Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Worst away trip in the eL?

Don't like slaggin off other clubs,but with the news that Limerick are to return to Rathbane,can I urge everybody to visit 'The Spinning Wheel' public house across the road.Delightful spot,friendly locals!

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dublinharp
    I had the honour of winning the half time draw at Belfield last season, the prize? A €1.00 plastic watch with a dodgy picture of Ireland on it (tickets were €2.00!!)

just wondering,was that the top prize ?
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 17/02/2005 at 1:53 PM.

1,104 Posts
    You should take part in our half time draw you might win a kettle or a toaster 'with roll warmer' ooohh..or maybe a water cooler

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    nearly an hour and a half before one of ye came up with that. I'm amazed it took so long.
    Had to go and get his Methadone

jeus

Quote Originally Posted by corkharps
    Don't like slaggin off other clubs,but with the news that Limerick are to return to Rathbane,can I urge everybody to visit 'The Spinning Wheel' public house across the road.Delightful spot,friendly locals!

dear jesus who told you to go in there? never ever go in there. True its the closest pub but be fair to yourself and head into town or on any of the main roads in or out of limerick there are some great pubs with the best of people in there.

Always hated Dundalk myself!

Can't think why, maybe it was:

Being chased down the road by a bottle and stone wheal ding gang
    or
    maybe it was the racist abuse our players get up there
    or
    the cans of cider that get ****ed at you from the shed throughout the game
    or
    a classic was when we were up there for an FAI Cup game 2 yrs ago and the train was stopped before the station and the driver came on saying that all Bohs fans should get off the train before the station because of a mob on the platform!
    Last edited by BohsFans; 16/02/2005 at 8:48 PM.

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    dear jesus who told you to go in there? never ever go in there. True its the closest pub but be fair to yourself and head into town or on any of the main roads in or out of limerick there are some great pubs with the best of people in there.
    The Steering Wheel is a lovely spot after match kareoke and everything

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain
    got sick from eating a dodgy burger in the town
    Another unreported food poisoning statistic. Hope ya got in touch with your local Environmental Health Service. Here name and shame and pm me the details.

Brendan

Yeah i'd have to agree with the Bohs fan about Dundalk.It's full of little knackers just waiting to start trouble.I played a match up there years ago and the little sh1ts were throwing stones at us on the fecking pitch.I got evacuated out of a hotel because of a bomb scare.I nearly got arrested for kicking a pringles tube while all around me people were killing one another and i went to the Ark niteclub only to discover that it was a dump and smelled of feet.So please god Dundalk won't be promoted anytime soon.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Quote Originally Posted by dublinharp
    I had the honour of winning the half time draw at Belfield last season, the prize? A €1.00 plastic watch with a dodgy picture of Ireland on it (tickets were €2.00!!)
    Was Cork on the map?

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man

just wondering,was that the top prize ?
    The watch in question is, if memory serves me correctly, from Italia 90. We were eh moving old stock at that stage last season. Normally the watch we give out is actually nice enough.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Aberdonian Stu
    Normally the watch we give out is actually nice enough.

ah i see..........its normally made out of chocolate and the kids love em

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans
    Always hated Dundalk myself!

Can't think why, maybe it was:

Being chased down the road by a bottle and stone wheal ding gang
    or
    maybe it was the racist abuse our players get up there
    or
    the cans of cider that get ****ed at you from the shed throughout the game
    or
    a classic was when we were up there for an FAI Cup game 2 yrs ago and the train was stopped before the station and the driver came on saying that all Bohs fans should get off the train before the station because of a mob on the platform!
    Sounds like Dundalk is the hardest ground in Ireland, far from it !! A gang of pie balls in the shed drinking cheap cans is about the guts of it. Though I'll admit it was funny one time seeing them lay chase to a group of bohs fans throwing shapes in the shed

And your classic sounds like a classic spoof. Where did he ask you to get off Drogheda or did he just stop the train on the tracks
    Last edited by joeraki; 17/02/2005 at 4:55 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by joeraki
    Sounds like Dundalk is the hardest ground in Ireland, far from it !! A gang of pie balls in the shed drinking cheap cans is about the guts of it. Though I'll admit it was funny one time seeing them lay chase to a group of bohs fans throwing shapes in the shed

And your classic sounds like a classic spoof. Where did he ask you to get off Drogheda or did he just stop the train on the tracks
    I was mainly talking about outside the ground, as well as the Thursday night up there when our black players got racially abused and a large amount of drink was ****ed at us in the shed.
    That classic is no word of a lie believe it or not. Not really something you dream up!! btw train stopped just b4 the station.

A window on the Bohs team bus was broken by their fans after our 2-0 win over them in the FAI Cup two seasons ago.

'Sounds like Dundalk is the hardest ground in Ireland, far from it !! A gang of pie balls in the shed drinking cheap cans is about the guts of it.'

Hmmm, thats right never any trouble in craptown or in your ahem 'famous' shed

http://www.photostor.com/image/3495/medium

Can't believe no one has mentioned Rovers. It's not long since this forum was full of 'oh my god, we're playing Rovers away next week, we're all going to die' posts.

101 Posts
    I have friends who won't go to games in oriel park because of certain people that attend who might cause trouble..the fighting isn't always restricted to visiting fans..

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    If you had to travel down to Cork every 2 or 3 weeks, I guarantee you you'd be sick of the sight of the place- if just for the journey alone. And anyway, I was whinging about Dublin, not the capital
    Did it for 2 years when I lived in cark

Bray..........UCD..........Finn Harps
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123