Thread: LOI Fixtures May 26th +

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Trainee View Post
    Read this on Galway utd forum

"Rumours swirling around Facebook and Twitter that Bray have missed payments to some players in the last few weeks. Apparently they didn't even try last night against Rovers, could explain their dip in form over the last couple of weeks."

No smoke with out fire so Im sure we will hear more of this story over next few days/weeks.
    Can i claim to be that smoke in relation to the didnt try bit?

In relation to the mcallister red ive only watched it now after avoiding soccer republic for obvious reasons to see why people are so upset about it and in fairness to mcallister 9/10 times thats not a red. You see 50 of them a game in sunday league and not even a free given. You're told as a kid you get hurt when you go into a challenge half hearted or pull out last minute and that's what maguire did. I'll be the first to say mcallister isnt the best at timing his tackles to say the least but that one wasn't late, high or malicious, he just followed through his kick maybe a bit too much and since maguire pulled out he was in the path of the follow through. It was probably a free and a yellow for the follow through but not a red. To put it in comparison he got red for kicking a player on his follow through after kicking a ball while Dylan Connelly got a yellow for walking up to a player and kicking them with the ball 30 meters away. Now if I'm giving one of them a yellow and one a red i know which one I'm giving what and its not the same as what the refs gave.

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Can i claim to be that smoke in relation to the didnt try bit?

In relation to the mcallister red ive only watched it now after avoiding soccer republic for obvious reasons to see why people are so upset about it and in fairness to mcallister 9/10 times thats not a red. You see 50 of them a game in sunday league and not even a free given. You're told as a kid you get hurt when you go into a challenge half hearted or pull out last minute and that's what maguire did. I'll be the first to say mcallister isnt the best at timing his tackles to say the least but that one wasn't late, high or malicious, he just followed through his kick maybe a bit too much and since maguire pulled out he was in the path of the follow through. It was probably a free and a yellow for the follow through but not a red. To put it in comparison he got red for kicking a player on his follow through after kicking a ball while Dylan Connelly got a yellow for walking up to a player and kicking them with the ball 30 meters away. Now if I'm giving one of them a yellow and one a red i know which one I'm giving what and its not the same as what the refs gave.
    Thank god someone else out there agrees with me, I couldn't understand
    all the uproar about the tackle having watched SR last night. I think the players reaction to the tackle made a bigger thing out of it than it was. Also never a straight red in the harps game. Barely a yellow ffs

415 Posts
    Yup fully agree. McAllister hard tackle alright but not a red. Don't think the ref was going to send him off at all till all the Cork players started making such a big deal about it.

420 Posts
    Don't think was a red for Harps either tbh. The lads in the North don't have it any better than us cos that ref we had up there was truly awful.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Don't think was a red for Harps either tbh. The lads in the North don't have it any better than us cos that ref we had up there was truly awful.
    I actually thought the ref was very good up until the last ten minutes or so. At least a marked improvement on what we normally see in Finn Park.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I actually thought the ref was very good up until the last ten minutes or so. At least a marked improvement on what we normally see in Finn Park.
    Ye must be getting even worse than usual LOI terrible refs then. Can see why ye wouldn't think he was bad considering it was ye he was letting off with the ridiculous time wasting and game killing antics though. Not a complaint about ye btw everyone knows what Harps are and it gets results but he never got a grip on the time wasting at all and some of the challenges he let go were mental considering the red he did give.

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Thank god someone else out there agrees with me, I couldn't understand
    all the uproar about the tackle having watched SR last night. I think the players reaction to the tackle made a bigger thing out of it than it was. Also never a straight red in the harps game. Barely a yellow ffs
    The only problem with the tackle was maguire pulled out and because of that he was in the path of the follow through. As I said when you start playing as a kid and tackles begin to get hard the one thing a good coach will tell you is pull out and you get hurt and that's what happened. If I got sent off for that in one of my games I'd be raging nevermind in a close game at 1-1 it's actually disgraceful to give that red but typical of our refs to be bullied into it.
    The wait goes on for a fair game against Cork this season. :P

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Ye must be getting even worse than usual LOI terrible refs then. Can see why ye wouldn't think he was bad considering it was ye he was letting off with the ridiculous time wasting and game killing antics though. Not a complaint about ye btw everyone knows what Harps are and it gets results but he never got a grip on the time wasting at all and some of the challenges he let go were mental considering the red he did give.
    Eh, what? What tackles?

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Eh, what? What tackles?
    Nothing mental like but was plenty of little trips and pulls and pushes that were definite frees that he didn't bother with. My biggest problem was him doing absolutely nothing to combat the time wasting what made it hilarious was he then told us to hurry up over a throw at 3-1 down. How many times did one of your players go down "injured" in fairness?

1,552 Posts
    I thought the ref last Friday started well but was increasingly poor in second half. Overall reasonably impressed with IFA refs- this is probably not so much because they are better, more because they have fewer pre conceptions so call things more as they see them.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    The only problem with the tackle was maguire pulled out and because of that he was in the path of the follow through. As I said when you start playing as a kid and tackles begin to get hard the one thing a good coach will tell you is pull out and you get hurt and that's what happened. If I got sent off for that in one of my games I'd be raging nevermind in a close game at 1-1 it's actually disgraceful to give that red but typical of our refs to be bullied into it.
    The wait goes on for a fair game against Cork this season. :P
    Yea you're right.
    It was all Maguires fault
    If ye don't fancy the refs then why not bring your own like Dundalk.
    O'Donnell has been reffing their games for a few seasons now without any complaints from them

The truth is LOI referees are poor but they're poor for everyone.

195 Posts
    Big game in the 1st division tonight.
    Currently - Cabo 2 - 1 UCD

*Ninja edit

195 Posts
    3-3

UCD come from 3-1 down.Cabo down to 10 men and about 8 mins to play.

2,446 Posts
    3-3 in Stradbrook. Donegal man Georgie Kelly is absolutely flying at UCD, two more goals for him tonight.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by disgruntled View Post
    Yea you're right.
    It was all Maguires fault
    If ye don't fancy the refs then why not bring your own like Dundalk.
    O'Donnell has been reffing their games for a few seasons now without any complaints from them

The truth is LOI referees are poor but they're poor for everyone.
    Hard to believe anyone has the audacity to question the Cork saints. Maguire was clearly assaulted again and the players are well within their rights to surround and bollick the ref until they got the desired outcome.

Disappointingly O'Donnell won't be reffing tomorrow night as Kenny has realised that we haven't had a decision against Cork in 4 years. We have written to the FAI and requested a fair and impartial ref, so I believe Mr Tayto is being appointed

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    Hard to believe anyone has the audacity to question the Cork saints. Maguire was clearly assaulted again and the players are well within their rights to surround and bollick the ref until they got the desired outcome.

Disappointingly O'Donnell won't be reffing tomorrow night as Kenny has realised that we haven't had a decision against Cork in 4 years. We have written to the FAI and requested a fair and impartial ref, so I believe Mr Tayto is being appointed
    Tbh I was suprised the Gardai didn't intervene

19. Thanks From:

698 Posts
    Cork are looking for an increase in mcalister ban to life without parole

Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post

I'd have thought you have enough crisps at Oriel already or was that the old pitch?

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I'd have thought you have enough crisps at Oriel already or was that the old pitch?
    Longford getting relegated really messed us up

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    I'd say there won't be any crisps on sale in oriel tonight, might end up getting us a penalty

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast