Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: eL fixtures released

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    agreed. as i said, we need to be realistic about things. And people giving out that its a fix etc won't do anyone ANY favours.
    Yeah but it won't do any harm to express our unhappiness at this whole situation either. I'd much rather see people giving out about it like Dolan is rather than see people just sitting back and excepting it.
    The longer we except this shoddy treatment the longer we are going to be screwed around with.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Yeah but it won't do any harm to express our unhappiness at this whole situation either. I'd much rather see people giving out about it like Dolan is rather than see people just sitting back and excepting it.
    The longer we except this shoddy treatment the longer we are going to be screwed around with.
    I dunno. Look at the reaction of most people on this board to this thread. Are they sympathetic to us? No. Now think of the league as a whole- I'd iamgine their reaction will be similar. As I've said, we got a raw deal, no doubt, and we have every right to be annoyed. But if it wasn't us, it would have been someone else, and will be someone else next year. I'm not saying we shouldn't feel unhappy about it (if for nothing else, it means me spending more time on the road ) but the suggestion that CCFC was singled out and deliberatley given a raw deal sounds paranoid and childish.

Dolan has made his point, as he is entitled to. Unfortunatley, he chose to have another pop at Shels over it, which I think was just pointless and will only get people's backs up. The point has been made, so I trust we won't hear about it again: i.e. it won't be brought up as an excuse for poor results, or a poor league placing later in the season? Point made, now we have a job to do, so lets do it. I'm delighted to see Dolan stick up for City, but I'm sure other people in the club are doing their bit to sort this out too.

You and I (as do all City fans) know that we've got some shít decisions against us in the past. And we've complained about it. It hasn't changed anything. The only thing we can do is say "fúck you all, we'll go and win it anyway." And thats what I want to see
    Last edited by Éanna; 22/02/2005 at 3:35 PM.

Dolan has made his point, as he is entitled to. Unfortunatley, he chose to have another pop at Shels over it, which I think was just pointless and will only get people's backs up.
    So you don't think Ollie Byrne's bully boy tactics had anything to do with it? I'd be very surprised if that wasn't the case. No other club has someone like him who will kick up a stink until he gets his own way. Dolan was dead right to single Shels out.

And don't be worrying how other clubs fans react to it, when have they ever been sympathetic to City in the past? Nothing new here.
    Champions!

So you don't think Ollie Byrne's bully boy tactics had anything to do with it? I'd be very surprised if that wasn't the case. No other club has someone like him who will kick up a stink until he gets his own way. Dolan was dead right to single Shels out.
    Maybe they did, maybe they didn't. I'd say they probably did. But how is moaning about it going to change anything? Ollie is there to stay, and nothing- not Dolan complaining, nor you, nor me- will change that. By giving out about him and blaming everything on him, it gives him great ammunition to turn around and say "they're mad/paranoid/jealous." Last season ONE win against Shels would have won us the league. We didn't get that win, because they were better than us. So the solution is to be better and to beat them. You don't win trophies by talking. Colm, you know better than most what I think of shels. I've never liked tham, and never will. But CCFC, and Dolan in particular, are becoming like the boy who cried wolf at this stage. We're right to complain about Ollie, and the league and all these other things- but if we keep it up at this rate, people will just stop listening. And where will that get us?

And don't be worrying how other clubs fans react to it, when have they ever been sympathetic to City in the past? Nothing new here.
    I'm not worried about it. The point I'm making is if they show us no sympathy, then the other clubs are unlikely to show us sympathy either. And if the other clubs react to us like this at the next eircom League meeting, then we're in for a rough ride. We're actually making things worse for ourselves.

Allusions to Dissociative-State Phenomena in Black Sabbath and Ozzy Osbourne Lyrics

In other words, Paranoid!

I want to move to Cork so that I can blame everything on everyone else.
    But they won't let me!

I dunno. Look at the reaction of most people on this board to this thread. Are they sympathetic to us? No. Now think of the league as a whole- I'd iamgine their reaction will be similar.
    Are you for real ..... why should i look at the reaction of people in this thread. Go back and see who is making the posts. The same people who are always on here when they feel the need to stick the knife in .... but are well gone when the table turns a degree towards them. Anyone can pick out half a post (or suggest something that wasn't even posted) and get a dig in and avoid what is ACTUALLY being said altogether.

And no ... this board isn't a cross section of the leagues opinion and i say this because YOU DONT KNOW other peoples opinion. To claims so is childish.

As I've said, we got a raw deal, no doubt, and we have every right to be annoyed.But if it wasn't us, it would have been someone else, and will be someone else next year.
    And that makes it alright ..... you are way off here Eanna ..... I said all along that if this fixture were make with a system in place then it would be fine, software what ever. THEY WEREN'T .... That is my gripe about them (i am saying this cos you have quoted me on a number of occasions)

I'm not saying we shouldn't feel unhappy about it
    I should hope not .... because you wouldn't be listened to.

(if for nothing else, it means me spending more time on the road )
    You'd want to get a milage card at this stage with the ground you cover.

but the suggestion that CCFC was singled out and deliberatley given a raw deal sounds paranoid and childish.
    I didn't say City were singled out, BUT i did say .... we have got the worst possible deal out of it. While others have got the best ..... I dont give a care, i am not going to hide it .... i am fúcked off over it. Someone made out these fixtures and in my opinion it leaves him wide open for any abuse from ANY club that it effects.

IF ..... software or a transparent system were used then i would be píssed off but wouldn't grumble because it was FAIRLY compiled fixtures.

[size=1]Dolan has made his point, as he is entitled to. Unfortunatley, he chose to have another pop at Shels over it, which I think was just pointless and will only get people's backs up. The point has been made, so I trust we won't hear about it again: i.e. it won't be brought up as an excuse for poor results, or a poor league placing later in the season? Point made, now we have a job to do, so lets do it. I'm delighted to see Dolan stick up for City, but I'm sure other people in the club are doing their bit to sort this out too. [/size]
    Ahh ... what has this got to do with the fixtures.

You and I (as do all City fans) know that we've got some shít decisions against us in the past. And we've complained about it. It hasn't changed anything. The only thing we can do is say "fúck you all, we'll go and win it anyway." And thats what I want to see
    Hear hear fella !!
    Last edited by A face; 22/02/2005 at 5:25 PM.

Just out of interest, how could the eL have done it any better? And also, if next seasons fixtures where this season, would City fans be up in arms saying its unfair that Bohs have to go North twice, and that they have to come here twice?

Time to get over it lads.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

You don't half talk some shíte. If Ollie Byrne had anything to do with it beleive me, the first thing that would have happened is we'd have played Bohs twice in Tolka. He couldn't care less where we play Cork. That was the big issue for us, and he mentioned that himself before the fixtures came out, and it's gone the other way, ffs you've a better record in Tolka then in the Cross against us!

Next year the fixtures switch, a fact that seems to be behind common sense on the que to Cork, because next season Shels, Ollie Byrne and all, will have more away games than home games and will be in Turners Cross twice, bar any change to the league structure that is. So unless the evil genius that controls the universe and is single handedly responsible for Cork not being the best team in the world, Ollie Byrne, plans to try and get some sort of groundhog day situaton going where we'll just constantly play the 2005 season over and over again, next season Cork will have a major advantage.

Will you moan then? Will you say Pat Dolans whinging has influenced the fixture makers? Did Dolan moan when he played Shels twice in Inchicore and once in Tolka and won the league by a whisker? No.

Dolan is, as usual, ranting about Shels blindly and I can't believe anyone pays any attention to what he has to say in the media anymore. It's beyond a joke at this stage, all it will do is eventually get beaten into your players that they've no chance to win the league as they're all against them, so I'm happy for him to continue.

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    !!
    Sorry, forgot for a nanosec you were from Cork! UDI = Unilateral Declaration of Independance
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Next year the fixtures switch, a fact that seems to be behind common sense on the que to Cork, because next season Shels, Ollie Byrne and all, will have more away games than home games and will be in Turners Cross twice, bar any change to the league structure that is.
    Slash .... picture this ..... you have a wage bill that is spiralling as we speak, you may have to get rid of some players on the cheap to curb it the lack of funds, they will go to other Dub clubs who will all be looking to take points of you that year (if you are not backrupt by then) you are planning to move grounds aswell and sure to have added costs in there. You may not make it to Europe and could face a possible dent in sponsorship raising capabilities along with other lack of funds in which Europe can bring. You now face a set of fixtures where the clubs that will probably be at the top of the table again and will have to play them away twice and all this because your two-bit tin pan league couldn't sort out the fixtures properly the first time round. The current system isn't ideal ... we've all established that by now. But where the f**k is the sense in making a bad set of fixtures even worse. You league just gave you a big kick in the teeth and you turn around smiling ..... ahh .... err ... i think not !!

I never said that the system wasn't a joke or that the fixtures are fair, it's this whole conspiracy theory that everyones out to get Cork and Ollie Byrne picked the fixtures and all of the rubbish people have been saying that gets me. There is no conspiracy, there is no anti Cork agenda, Ollie Byrne didn't hand pick the bleedin' fixtures himself, it's simply sheer stupidity on the part of the FAI in giving us this stupid system in the first place. No more, no less. The usual paranoid blame Ollie for everyone fantasies that some people come up with do nobody any good, blame the FAI and anyone who voted for this absolutley crazy 12 team league at the AGM.

And the fixtures will be reversed next year anyway.

Are you for real ..... why should i look at the reaction of people in this thread. Go back and see who is making the posts. The same people who are always on here when they feel the need to stick the knife in .... but are well gone when the table turns a degree towards them. Anyone can pick out half a post (or suggest something that wasn't even posted) and get a dig in and avoid what is ACTUALLY being said altogether.
    There are a number of posters on here who are very reasonable and sane in their postings, and they've reacted badly to this thread. If (and I say IF)the other clubs react like that, then we're in for a rough ride.

And no ... this board isn't a cross section of the leagues opinion
    This board is as good an indicator of opinion across the league's fans as we have. Its not perfect, its not scientific, but it does offer some clues.
    i say this because YOU DONT KNOW other peoples opinion. To claims so is childish.
    I don't know other people's opinion? I know the opinion of the people who've posted on this thread. Which is what I was talking about. I would never be so stupid as to claim I knew what every eircom League fan is thinking, but then I never said anything like that, did I?

And that makes it alright ..... you are way off here Eanna ..... I said all along that if this fixture were make with a system in place then it would be fine, software what ever. THEY WEREN'T .... That is my gripe about them (i am saying this cos you have quoted me on a number of occasions)
    I'm not way off. It happened to be us. It could have been someone else, and it will be next year. Thats a fact. And no it doesn't make it alright. As for your gripe, I agree, totally.

I should hope not .... because you wouldn't be listened to.
    too right.

You'd want to get a milage card at this stage with the ground you cover.
    probably

I didn't say City were singled out, BUT i did say .... we have got the worst possible deal out of it. While others have got the best ..... I dont give a care, i am not going to hide it .... i am fúcked off over it. Someone made out these fixtures and in my opinion it leaves him wide open for any abuse from ANY club that it effects.
    Others have implied that we were singled out. I never accused you of saying it. Agree with the rest of what you say.

IF ..... software or a transparent system were used then i would be píssed off but wouldn't grumble because it was FAIRLY compiled fixtures.
    likewise. But my point is that grumbling won't change anything.

Ahh ... what has this got to do with the fixtures.
    I think I posted that in reply to something Colm said. And while its not directly related to the fixtures, it was relevant to other points that have been brought up on the thread.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    I never said that the system wasn't a joke or that the fixtures are fair, it's this whole conspiracy theory that everyones out to get Cork and Ollie Byrne picked the fixtures and all of the rubbish people have been saying that gets me. There is no conspiracy, there is no anti Cork agenda, Ollie Byrne didn't hand pick the bleedin' fixtures himself, it's simply sheer stupidity on the part of the FAI in giving us this stupid system in the first place. No more, no less. The usual paranoid blame Ollie for everyone fantasies that some people come up with do nobody any good, blame the FAI and anyone who voted for this absolutley crazy 12 team league at the AGM.

And the fixtures will be reversed next year anyway.
    ****in hell, I hate agreeing with shels fans

likewise. But my point is that grumbling won't change anything.
    I know but what else is there to do ..... banging our heads off the wall doesn't do much either

I think I posted that in reply to something Colm said. And while its not directly related to the fixtures, it was relevant to other points that have been brought up on the thread.
    Fair nuff, thought it was me.

Slash, conspiracy ..... i didn't mention it once in any of my posts. You are including other people opinions in with mine.

I am still píssed off though !!

Slash, conspiracy ..... i didn't mention it once in any of my posts. You are including other people opinions in with mine.

I am still píssed off though !!
    Yeah I didn't mean specfically you with that reply, I was just explaining why I was so annoyed with what people have been saying in this thread (And in the media )

Two points :

Firstly - all clubs signed-up to the 12 team league, and approved its fixtures at the AGM. Therefore, all clubs - including Cork - bear and share the responsibility. Waiting to see if lady luck has been kind to you or not with the fixtures before complaining about a decision your own club was party to is just childish and f*cking pathetic.....

Secondly - we're stuck with the 12 team 3 rounds system, because all our clubs agreed it through the appropriate channels. It's inevitable that some clubs will feel disadvantaged by the inherent imbalance between home and away games. So for everyone who's moaning about this - what's your solution ? Again - given that your own club voted for it all to happen and it's probably too late to change it now ?

****in hell, I hate agreeing with shels fans
    Its better if just skip their posts, that way no danger of compromising yourself

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Two points :

Firstly - all clubs signed-up to the 12 team league, and approved its fixtures at the AGM. Therefore, all clubs - including Cork - bear and share the responsibility. Waiting to see if lady luck has been kind to you or not with the fixtures before complaining about a decision your own club was party to is just childish and f*cking pathetic.....

Secondly - we're stuck with the 12 team 3 rounds system, because all our clubs agreed it through the appropriate channels. It's inevitable that some clubs will feel disadvantaged by the inherent imbalance between home and away games. So for everyone who's moaning about this - what's your solution ? Again - given that your own club voted for it all to happen and it's probably too late to change it now ?
    couldn't agree more

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Two points :
    I know what you're saying and they're valid points but (and i dont know this) did Cork City sign up for both ?? obviously a majority did but how did it pan out. There was a majority in the first div. anyway.

And Steve, i dont agree with everything my club does either ... you'd be mad to.

Anyway ... i think this one has been through the ringer at this stage and as said already, it ain't gonna change.
    Last edited by A face; 22/02/2005 at 11:18 PM.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast