12/2005 at 3:45 PM.

I liked that song too, he was a bit tasty as well It was a good song for that time as catchy ballads were the thing. Yeah, the guy is a big fan, he went out nearly a week ago, says on his website somewhere. Would love to go for one! Have you ever watched the contest on BBC, Gerrit, with that Brit-licking Irishman Terry Wogan? You have to, it is just so funny, his comments. It won't be the same when he quits, it is a bit of a cult in Australia now, he is a part of it!!
    Terry Wogan is a legend in Eurovision world

If I would go to Ukraine (I hope I will someday, but then to live there for a year, the former USSR is a very fascinating place !) I'd catch the festival yeah, but just for the ESC I don't think I'd spend that amount of cash. I will watch it in a pub most likely, same with Ireland-Israel as it seems it's a sold-out and as it seems black market will not be cheap this time

Mark Roberts had a great song. But he had the bad luck of coming in a very strong year. There was Ireland, Malta brought Debbie Scerri's "Let me fly" which was a good song (and raised many "in advance votes" via a great video full of firework tricks), the UK had Katrina & The Waves, and if I'm not mistaken it was the year Poland sent out Anna-Maria Jopek.

Anna-Maria Jopek was one of my all-time favourites. The video had a very mysterious thing (a bit goth even !) and the lyrics were awesome, if translated to English it was about "I may be just a little piece of sand, but I do exist and I'm there" (the song title "Ale Jestem" means "I exist"). And Anna-Maria was very good-looking as well...
    She's still a star in Poland : www.annamariajopek.pl

Poland BTW which has had some very good entries yet, I'd say none of the new Eastern European members have brought so many good songs as Poland.
    I liked their entry "I want to know my sin" by Kasia Kowalska in 1994. A very dramatic song, like taken away from a drama musical. I'd say it was more avant-garde, but it is difficult to put a genre on it. It was completely new to Eurovision standards, but she did a very good job ! www.kasiakowalska.pl (if not working try replacing .pl by .com.pl)

BTW, what did fellow Eurovision-watchers here think of TATU participating for Russia ?? It was so bizarre, the Belgian media didn't talk about the songs at all ; it was all about "will they do French kissing on stage or not ?" (the ESC committee had threatened Russian disqualification if they'd do). In the end they'd better had written a bit less about that and a bit more about the participating songs, as TATU behaved very well and did nothing shocking... Much a talk about nothing, and then they didn't even win the contest despite being the chat of the day all weeks before the actual contest.

But not sure if they will win, but they have plenty of neighbours. #
    that is another thing that annoyed me about the eurovision, the scandinivians sticking together, the balkans sticking together etc.

what i did find funny though was hte uk giving us a decent scoore and we hardly ever returned the compliment.

(the song title "Ale Jestem" means "I exist"). .
    right, cos literally it means 'but I am'. Poland (like a lot of countries should)should enter some traditional highland music, from the Tatras, I have been able to enjoy quite a lot of it (and the dancing, after a few okocim ) a few times when I have been in Zakopane + southern Poland. The clothes, music, dancing is great and very typical of a mountain area. I really loved it, so lively and original, but I suppose it wouldn't get the gay-pop vote, which is probably why Poland's 'Czarna Dziewczyna' will not do well, but I hope it does. Some of it is sung in Russian, love the sound of Russian

Glad Tatu did not win cos of all the publicity, that would have been pathetic

that is another thing that annoyed me about the eurovision, the scandinivians sticking together, the balkans sticking together etc.

what i did find funny though was hte uk giving us a decent scoore and we hardly ever returned the compliment.
    True

Greece and Cyprus are the funniest though...you just know it is coming.
    I think cos there are lots of Irish in the UK, that is why the Uk phone vote always favours us, and maybe cos as 2 islands stuck out on the west, there is the neighbourly thing..
    Last edited by sligoman; 24/12/2005 at 3:46 PM.

right, cos literally it means 'but I am'. Poland (like a lot of countries should)should enter some traditional highland music, from the Tatras, I have been able to enjoy quite a lot of it (and the dancing, after a few okocim ) a few times when I have been in Zakopane + southern Poland. The clothes, music, dancing is great and very typical of a mountain area. I really loved it, so lively and original, but I suppose it wouldn't get the gay-pop vote, which is probably why Poland's 'Czarna Dziewczyna' will not do well, but I hope it does. Some of it is sung in Russian, love the sound of Russian
    I like Poland yeah, would be interesting to make a good trip there. Cities like Krakow are even protected entirely as cultural heritage, makes me expect the best for a possible trip... And forgive me for this note, but I have never ever seen an ugly Polish girl yet. Man, talking of totty Maybe it's not a good idea for me or any single man to make that holiday, it could be bad for the heart...

As for the lack of Polish folk elements in the music: that goes for every country more or less. Ireland should enter a folk entry (except for Eimaer Quinn can't think of one) and preferably in Gaelige. The UK never ever even considered sending a band from the Scottish Highlands with some bagpipes music. Even countries such as Turkey sing in English nowadays...
    Lebanon participates for the 1st time, I'm curious if they will keep the folk alive. Morocco participated once in 1980, they finished last spot if I remember this right, but I'd say it was more because of Europe not being used to this music. I appreciate Arab and oriental music and got some of it on CD, and though slightly more commercial than the true local folk, that Moroccon entry was far from bad.

I don't agree with the neighbours-favor-eachother thing. It's just normal. People from Latvia will have more contact with people from Estonia and Russia than with the average Portuguese or Icelandic citizen. Also, the general taste in music and culture will probably be more alike too in their fellow Baltic states, while people in e.g. Turkey or Ireland will probably have a different approach towards culture and music.
    So I would say it's not that unnormal that the eastern countries 'favor' each other, I would not call it wrong. It's kinda logic, and admit: Scandinavians have been doing it for ages, Cyprus and Greece always give each other high scores, Belgium and Holland tend to be good friends, the UK can often count on high votes from Ireland and vice-versa, the former Yugoslav Republics give each other good points... But rather than seeing this as a complot, I'd say it's not unnormal that you share a general taste in music with a neighbouring country.

Apart from that, the few winners coming from those countries got high scores from all other countries, not just from their neighbours. Check Ukraine last year: almost all countries gave Ruslana a decent score, it was not just the neighbours. You can never win a festival like this with only votes from neighbouring countries, if a song wins it's because the majority of Europe (East and West !) agreed it was the best song.

I like Poland yeah, would be interesting to make a good trip there. Cities like Krakow are even protected entirely as cultural heritage, makes me expect the best for a possible trip... And forgive me for this note, but I have never ever seen an ugly Polish girl yet. Man, talking of totty Maybe it's not a good idea for me or any single man to make that holiday, it could be bad for the heart...

As for the lack of Polish folk elements in the music: that goes for every country more or less. Ireland should enter a folk entry (except for Eimaer Quinn can't think of one) and preferably in Gaelige. The UK never ever even considered sending a band from the Scottish Highlands with some bagpipes music. Even countries such as Turkey sing in English nowadays...
    Lebanon participates for the 1st time, I'm curious if they will keep the folk alive.

Apart from that, the few winners coming from those countries got high scores from all other countries, not just from their neighbours. Check Ukraine last year: almost all countries gave Ruslana a decent score, it was not just the neighbours. You can never win a festival like this with only votes from neighbouring countries, if a song wins it's because the majority of Europe (East and West !) agreed it was the best song.
    Sorry Gerrit ugly Polish girls do exist. I have been in Poland 4 times, Krakow is wonderful, I think you will fall in love with it, I did. Funny, Polish women are generally very beautiful, nice features, some are too skinny though, but the men are not good-looking. Women may be pretty there but their personalities are not, no craic, can be miserable and yappy and a lot of them are gold-diggers. My boyfriend is half Polish/half Spanish so it helps in the looks department

The Welsh and Scottish have some wonderland traditional musicians, but true, this would never be considered by the UK. Actually AFAIK, Lebanon has pulled out of the competition, something to do with them not wanting to show the Israeli entrant on Lebanese TV

176 Posts
    Are they sisters??? And here's me thinking you were taking this seriously
    Well Ms Pedantic, you correct mypost's error. You can't, can you?

Natalia Podalskaya will represent Russia, with a song that will attract the anti-Bush voters.

Page 8 of 39 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast