Page 22 of 39 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast

Thread: Eurovision Uberthread

Did Ireland's 12 votes for Lithuania have anything to do with the large Lithuanian population in Ireland. The same could be said for Germany's 12 for Turkey.

Quote Originally Posted by Ash
    I suppose the question is should we bother entering it anymore?

Sent the amatures last year and failed miserably, sent a pro this year and
    didnt win. It's surely finally been to be a bit of a p!ss take of a competition.
    Its a waste of money sending people to it in my opinion.
    I think Italy and Luxembourg stopped entering a few years ago.

Just sore losers in my opinion
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash
    I suppose the question is should we bother entering it anymore?

Sent the amatures last year and failed miserably, sent a pro this year and
    didnt win. Its a waste of money sending people to it in my opinion.
    The primary aim of the contest now is to qualify for the final of the next one. We did that, so it was a successful contest in 2006 from an Irish point of view.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    The primary aim of the contest now is to qualify for the final of the next one. We did that, so it was a successful contest in 2006 from an Irish point of view.
    mypost, your devote interest in the Eurovision is quiet worrying. Why do you really honestly care about it - do you have something against music?

For me the primary aim was to make Brian Kennedy look like the pompus **** he is and from what I can see it was mission accomplished.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    And so if we dont win it next year it will be a failure so we have no need to get involved again

Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Ramone
    Did Ireland's 12 votes for Lithuania have anything to do with the large Lithuanian population in Ireland. The same could be said for Germany's 12 for Turkey.
    Doubt it really , i think we appreciate the irony a bit more than our continental friends . i would have voted for it and from anyone who watched the semifinals that i was talking to it was the song they all rememebered.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by finlma
    mypost, your devote interest in the Eurovision is quiet worrying. Why do you really honestly care about it - do you have something against music?
    Wtf????

Some people love Star Trek, some others love BB, I love the Eurovision. What should you worry about?

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    Doubt it really , i think we appreciate the irony a bit more than our continental friends . i would have voted for it and from anyone who watched the semifinals that i was talking to it was the song they all rememebered.
    thats why i have the whole song on my phone as a mp3..its legendary!

Quote Originally Posted by paudie
    I think Italy and Luxembourg stopped entering a few years ago.

Just sore losers in my opinion
    Luxembourg won it 5 times despite the fact that none of the singers ever came from there. Winners included Vicky Leandros ( Greek) Ann-Marie David ( French) to name two. Some other entrants representing the Grand Duchy included Plastic Bertand ( Belgium) and Geraldine Branagan( Ireland).
    So whatever you can say about Italy ( who I think won it twice) Luxembourg with 5 victories are high up on the roll of honour ... if that is appropriate for the Eurovision Song Contest

So Luxembourg is famous for 5 Eurovision Wins, Radio Luxembourg and of course Jeunesse Esch
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 05/06/2006 at 8:02 AM.

In case ye didn't know...

...Sligo band, Dervish, have been chosen to represent Ireland in the 2007 Eurovision song contest. Due to Brian Kennedy doing well in the 2006 competition, they will qualify automatically for the final.

Irish traditional diddlyah folk music is hugely popular in Europe, good call on the choice of band!

Not as well as many of us hoped ...though if I'd been offered Ireland finishing 150 points behind the winners I'd have jumped at it.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

112 Posts

Morrissey for Eurovision?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/6244153.stm

that’s a very interesting one. Who’d have thought it. Morrissey for Eurovision. They’d get great support if he went on it...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/6244153.stm

that’s a very interesting one. Who’d have thought it. Morrissey for Eurovision. They’d get great support if he went on it...
    …and why not? It’d be good to see him drag the standard up rather than the usual bag of butlins redcoats, wedding bands, karaoke finalists and …erm ...paedophiles the Royaume Uni normally sends. Maybe he'll declare for us? Either way Moz has my vote.

I won 70 bucks on Lordi last year and reckon this year Halloween will happen in May there’ll be so many tosspots at Eurovision who just don’t get it.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    …and why not? It’d be good to see him drag the standard up rather than the usual bag of butlins redcoats, wedding bands, karaoke finalists and …erm ...paedophiles the Royaume Uni normally sends. Maybe he'll declare for us? Either way Moz has my vote.

I won 70 bucks on Lordi last year and reckon this year Halloween will happen in May there’ll be so many tosspots at Eurovision who just don’t get it.
    Hope so! If Morrissey gets it, ill put money that he wins it. Although he may be writing it rather than singing it. Still good though.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

522 Posts
    Just another loser to add to the collection?

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Just another loser to add to the collection?
    In what sense? Losing a competition that will see virtually no material loss to him in terms of ticket and record sales?

That the fortnightlys will turn on him? He's had good support for two albums off them ...their due to turn on him and rubbish the next one whether it's the greatest record ever made or not.

I'm sure it appeals to his nostalgic bent to walk in the foootsteps as it were of the likes of Sandi Shaw. I'm sure the tongue in cheek factor and campiness of it all isn't lost on much on the guys fanbase.

I think he's on a win-win. If he actually wins the thing he's seen as saving and renewing the things (non-existant) credibility. I f he does badly -then it'll be played as proof positve that the things is a joke and should be put down.

The only banana skin I see is him finishing as one the runners up in a tight top five. Not sure how that'd play out.

522 Posts
    No, in that Morrisey is a loser. A sef-centered, egomaniacal idiot of the highest order.

If Stephen Morrissey ( for that is his name) was a footballer, given his parentage we would be expecting him to declare for the Republic.
    Given that he is by birth an Irish citizen, the bloody English are stealing OUR people again. Ed Joyce, Kyran Bracken and now Morrissey? Haven't they got 60 million of their own to choose from for Eurovision?

176 Posts
    Eurovision junkies should be reminded that the song that Dervish* will perform in this year's Eurovision final, will be decided on the Late Late Show Eurovision special tonight.

*= wtf are they??
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Page 22 of 39 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast