Thread: City Fixture Breakdown - could it be any harder?

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by SSS
    This fixture thing is a joke.
    Dolan said on BRB yesterday that the fixtures aren't even done by computer - it's all down to an individual (Michael Hayes or something). The same guy who had us all over the shop last season (how many weeks was it without a home game?).
    You got to be sh!tting me? I was just going to put it down bad luck cos of crappy 3 series league but hearing this was CREATED with pen & paper is making me angry. If was 4 series of fixtures then men & paper man would be deciding when the games are played which would be bad enough but with just 3 he actually decides what games take place. How could anyone be allowed to decide that???????

Just going a google will give huge list of league management & fixture creating software!

FourFiveOne display on match day 1 should be protest about how fixtures have come about!

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Actually, all 3 are in Tolka I think.
    bohs play rovers at home twice, both will be ind alymount, why would we move them to tolka?

clown.

Quote Originally Posted by Gary
    Throw in the fact that that day is Good Friday, and you are looking at a super poor attendence.
    what else is there to do on good friday?

bohs played rovers on good friday in the cup semi final in 2001 and the crowd was 8000.

thats the biggest bohs-rovers crowd in the past 12 seasons since the epic cup trilogy in february 1994 [11th anniversary today of the 2nd replay]

If anyone wants to work it out with this, we should get a better picture.

Lads, as Eanna said, we'll just have to do it the hard way. If the club canb appeal it or whatever then fair enough but if not ... then it is time to put up or shut up.

Away support will play a very big part this year and fans should consider that when then decide if they are going to games or not.

Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die
    bohs play rovers at home twice, both will be ind alymount, why would we move them to tolka?

clown.

Wasn't that one of the conditions if Rovers played in Dalymount, that home games between the two are played in a neutral ground and Tolka was choosen for these games.

This was because the residents know about the scum element of both clubs.

Is this still the case ??

1,103 Posts
    Michael Hayes is the general manager of the Eircom League and he drew up the fixtures alright, to add to your annoyance, guess what club he came from originally..Waterford .

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Wasn't that one of the conditions if Rovers played in Dalymount, that home games between the two are played in a neutral ground and Tolka was choosen for these games.

This was because the residents know about the scum element of both clubs.

Is this still the case ??
    it was NEVER the case.

rovers have talked about playing their home game[s] against us in tolka, but what possible reason is there for Bohs moving their home games?

delighted with the 2 trips to waterford. love that trip... be great to get another 1-4 win

If anyone wants to work it out with this, we should get a better picture.

Lads, as Eanna said, we'll just have to do it the hard way. If the club canb appeal it or whatever then fair enough but if not ... then it is time to put up or shut up.

Away support will play a very big part this year and fans should consider that when then decide if they are going to games or not.
    I went to 3 aways games last season and the City support was just brillent. I hope to go to alot more this season. I just have to find someone to go with. I will prob be able to sort that out. Ian's buses were a greatb laugh. Fair play to him.

Those fixtures are a disgrace. We get 2 games at home with the likes of Bray and UCD but have to go to Bohs, Shels and Rovers twice?

Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die
    it was NEVER the case.

rovers have talked about playing their home game[s] against us in tolka, but what possible reason is there for Bohs moving their home games?
    Alright ... fair enough like

Thats what everyone was lead to believe here on the first thread about it.
    Sure Tolka is only up the raod anyway so it would have been more or less a home game for ye, like alot of your other fixtures this season.
    Sure you'll all be bookin' holidays at the end of the season as you'll barely see the outside of Dublin all season.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Are they trying to ensure that Bohs win it this year?
    They'll need to do alot more than that to make that happen.

Alright ... fair enough like

Thats what everyone was lead to believe here on the first thread about it.
    Sure Tolka is only up the raod anyway so it would have been more or less a home game for ye, like alot of your other fixtures this season.
    Sure you'll all be bookin' holidays at the end of the season as you'll barely see the outside of Dublin all season.
    Tolka Park is not our home, and never will be.

I think Good Friday is great day for game as nothing else open.

Quote Originally Posted by DE TOWN
    They have 2 away games .....Waterford.

Bray and Drogheda are basically in Dublin

**** Dublin Suberbs
    They have 6:
    Away to Waterford x 2
    then City,
    Derry,
    Harps,
    Longford once each.
    The league is making sure they don't have to spend too much money, and given that they are in a slight bit of finacial trouble, this smacks of extreme favouritism......

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    They have 6:
    Away to Waterford x 2
    then City,
    Derry,
    Harps,
    Longford once each.
    The league is making sure they don't have to spend too much money, and given that they are in a slight bit of finacial trouble, this smacks of extreme favouritism......
    Sorry. Thought you meant out of SPA, Bray and UCD, Waterford and Drogs.

56 Posts

fixture shambles

Lads and lassies, as a ramblers fan I agree that you have been royally shafted by the eL, whatever dweeb dreamt up these fixtures seems to have it in for us as well, we have to travel to Monaghan for a league fixture in midweek!!! Only in this country could it happen.
    ''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''

Lightbulb Fixtures Debunked

2 Away Games
    1. shels
    3. bohs
    5. waterford
    6. longford
    9. rovers
    11.Harps

2 Home Games
    4. drogs
    7. derry
    8. pats
    12. ucd
    13. Bray

2001-2002

2 Home Games
    shels
    bohs
    rovers
    Harps
    dundalk
    monaghan

2 Away Games
    derry
    pats
    ucd
    Bray
    longford
    galway

Seems like straight swop afterall. Don't know how they decide the replacement teams. Stupid system nonetheless.
    Last edited by pete; 21/02/2005 at 9:43 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by pete

2 Away Games
    1. shels
    3. bohs
    5. waterford
    6. longford
    9. rovers
    11.Harps

2 Home Games
    4. drogs
    7. derry
    8. pats
    12. ucd
    13. Bray

2001-2002

2 Home Games
    shels
    bohs
    rovers
    Harps
    dundalk
    monaghan

2 Away Games
    derry
    pats
    ucd
    Bray
    longford
    galway

Seems like straight swop afterall. Don't know how they decide the replacement teams. Stupid system nonetheless.
    At least there appears to have been some logic behind the fixture list. We can't complain if its a reverse of the last 33 game season.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    • City play 1 extra away game from the 33.
    Bring Back Gunther!