Page 15 of 37 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup 2017

172 Posts
    I think Rovers good fortune in the draws thus year has to run out so think it will be
    Dundalk Vs Rovers
    Cork Vs Limerick

If we can avoid Dundalk away I'd be quietly confident of Rovers winning any other permutation.
    In the words of Edwin Starr, " 25 miles to go "

646 Posts
    Cork haven't become a bad team overnight. If Maguire had missed a couple of matches with injury people wouldn't have said cork were a walk over......ita confidence simple as, if they beat limerick they will know the league is won and that monkey off their back will see them play better again I reckon.

999 Posts
    Cork v Limerick
    Dundalk v Rovers

F**k

999 Posts
    Although as we are going to lose to all of those teams, probably the best draw for us financially.

Maybe I missed it but it looked like they didn't even spin the balls, strategically picked out the first two.

Two positives, more money and we are complete bottlers at home and probably stand a better chance away from the home crowd.

The largest security operation in the history of the state will have to be mounted just to stop our fans from murdering one another.

They'll call the Rangers out for that. Last time we went to Cork they thought we were going to rape and pillage and burn the city to the ground.

3,214 Posts
    And did ye?

Na, nothing down there worth it, and that's saying something from a Limerick man.

79 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    They'll call the Rangers out for that. Last time we went to Cork they thought we were going to rape and pillage and burn the city to the ground.
    They do that now when we bring a decent crowd down there. 1st League game down there this season, must have been upto 50 guards in and around away entrance/end, for about 3/400 fans.
    ****ers don't even let you have a cigarette watching the game

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    They do that now when we bring a decent crowd down there. 1st League game down there this season, must have been upto 50 guards in and around away entrance/end, for about 3/400 fans.
    ****ers don't even let you have a cigarette watching the game
    It was nuts, Guards in balaclavas forming a cordon to escort old lads in their 70s into the ground.

I presume that Cork City ended up footing the bill.

It can be as bad in Oriel as well. The Guards go overboard for certain games. They'll have the armed response unit there for the Rovers game.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Happy memories of the last FAI Semi-final meeting between Dundalk and Shamrock Rovers at Oriel Park -

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fb-fcI-Hgcs

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    I presume that Cork City ended up footing the bill.
    Yep, Gards bill the clubs, hence why you tend to get hundreds of the lads volunteering to work at random games that you'd never see any trouble at on a night there's nothing else on.

194 Posts
    How much would AGS be billing clubs for in situations when they send up dog units and ARU to matches?
    Surely clubs don't have to foot the whole bill for what amounts to a completely OTT Gardai presence at matches

It's only one example, but according to this report Bohs paid €4,000 and Rovers €15,000 on policing costs for the three derbies in 2013. There was only one game in Tallaght that year so I have a feeling it may refer to the year before when Rovers were home twice, but it's a racket either way.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crim...ions-1.1935638
    Last edited by Charlie Darwin; 11/09/2017 at 10:56 PM.

19. Thanks From:

194 Posts
    That figure does not include much smaller sums paid by soccer clubs affiliated to the organisation.
    Seems like a bit of a racket(or favoritism) alright when you consider the GAA figure.

1,081 Posts
    Billing the clubs and actually getting paid are different things to be fair. Not advocating this approach but as I understand it from a historical perspective they're not likely to issue a winding up order should their payment be delayed. They may be more ruthless now but a certain controversial former Dublin club owner who is no longer with us felt he was doing us a favour when he once advised not to make AGS a priority, "we get their bills but we never actually pay them".

817 Posts
    Gaa favortism at its finest

Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    How much would AGS be billing clubs for in situations when they send up dog units and ARU to matches?
    Surely clubs don't have to foot the whole bill for what amounts to a completely OTT Gardai presence at matches
    I could be wrong but I thought the clubs only paid for the Gardai in the ground? Not those outside?

24. Thanks From:

Page 15 of 37 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast