Thread: All not rosy at Wexford?

63 Posts
    Wexford is more than just the league of Ireland team, they also have under age and a (fairly successful) women's team. I notice from their twitter that they have 2 kids soccer camps this Easter. While others have played a role, I think it is fair to say that the development of soccer in Wexford in recent years would not have happened without the input of M Wallace.
    Would LoI fans prefer that he put his money into Sunderland?

880 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post
    I think Wallace went into LOI football with good and honest intentions, and still has them.

The same could not be said about so many other people over the years.
    Shall we make a list or would it cause too much grief!?

2,359 Posts
    Mick Wallace is far from a saint, but he's single-handed built up a fine little club out in Ferrycarraig Park. Questionable methods, questionable jersey choice, and a little Italian in his approach to it all, but that matters little when there's a senior club, a full academy, and a successful womens team all playing their football in a handy little stadium with one of the finest clubhouses in the country.

I don't think anyone can question what he's done for football there.

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Mick Wallace is far from a saint, but he's single-handed built up a fine little club out in Ferrycarraig Park. Questionable methods, questionable jersey choice, and a little Italian in his approach to it all, but that matters little when there's a senior club, a full academy, and a successful womens team all playing their football in a handy little stadium with one of the finest clubhouses in the country.

I don't think anyone can question what he's done for football there.
    exactly. pity my club isnt like that at all especially the superb clubhouse that they have!

821 Posts
    exactly. pity my club isnt like that at all especially the superb clubhouse that they have!
    Nothing wrong with the clubhouse we have tbf

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Nothing wrong with the clubhouse we have tbf
    I have to say Longford have a very nice clubhouse, has the feel of a long established club

821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    I have to say Longford have a very nice clubhouse, has the feel of a long established club
    There ya go Martinho

1,081 Posts
    The volunteers working in there do a great job and over the years the bits and pieces of memorabilia that have been put in have added to it. If you could get a pint as well it'd be perfect but I understand the money wasn't there to do the things they were told they had to do to get a licence. All in all there's a lot more justifiable targets for criticism.

821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    The volunteers working in there do a great job and over the years the bits and pieces of memorabilia that have been put in have added to it. If you could get a pint as well it'd be perfect but I understand the money wasn't there to do the things they were told they had to do to get a licence. All in all there's a lot more justifiable targets for criticism.
    Was just thinking the other day, how costly would it be for us to just serve bottles like they do in Wexford? Would you still require a full bar license for that? Selling bottles at 5 euro a pop soon racks up a few pound.

2,359 Posts
    Was just thinking the other day, how costly would it be for us to just serve bottles like they do in Wexford? Would you still require a full bar license for that? Selling bottles at 5 euro a pop soon racks up a few pound.
    You need a licence to sell alcohol. End.

5 euro a bottle is madness!

1,081 Posts
    Nobody in Longford would pay €5 a bottle and as Nigel says a full "on licence" would be required. I expect selling bottles only is cheaper operationally but it's getting to that point that's costly.

821 Posts
    You need a licence to sell alcohol. End.

5 euro a bottle is madness!
    Alright calma calma fella was just asking, thanks for the answer. Jaysus ye must be stingey enough up in donegal

2,359 Posts
    Stingy enough surely. Sure it's €3.90 a pint in my local...you'd not be catching me spending a fiver on a bottle.

880 Posts
    Club licence/ members bar licence can do, so a 'full trading' bar licence isnt required. It is a damn good bit cheaper. Run a tight ship and the annual trip to the district court to renew the licence would be a formality as Gardaí wont object to the renewal. It is the back bone of many GAA clubs finances and any other club should benefit if they can.

194 Posts
    The Lilywhite bar at OP & the receipts from it kept Dundalk FC afloat for more years than we'll ever want to know! There is not a person in the town/maybe country who has never been to a function of some sort in the bar up there.
    Team aside - the bar is the heartbeat of the club and a cash cow to boot.
    Fair prices in it also,no 6 euro bottles

821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    The Lilywhite bar at OP & the receipts from it kept Dundalk FC afloat for more years than we'll ever want to know! There is not a person in the town/maybe country who has never been to a function of some sort in the bar up there.
    Team aside - the bar is the heartbeat of the club and a cash cow to boot.
    Fair prices in it also,no 6 euro bottles
    Problem with CCS is it's too far outside town so with small crowds most people are driving which means no drinking.

2,359 Posts
    Problem with CCS is it's too far outside town so with small crowds most people are driving which means no drinking.
    If you only got 20 people in buying a few drinks you'd still make a few quid off cans or bottles.

821 Posts
    If you only got 20 people in buying a few drinks you'd still make a few quid off cans or bottles.
    True but whether we'd make enough to justify the cost of the license I don't know. You'd have to have Sky out there for the evening games and that's another massive cost but it might encourage people out to the ground early as opposed to coming in late or not coming at all.

225 Posts
    True but whether we'd make enough to justify the cost of the license I don't know. You'd have to have Sky out there for the evening games and that's another massive cost but it might encourage people out to the ground early as opposed to coming in late or not coming at all.
    Just get a box instead.

I can't see how it wouldn't make money. Compare it to IL clubs, who almost all have bars.
    Away fans would be all over it too. Handier than heading into town like we usually do.

880 Posts
    While it wouldnt make a club, do it right and with private functions, matcch nights, venue for fundraisers they can generate a profit. Panel of volunteers to assist with staffing reduces costs. As a members type bar entry can be restricted easily if need be to away fans.