Page 24 of 39 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast

Thread: Eurovision Uberthread

250 Posts
    Very poor songs so far,Irish song desparate.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover View Post
    Ukraine to walk away with it...
    What the f was that about?!

Brits next - supposed to be awful!

Mother of mercy. What the **** was that?
    My other posts are intelligent and witty. This one is an exception.

www.kerins.org

Playstation Network: DanK_SFC

3,491 Posts
    It was like some sort of sketch out of the High Life.

Except the High Life people knew they were being funny!

71 Posts
    That young lad for Serbia was fairly good, I'll give him my vote.

3,491 Posts
    Yeah, lad...

Sweden for me. Nothing else really stood out.

Latvia for me just before the voting startss

oops
    Last edited by gustavo; 12/05/2007 at 10:03 PM.

Dervish were as brutal as feared
    Could she not buy herself a pair of shoes?
    Is there an Irish enclave in albania

Quote Originally Posted by Matchman View Post
    Dervish were as brutal as feared
    Could she not buy herself a pair of shoes?
    our troops were peace-keeping for kosovar-albanians
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Jaysus, we just put ourselves bottom!

www.kerins.org

3,491 Posts
    Feckin Latvians and Lithuanians working here.

We'd probably have given 12 to Poland if they were in it.

We've become as bad as everyone else...

Quote Originally Posted by Matchman
    Wasn't their King from the same planet as Zig and Zag?

oh dear....

3,491 Posts
    5 points - our worst ever. First time the Brits didn't vote for us since 1996, when we won by 48 points with The Voice.

Heads should roll for this travesty!

Thank God there is an election coming up so we can sort out this shambles!
    5 points - our worst ever. First time the Brits didn't vote for us since 1996, when we won by 48 points with The Voice.
    I've always thought that decent points from the UK were a shoe-in because of the huge Irish population who over here.

However, it seems even blind, meaningless patriotism doesn't extend to mercy voting on THAT scale!
    Last edited by sligoman; 12/05/2007 at 10:26 PM. Reason: merge

www.kerins.org

71 Posts
    Ah, so the young fella won, fair play to him. I wonder how much of a strain it'll be on Serbia to host it.

Something has to be done with the voting system. This competition gets worse every year.

Quote Originally Posted by Dan K View Post
    Jaysus, we just put ourselves bottom!
    This for me was the funniest Euro Vision moment ever, we gave the UK their first points and the max to the Lithuanians, talk about shooting yourself in the foot, a real Father Ted moment. Next year we should get some of our visitors from Eastern Europe to sing for us.

Something has to be done with the voting system. This competition gets worse every year.
    some kind of weighting system needs to be put in place. for starters, why do malta get the same number of points to distribute as germany?

also, serbia are cheating by splitting off a new country every year to ensure votes
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    some kind of weighting system needs to be put in place. for starters, why do malta get the same number of points to distribute as germany?
    Why not? They're a country just like Germany. Giving pro-rata votes according to how large your population is isn't going to solve anything.

Ideally, each country should be banned from voting for three (say) countries, and each country should be banned from receiving votes from three countries (it's not the same thing obviously). Think that'd help a little bit. Alternatively, get the jury system back, and work out an average between the jury's votes and the public votes. Although the juy system wasn't exactly without block voting either.

Maybe just force the USSR and Yugoslavia back together again?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Ah, so the young fella won, fair play to him. I wonder how much of a strain it'll be on Serbia to host it.
    Um...you are being funny at this stage?

Why not? They're a country just like Germany. Giving pro-rata votes according to how large your population is isn't going to solve anything.
    but malta is miniscule, i mean they gave 12 points to the UK and its quite possible a group of lads on a stag do in bugibba are responsible
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Page 24 of 39 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast