Page 5 of 39 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Eurovision Uberthread

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    The draw for the running order of the songs in the semi-final, and final will be made this afternoon in Kiev. We were drawn in 18th for the final last year, which was a good slot, however the poor song ensured that it wasn't taken advantage of. Hopefully, the McCauls will appear as late as possible (15th-25th) in the semi-final for maximum impact. An early draw could mean we're in the semis again next year.
    Our song will be number 22, fourth from last. It provides a great chance to qualify for the final, so hopefully we can take advantage of it. Austria will be first, Poland will be 25th and last. The first qualifier to be announced in the semi-final, will open the final. Javine competing for the UK, will be 2nd. France will perform the 24th and final song in Eurovision 2005.

175 Posts

Eurovision

Jemini II (McCauls) released their Eurovision single this week. Of course it will go to the top of the Irish charts, but will it win ESC '05? Despite some promotion in the key Balkan countries, reaction to the song on the continent can best be described as lukewarm. These days winning the contest is not as important as it once was, and qualifying for next year's final would be considered a success. The McCauls fly out for the ESC rehearsals next week, and RTE will have to work very hard on their image for Eurovision, something they're not reknowned for. Good luck to them anyway, they may need a lot of it.

No sure if this should this be in the music forum.

I agree with Pete. This should be in some seperate category for stagnant lifeless pop culture ...and if there aint one ...rubbbish it is.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    i have a thread on the eurovision opened in off topic if u want to merge it???

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=2236...ght=eurovision

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    No sure if this should this be in the music forum.
    Why not? As Eurovision is about a music contest, I feel it would be better suited to this forum, than lumped in with the other threads in OT. As the other thread was removed from OT (when I last looked), I decided to start another one in here instead, in a more appropriate place.

175 Posts
    With less than a week to go before their performance at Eurovision, the McCauls have already arrived in Kiev, and have conducted their opening rehearsal and press conference. They will be joined by 4 female dancers on stage during the performance, to make up the maximum allowed of 6 on stage. The Riverdanc-ing piece has been retained in the song, during the (hopefully 2) night(s). The stage colour during the song is red, and all of the performers will wear black.

Our HOD (Head of Delegation) pronounced at the beginning of D&J's first press conference that "We're going for the 8th win". However, it will be almost impossible for Ireland to win the ESC this year, with 39 countries voting, mostly for their neighbours. We need around 70 points to qualify for the ESC final, and about 55 are needed to finish in the top 10 of that to qualify for next year's final. Minimum requirement is to qualify for the final from the semi, and perform on the Saturday. Anything else will be seen as failure. Lithuania, Belarus, Croatia, Hungary, Bulgaria, Iceland, and Switzerland are likely to qualify, which leaves just 3 other qualifying places left for the final. It is possible, that we might claim one of them.
    Last edited by mypost; 16/05/2005 at 3:50 AM.

The Mc Cauls are up against it big time. It's a bit like the current Athlone Town team playing in the UEFA Cup... right Sir hamish? But good luck to them.
    The gimmick of having Irish dancing during the short instrumental breaks could work the oracle and get them in the final.
    After all take the dancing and the sexy costume of the singer from last years winning entry and you were left with a pathetic excuse for a piece of music.

The McCauls song is Ireland's strongest entry for about 5 years. It is still sh1te but more acceptable than some of the recent efforts.

Semi-final is on this Thursday, RTE2

http://www.rte.ie/tv/star/

He is still wearing that f**king earring!!!!!

oh my God, read this and cringe!!!!

some of the opposition

Javine for the Uk, has been touring Europe and has gathered a lot of fans.. I imagine she will do well..
    Last edited by sligoman; 24/12/2005 at 3:37 PM.

over the last few years, it has become extremely cringy and cheesy, it is terribile terrible stuff. people will look back on it in 10 years as say how did we ever watch that. it will be like the 80's with the gammy clothes.

Shocking indeed, the voting is a joke, but it has to be watched, people are even tipping the Norwegian rockers to do it this year! Norway = Nul points usually. Nobody in Europe takes it seriously, I am just horrified that Ireland is sending such a poor song, the lyrics are as if written by a child. They are re-working the song again after their performance on RTE recently in which made me want to vomit. The boy cannot and will NOT ever be able to dance.......

Quote Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
    Johnny Logan, Daniel O'Donnel, Shania Twain (Vomit, vomit). I couldn't read anymore.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

30 Posts
    lets look at it this way lads, if those Athlone muckers won the conest which is about as much of a chance as KK getting promoted this year, RTE will be faced with a huge bill and immediatley jack up the TV licence bill.

we dont want that now do we.

Let the Eurofags have their day in the sun. We have more pressing matters to contend with.

P.S. jaysus did you see the Greek one, would ye wah?

eurovision.tv: You come from quite a big family: four boys and two girls, is that right

ya its massive!

you have kellogs for breakfast is that right too???

Hi Donna. Hi Joe. Very pleased to meet you. Ireland has quite a long and successful tradition in the Eurovision Song Contest. Are you familiar with that history, and people like Johnny Logan?

Donna & Joe: No, not really. Our musical influences and roots come more from Daniel O’Donnell who is partially related to us – not much but remotely! – and, of course, the Commitments!
    I just had a thought, imagine if Joe became metrosexual!!! Fcuk!!!

how can someone be related to you 'not much' but 'remotely'.

Wired to the moon!!!!!!!
    Last edited by sligoman; 24/12/2005 at 3:39 PM.

Who would yez have sent from that god damn show? out of all the contestants, they have a bit of life in them at least.....Surprised people didnt vote for another man in a white suit and perhaps a guitar!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Quote Originally Posted by Maz
    Who would yez have sent from that god damn show? out of all the contestants, they have a bit of life in them at least.....Surprised people didnt vote for another man in a white suit and perhaps a guitar!
    We all know you are their secret fan Maz!! I thought the Henry Girls would have did well, Europeans always fall for that traditional style Irish music. This song however is really weak, I could write better myself, and I'm no Elton John!!

Not fair as the semi final is only on BBC3 and I don't have digital tv, i won't see it over here..

would have did well
    will done good.

i have not seen or heard the song is there anywhere you can listen to it???

The one we are sending to eurovision?

no the st vincents current no1 KT