504 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thebronze14 View Post
    Getting my girlfriend to order the Harps one for my birthday
    Cheers!

I'm beginning to see light at the end of the tunnel, almost all of them attempted now.

20 Posts
    The one of the R.S.C. is very nice. Well done Acorn Villa. Keep up the good work.

96 Posts
    What size are the stadium prints?

504 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    What size are the stadium prints?
    I only do them A3, but I try and accommodate people if they need something else

Quote Originally Posted by Iorfa2MaccaJim View Post
    The one of the R.S.C. is very nice. Well done Acorn Villa. Keep up the good work.
    Thanks!

Some more attempts at some 1st division grounds, St. Colemans and the Bowl at UCD.

1,813 Posts
    Any chance of some historic LOI grounds like Morton and Station Road? Maybe Harold's Cross Stadium (which will be bulldozed) or Milltown?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

504 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Any chance of some historic LOI grounds like Morton and Station Road? Maybe Harold's Cross Stadium (which will be bulldozed) or Milltown?
    Yeah, I'm hitting some serious stadium fatuige atm as you can imagine, so want to finish off the last couple 1st div grounds + Drogheda, and concentrate on something else then for a bit, but I do want to try some older stadiums too, possibly in a different style as a separate project

While I'm rambling here.. A couple of you might have spotted that I've provided illustrations for Bohs all season, and they'll probably use my Dalymount one as a centerfold at some stage if they haven't already. I did something similar for St. Pats at the start of the year

If any of you on here run the programs at your clubs or know who does and want to use some of my work, let me know, I'm happy to lend what I have to any LOI club, free of charge ofc ^^

it's not much but it might help ye fill some gaps at some stage during the rest of the season

Acorn is it 2 for €40 A3?

Does this include requested ones??
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

504 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KR's Post View Post
    Acorn is it 2 for €40 A3?

Does this include requested ones??
    I'll drop you a DM.

Still lots of programmes for sale at www.footballprogs.webs.com!! (portion to charity)
    How are those t-shirts selling nigel-harps1954 ??? !!!

504 Posts
    I've never actually been to United Park, and with all of them it was a bit of a challenge picking an angle let alone the drawing part, but this is what I came up with anyway!

That's all of the PD grounds now, (I think?)

164 Posts
    These are fantastic. Well done. I'm not quite as good an artist but this is my drawing of Cabinteely's ground.

20182442_10154415563316442_150257039_o.jpg

504 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    These are fantastic. Well done. I'm not quite as good an artist but this is my drawing of Cabinteely's ground.

Can I use that one and say it's Cabo?

Here's my go at Ferrycarrig!

19. Thanks From:

504 Posts
    Hey lads, looking for a bit of help if you could at all.

So, I've been doing another project that's going to be filled with drawings of LOI grounds. I'll pop a few at the end of the post that aren't quite finished yet, if anyone would like a look.

In any case, I'd like to try my hand at lansdowne as well as Dalymount when they were still being used for Ireland games.

Would anyone know a good resource for reference images, so I can get an idea of what they really looked like? That's all really, enjoy your weekend, unless you're from Cork or Dundalk, feck the pair of ye :P

21. Thanks From:

2,346 Posts
    Google street view?

504 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Google street view?
    Does it have a time travel option? I wasn't aware that was a thing

24. Thanks From:

These are fantastic!
    oh boy I'm not good at football forums

26. Thanks From:

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Does it have a time travel option? I wasn't aware that was a thing
    I should have read that post better.

If this helps though...

From here: http://tims92.blogspot.ie/2011/03/re...downe-road.htm
    Last edited by nigel-harps1954; 05/11/2017 at 11:37 AM.

28. Thanks From:

221 Posts
    Good work Acornvilla, I always enjoy seeing these images. One slight issue I have though is that the grounds are generally so underwhelming, particularly while empty, that it makes it hard to imbue the artwork with any real atmosphere. You've captured the pathos though!

30. Thanks From:

221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Hey lads, looking for a bit of help if you could at all.

So, I've been doing another project that's going to be filled with drawings of LOI grounds. I'll pop a few at the end of the post that aren't quite finished yet, if anyone would like a look.

In any case, I'd like to try my hand at lansdowne as well as Dalymount when they were still being used for Ireland games.

Would anyone know a good resource for reference images, so I can get an idea of what they really looked like? That's all really, enjoy your weekend, unless you're from Cork or Dundalk, feck the pair of ye :P

Here's a nice image of the East Stand at Lansdowne.
    https://www.sportsfile.com/id/906299/
    Trawling through sportsfile images will waste several glorious days of life, but there's plenty of good stuff there. Use the search function, include a random year and scroll down past the modern stuff

The brilliant recent Dalymount Park history book is an obvious source for Dalyer. They had them in Easons and the like

32. Thanks From: