Page 5 of 37 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup 2017

2,337 Posts
    Roddy Collins planning an assault on the FAI Cup.

870 Posts
    Not as if the cup already hasnt a number of dents!

28 Posts
    Rovers really do have the makings of a good young team and hopefully the patience of the fans remains to give our young manager the chance to blossom. Whatever you think about the team it is really refreshing to see some passion on the pitch, 5/6 red cards this season i see as a positive,, as a long time Hooper said to me at least "they are kicking people now they just have to learn when" Supporters really feel at least this group give a Fcuk. Against Derry we done alright and went chasing the game, one criticism of our manager though would be not telling our keeper to stay the fcuk put, we were having a right good go at that stage and would have had time for one more decent raid on their goal. I was really impressed by the fans reaction to the team at the final whistle cheering the team who had come over to the east stand. 1 nil last night with their keeper man of the match, so what, move on, Raging Bohs were beaten, Rovers Bohs final, now that would be special.
    Last edited by Kingswood Rover; 12/08/2017 at 8:15 PM.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts
    Limerick cruising against Cobh at HT. Negative appraisal misplaced.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Not the best game in bray but always nice to get through. Sadlier missed a pen but took his goal well a few minutes later. Very small crowd

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Thanks. I didn't realise there such such depth to his comments.
    I really need to pay more attention in future to his utterances
    Rather than focus endlessly on what Bradley says , you should reflect on how inarticulate Kenny is , he may be very successful as a manager but his interview skills are extremely poor.

It never ceases to amaze me how in a short one/two minute interview he can manage to pepper his comments with a litany of ".. you know.." , "..what l mean like you know.." ad nauseam and will regularly top and tail a single sentence with "..you know..".

And for the most part he never makes much sense as he comes across as being camera shy and it's almost like he's talking to himself - he could do himself a lot of good by going on a media skills training course, he's a smart guy and obviously leaves nothing to chance in preparing the team- pity he lets himself and by extension Dundalk down by being so poor on camera.

Anyway let's hope Dave Barry is never tasked with interviewing Kenny !!
    Last edited by Calcio Jack; 12/08/2017 at 10:16 PM.

28 Posts
    Longford 4-2 Sligo AET

1,081 Posts
    We're on the march with Fenny's army

We've had little to shout about this season so that'll do nicely to keep some bit of interest alive. Couple of new signings coming up with goals too, always welcome. Apparently Peter Hopkins had a great game, signed from Sheriff via Pats u19s I think.

637 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    Rather than focus endlessly on what Bradley says , you should reflect on how inarticulate Kenny is , he may be very successful as a manager but his interview skills are extremely poor.

It never ceases to amaze me how in a short one/two minute interview he can manage to pepper his comments with a litany of ".. you know.." , "..what l mean like you know.." ad nauseam and will regularly top and tail a single sentence with "..you know..".

And for the most part he never makes much sense as he comes across as being camera shy and it's almost like he's talking to himself - he could do himself a lot of good by going on a media skills training course, he's a smart guy and obviously leaves nothing to chance in preparing the team- pity he lets himself and by extension Dundalk down by being so poor on camera.

Don't waste your time calcio he's obsessed. Take it as a compliment

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Don't waste your time calcio he's obsessed. Take it as a compliment
    You will anyway as you misread or misunderstand every post 🙄

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post

I agree, Stephen Kenny doesnt seem the most comfortable with a microphone shoved in front of him. He often settles in to interviews after a minute or two. He seems more considered with his responses than anything else but one thing he doesnt do is throw things in like 'so called' like ye know. Bradley is bland on tv, i hope he is better in the dressing room or his players will be asleep. Croly was just too nice, Buckley ah sure look it, Caulfield look its tough like, Horgan we are awful, Ulster Senior League for us next season, Sheils the dugouts, the pitch, the bus, the colour of the changing rooms. I'm sure no fan could care less about the media ability of managers if there are trophies in the cabinet - Bradley could court the media like Roddy Collins for all Rovers fans care as long as he never got 'em relegated...

2,337 Posts
    Bluebell easily beat Sheriff 3-0 this morning.

Galway 1-0 down after two minutes against Killester.

637 Posts
    Expected Sherrif to win that one

386 Posts
    We were a thundering disgrace last night

2,337 Posts
    Evergreen 0-1 Drogheda
    Portmarnock 0-1 Pats
    Killester 1-0 Galway

All into the second half now.

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    We were a thundering disgrace last night
    Unbelievably it was our first home win over ye since the 88/89 season.when we beat ye in 05 season it was in the showgrounds in league cup so its a massive relief to get the monkey off our back.
    Crowd was a disappointingly 667. I never saw a Sligo rovers fan base so subdued.
    Jack Brady and peter Hopkins were the best players on the pitch.

44 Posts
    4-0 Dundalk...came out of the traps flying,should have been 3-0 up at half time,survived one or two scares before comfortably seeing the game out..very impressed by the teams hunger tonight

2,337 Posts
    Last 16 teams.

Cabinteely
    Shelbourne
    Shamrock Rovers
    Crumlin United
    Finn Harps
    Cobh Wanderers
    Athlone Town
    Bangor Celtic
    Cork City
    Longford Town
    Limerick
    Bluebell United
    Drogheda United
    Galway United
    St Pats Ath
    Dundalk

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts
    Half the teams First Division/non-league. Serious opportunity to reach last 8 if the draw is favorable.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

125 Posts
    Cracking game performance and result.

Best performance of the season. And against a real top 4 side who lets be honest would've fancied a cup run.

Aaron mceneff is a sweet sweet player. If we could add someone to the panel who could win you a league he would be my man

Page 5 of 37 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast