Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: TV Deal

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Anyway, about the TV deal, what's so great about having four channels involved is that no Euro ties should be left uncovered now, so you wont have situations like last season where Corks inter toto run was largely ignored.
    Oh Jaysuis. they're moaning enough over the fixtures - don't get them started on that!
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Cork City manager Pat Dolan is the latest figure to express his annoyance at the fixtures which were published on Saturday at the League's AGM.
    Thats just Dolan moaning like all Managers (handy to have excuse later) & in that media article is no mention of City launching any campaign.

Brian Lennox was interviewed (see corkcityfc.ie) & said he had no problem with fixtures as all the same.

71 Posts
    I'm surprised that TG4 are getting in on the act. Anyone have any idea how this will work?

Quote Originally Posted by harpskid
    UP to 30 Eircom League games and FAI Cup ties are set to be screened live in a new television deal agreed by the FAI, writes Gerry McDermott.
    This is all just rumour at the moment as nothing announced yet. Is Delaney just using as carrot for the eL to merge with the FAI.

I'd be surprised if this is a 1 season deal as probably a 3 year, 10 game a season deal. Notice the "Up to" section of quote. RTE probably showed 7-8 league & cup games last season anyway. TG4 element is the only real new information.

89 Posts
    If I was a Cork fan I would be investigating getting a judicial review on the NDP and the blantant discrimination in which roads set for improvement in the Munster area have been deliberately held up by the Dublin clubs
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Ah come on lads, Cork is the European City of Culture this year, so the least we can do is let them win the bloody league. With all the arty crap going on down there that nobody has any interest in, at least a league title would give the ordinary Cork man something to celebrate..........Let's throw Dolan a bone (actually on second thoughts, that mightn't be such a good idea. He'd probably try to eat it)

Maribor, I like it

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    I'm surprised that TG4 are getting in on the act. Anyone have any idea how this will work?
    In Irish!

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    Ah come on lads, Cork is the European City of Culture this year, so the least we can do is let them win the bloody league. With all the arty crap going on down there that nobody has any interest in, at least a league title would give the ordinary Cork man something to celebrate..........Let's throw Dolan a bone (actually on second thoughts, that mightn't be such a good idea. He'd probably try to eat it)

What would you know about the so-called "arty crap" that "nobody has any interest in"?

That's just the sort of dismissive, philistine attitude that has rightly earned your town the reputation it enjoys -and so richly deserves.

Believe me, the "ordinary Corkman" (whoever he is) is getting along fine without your condescending attitude.

Good to see TG4 involved. Their GAA National League coverage is excellent and they should have a lot of free airtime during the summer when RTE have the GAA rights.

I've thought for ages that EL live games should be offered free to TG4. Maybe they will show a live game from each round of the Cup or something.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by paudie
    Good to see TG4 involved. Their GAA National League coverage is excellent and they should have a lot of free airtime during the summer when RTE have the GAA rights.

I've thought for ages that EL live games should be offered free to TG4. Maybe they will show a live game from each round of the Cup or something.

TG4 did a really good job on Celtic League rugby as well

Obviously Jim you are definately one of the "ordinary Corkmen".

Quote Originally Posted by observer
    Obviously Jim you are definately one of the "ordinary Corkmen".

No, funnily enough I'm not -I'm a blow-in and no better lad to give them a good slaggin' when they deserve it, which is fairly often.

Quote Originally Posted by jimhacker
    What would you know about the so-called "arty crap" that "nobody has any interest in"?

That's just the sort of dismissive, philistine attitude that has rightly earned your town the reputation it enjoys -and so richly deserves.

Believe me, the "ordinary Corkman" (whoever he is) is getting along fine without your condescending attitude.

Now, now, put the handbag away like a good girl. I know plenty down in Cork, from all walks of life, who can't stop complaining about how the City of Culture programme doesn't really mean anything to them. Obviously you're a cut above the rest Jim

BTW, Cork City has alot more scumbags and is alot more dangerous at night than Limerick will ever be. At least in Limerick you can go out for a night and not end up in a coma in hospital. Aren't ye the ones that are banning any sort of street drinking outside pubs and closing nightspots down early because ye can't control yourselves? City of Culture my a*se

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    Now, now, put the handbag away like a good girl. I know plenty down in Cork, from all walks of life, who can't stop complaining about how the City of Culture programme doesn't really mean anything to them. Obviously you're a cut above the rest Jim

BTW, Cork City has alot more scumbags and is alot more dangerous at night than Limerick will ever be. At least in Limerick you can go out for a night and not end up in a coma in hospital. Aren't ye the ones that are banning any sort of street drinking outside pubs and closing nightspots down early because ye can't control yourselves? City of Culture my a*se

Turners Cross.

Cork City vs Bohs.

Music, humour, Mexican wave, full house etc etc.

Chomund Park.

Munster v Harlequins.

Announcer; " Would the owner of car reg. no xyz please return to it as it has been interfered with " (4 times during the game/4 different cars)

PLUS Garda helicopter hovering overhead all day.

Yeah- nice safe city alright.

Quote Originally Posted by jimhacker
    Yeah- nice safe city alright.
    I never said it was a safe city. Where's Chomund Park anyway?

from fai.ie

The Football Association of Ireland will announce details of a major TV rights agreement for domestic soccer with RTÉ, TG4, and Setanta at a media conference in the Mezzanine Suite, Jury's Hotel, Ballsbridge at 12.00 noon, Tomorrow, Friday 25th February.

Quote Originally Posted by Danny
    from fai.ie

The Football Association of Ireland will announce details of a major TV rights agreement for domestic soccer with RTÉ, TG4, and Setanta at a media conference in the Mezzanine Suite, Jury's Hotel, Ballsbridge at 12.00 noon, Tomorrow, Friday 25th February.
    Great News.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    Great News.
    Not so fast ... we haven't heard it yet !!

We can hardly give them credit for giving media conference now can we

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    We can hardly give them credit for giving media conference now can we
    in fairness, when was the last time they even made that much of an effort

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast