Thread: Expectations for the season

1,104 Posts
    Donald won't leave, I'd be astonished if he did, dynamite wouldn't move him as somebody remarked when he was a bit piqued before. He's too attached now to be leaving over something fairly minor like that

In fairness to Donald, I think the fustration of the minnow crowds we get in flancare are probably getting to him now, despite him overseeing what has happened at the club during his tenure.

I'm going to burst a gut to get mates to these games...... The time is now.

In Ardagh, six miles outta town, there are about six town fans... going to see if I can get another six somewhere.
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

1,104 Posts
    I agree more bodies are needed through the turnstiles, you'd like to think that if we get off to a good start in league and Setanta Cup our crowds will be up but it will need people to make every effort to get all their mates to games. I really do have a good feeling about this season, Alan is a cautious enough individual as regards putting pressure on himself but he is really looking forward to starting off. Pre-season is going well and the squad is determined, here's hoping we can leave our mark again.

Of course I could be overly optimistic but this time last year the buzz was not quite there, Aaron had left and Alan was finding himself snowed under with everything, this time everyone's relaxed and happy and raring to go, the Setanta Cup being a prime target. Roll on March 15 I suppose..

in fairness lads but people are not going tio come out to watch long ball sh*t.im afraid it will be the good old reliable 800 or so

Quote Originally Posted by Wiseguy
    Yeah i think Donald is only trying to ruffle a few feathers.His blood is red and black

If Donald has red and black blood, his time is limited. He must have blood clots!

Ah no, lets hope Donald stays put. LTFC need Donald and Donald needs LTFC. Some POWERful characters pictured at the Town Dinner Dance on the Longford Leader and News this week ! Wonder what Ray Houghton made of it all??

Great to see Town training over in Spain. Playing against opposition like Sevilla is what the club needs to bring it forward, even if it is only a training match.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sonic
    in fairness lads but people are not going tio come out to watch long ball sh*t.im afraid it will be the good old reliable 800 or so
    Nice and positive as always Sonic..When the manager of Sevilla is impressed with your type of football, and he specifically said this, I'll back his judgment over most. It's live football, how does a few fellas running around on a screen compare, if that's the case I'll play Playsation football instead, the standard is always good there. I'll never understand the 'barstool' mentality.

I said it before and i'll say it again. We are very lucky to have a successful soccer team on our doorstep.There are towns around the country which have nothing and would kill for what we have.The sooner people realise this the better for all concerned.Kids can idolise players they see in the flesh week in and week out and get a chance to meet their heroes and perhaps kick a ball with them.This is the league they should be following and hoping to play in and the EL is still very much a family league with none of the problems that exist in other leagues.Parents should be making an extra effort to bring their kids to EL matches and EL clubs should be making a huge effort to get them in.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian
    Nice and positive as always Sonic..When the manager of Sevilla is impressed with your type of football, and he specifically said this, I'll back his judgment over most. It's live football, how does a few fellas running around on a screen compare, if that's the case I'll play Playsation football instead, the standard is always good there. I'll never understand the 'barstool' mentality.

Get real longfordian.Longford Towns tactics are to get the ball up as quickly as possible to the front two.Its been like that ever since Matthews took charge.Im only telling you the truth.Through thick and all the lads on foot.ie will be in flancare park every week no matter what the standard of football is.All im saying is we are not going to get numbers in the gate unless the standard of football and our league position improves.That is fact.

1,104 Posts
    I disagree, at times it can be like that but that's not a definite plan. If you take the Shels 4-1 game as an example I would say we played pretty decent stuff in that game. There was a long running thread on the General forum about which fans would prefer, 'nice football' or trophies, and 90% of posters said success is more important to them than the style of football. It's too much of a generalisation to say it's all hoofing to the front men. Every team does it to a certain extent but I don't believe we're any worse than the rest of them. People in Longford have a terrible record of attendance in all sports and are just too fookin lazy to go to matches except cup finals.

Kenny's teams were to be fair more attack minded but we got numerous hamerings because they were exposed defensively. The most important thing in my view is that we remain successful. Anyway this has all been done before, you have your opinion and I've got mine so no point going over it again but I don't feel I need to 'get real'

1,104 Posts
    Well fair enough but I wouldn't think that big an attendance is the norm, I know those that go to more GAA games than I do have often come away very disappointed with the turn out. At the end of the day, as Dave O'Leary says, we all know crowds need to be pushed up, but it's fair to say that a surprisingly small percentage of our fans are from Longford Town itself and a good number are coming regularly from Roscommon and Cavan and some from Leitrim
    Last edited by Longfordian; 28/02/2005 at 4:55 PM.

reason 4 big gaa crowd

just over 3000 saw longford v fermanagh, but that was cos fermanagh were all ireland semi-finalists, who took mayo to a replay!!!last year when they were a nothing team and played longford in pearse park in longford's most important game of year, a relegation decider, only 1100 showed up!!so longfordian was right, no matter what the sport, longford peeps only come out 4 the big occassion

There were 3000 plus in Pearse Park, but more than half came from Fermanagh, imo, Longford crowd were very quite until well into the second half. Fermanaghs following is bit like us going to Athlone for the cup game!

Thumbs down

Gates are effected by the standard of play no matter what the sport or what the venue. It is also a fact that if the play is of a high standard then the team will be enjoying success on the field of play. Over the last few years Longfords best performances have been away from home and this has resulted in home attendances falling off as the entertainment value was low to say the least. I have no doubt that a contributary factor to the bad home performances has been Matthews tactic of reducing the size of the pitch when "better footballing teams" (not my opinion by the way) come to Flancare. This results in no room for Kirby, Prunty, Barrett to perform to their maximum. The team have produced great performances away from home where the pitch size was not reduced. I have said it before and I say it again, Alan should trust in the football ability of his players rather than giving them the message that they are not good enough to compete with the top teams without gimmicky tactics.

Cop on, how would they have taken in 40k? There was less than 4,000 at the match and kids, students and oaps are not paying full whack. I'd say the gate was around 24 or 25 tops. In saying that wouldn it be great to get that at a Town match!

Think the money at the gate is beside the point, tbh.

It's not just a Longford problem, it's a national problem. The Irish as a nation are great for the one off big games, but are brutal at supporting teams throughout a league season.

Compare GAA league attendances to championship
    Compare Celtic League (never mind AIL) to Heineken Cup
    Compare eL games to big FAI cup games

Longford is just a microcosm of a nation of glory hunters.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Irish Independent in big bold letters. 40,000 taken in at the gate. (Mc Gee would hardly have printed a lie, as there would be other implications!)
    Could be a simple 4000 x €10 calculation by himself. What's the prices into Pearse Park?

Cop on, McGee posted an opinion, not a fact. I was at the match, and unless every punter paid over and above the admission price there was no way they could take in 40k.

Very true. But I wouldn't say its confined to Ireland. Its true worldwide...
    To a certain extent I would agree, but the swing in Ireland never ceases to amaze me.

I mean, due to distance I'm a fine one to talk, but I certainly don't write off the crap games - I can either make it or not no matter who the opposition are. Not sure the same can be said for some of the Longford based that are interested in hearing the score when you get back to the pubs but wouldn't bother their hole to go out to the ground for anything less than a Cup Quarter final...

1,104 Posts
    Oh come off it. Pearse park regularly gets big crowds. Even for bad auld club games they get big crowds. Do you really think that a small % of our crowd are from Longford ? (And if so, why is there such a drastic drop in attendances at the Flansiro if there is a match in Pearse Park at the same time ??)
    I said the town of Longford, and I stick by it. The people of Longford town don't support the Gaa much either, Slashers don't get anyone going to their games and they'd be the local club.

Longford is a garrison town and garrison towns traditionally support soccer. By the way Cop On, Longford Slashers have won more county championships in the past 30 years than any other Longford club and they still have no support in the town. Gaelic Football clubs in Athlone and Mullingar have historically had the same problem however they have enjoyed more support in recent years on the back of Westmeaths successes on the inter county front and the demise of Athlone Town as a soccer team.