Tell all the Bohs you know
that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
and it's not gonna be three
and it's not gonna be four
it's more likely to be 5-1.
Originally Posted by Terry
WOOOO HOOOOOO GO Lordi !!!! E100 at 12/1 easy money
Finland won!
Absolutley pricelessActually not a bad old tune. I think the costumes put everyone off but if the same song had been sung by a nice clean cut band it would probably have been pretty good anyway. Loads of people would have voted for the stupid factor though. That Latvia (?) song, "We are the winners" finished about 6th too. I'd much prefer a eurovision of funny songs like that than that Brain Kennedy style crap!
And before anyone says anything, I am in the middle of my finals at college so couldn't go out to celebrate the Munster win, and only watchedbits of the eurovision, flicking over from the City/Derry match every so ofter.
The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!
Lithuanian song was the best by far, got 12 points from Ireland and 10 from UK, must have gone down well so![]()
Brian Kennedy did well in Monaco, 10 points as far as I can remember.
Cant believe we gave UK 8 points, we don't normally go that high.
Congratulations to Brian Kennedy and the Irish team for clinching the final qualifying spot for the Eurovision Song Contest 2007.He finished in 10th place with 93 points, 2 points clear of Turkey in 11th.
In the semi-final, Ireland finished in 9th place scoring 79 points. Poland finished 11th, Belgium in 12th, Iceland were 13th, and Andorra were 23rd with just 8 points.
Ireland's successful Eurovision this year, was overshadowed by the vulgar, noise-pollution winning entry from Finland, which is one of the worst acts in Eurovision history. It baffles me to think that the EBU rebuked the Icelandic entrant for using foul language, but freely permit a tasteless act to sing vulgar lyrics, as Finland have done. This is a song contest, not a horror movie. The rules must be changed to ensure that any copycat entries of Finland are disqualified from the contest in future.![]()
Ireland's successful Eurovision this year, was overshadowed by the vulgar, noise-pollution winning entry from Finland, which is one of the worst acts in Eurovision history. It baffles me to think that the EBU rebuked the Icelandic entrant for using foul language, but freely permit a tasteless act to sing vulgar lyrics, as Finland have done. This is a song contest, not a horror movie. The rules must be changed to ensure that any copycat entries of Finland are disqualified from the contest in future.
Originally Posted by mypost
ah here...tis funny is all...didnt get my vote though... thought the boz and hertz song was good....
Well done Lordi! Take that grannies!
what were the vulgar lyrics lordi sang? GO FINLAND
Is there a rule that states that only songs that certain people like are only allowed to be peformed?
Jeesis Mypost are you still pussin?Originally Posted by mypost
What happened last night was actually seismic in a way. Fcuk the silly bloated competition ...that's still a silly bloated competition for gobshytes who'll go back to singing Rhinestone Cowboy at wedding receptions next week.
But what actually happened last night -on a pan European scale -was that an ugly side of conservatism and traditionalism got a mighty fong in the cajólés.
Will those who go in for this thing get the message? Like fcuk they will. Next year you'll have Halloween in May with countless eejits in fancy dress left wondering why they got 'null pwah' and completely missing the point.
Lordi, having broadened the scope of what is an acceptable song*, have inspired me ...next year I'm entering Eurothing and my entry will comprise a small cardboard box with the word 'Song' written on it. Let's push the envelope people ....![]()
*...they haven't broadened much actually -it's really just a def leppard-ish dirge with a few Rob Zombie growly vocals chucked in.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
Can I be part of your band Lionel? I have a dustbin lid and wooden spoon I could use !![]()
not really,after all its legal in englandOriginally Posted by anto1208
were tatu over 16 when they represented russia a few years ago??
Lighten upOriginally Posted by mypost
City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.
O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"
G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!
Brian you did your best and you did yourself proud. Don't worry about anyone elseOriginally Posted by mypost
Who Cares?!
If you want a laugh, you'll find it in comedy clubs. Eurovision is a glorified concert, and at concerts, you sing, not laugh. It's also a family show, and Lordi's act/song is unsuitable for family viewing, and should therefore be disqualified from Eurovision.Originally Posted by onenilgameover
It got the most votes.
It must have suited most viewers.
Now Brian Kennedys song, that should have been acompanied with a certificate of caution.
Get up off your knee Brian.
City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.
O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"
G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!
Are you for real? That is the saddest post in the existence of foot.ie. The Eurovision has nothing to do with music. If you think thats music then you have the same taste as a man with no tongue.Originally Posted by mypost
Fair play to Lordi for ripping the p1ss out of the Eurovision and winning me a nice bit of cash.
Brian Kennedy beaten by a monster and a novelty song - couldn't have wished any more for that smug b@stard.
Hope to see more monster based entries and p1ss takes in the future to show the Eurovision for what it really is.
We're going to win this competition.Originally Posted by Roo69
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am