Thread: Worst away trip in the eL?

Worst away trip in the eL?

Continuing on a thread from The Cork forum, What is the worst away trip in the eL?

For me, although you cant really call it a trip for Longford, Athlone is terrible. Its such a kip of a ground and its in a kip of an area. The only good thing for us is we always beat them

Honourable mentions to Bray, Dublin City (when at Whitehall), Dundalk, and UCD.

Athlone & Bray!

Athlone is just a kip
    Bray for reasons mentioned elsewhere cold, and annoyin kids!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

UCD

Bray always was my worst - always freezing, little shíts running around causing grief (Friday night is Creche night I think the Bray Promo's say), uninterested stewards who do nothing... although that may change this season

Tolka for CHF matches, don't actually mind it for Shels...

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    UCD

If you're into drink (which is most of us here! ), the First Division away trips aren't that bad because at least they involve a trip down the country for a weekend. Except for Bray. Which is always cold and all those other points mentioned. So it gets my vote. Sorry!

Anytime I go to Drogheda its raining and windy and horrible. This once contributed to Tony Sheridan giving us a one nil win as their keeper fell on his ass whilst waiting for the ball to drop. But apart from that, its always a bad night when I go. Apart from that, Athlone. Its in the depths of hell!

67 Posts
    Definitely UCD. No doubt about it.
    Last edited by Hibs4Ever; 16/02/2005 at 10:44 AM.

Defo has to be St. Mels Park by a mile.Athlone is a hole of a Town and St. Mels park is a hole of a ground.The night we beat them 3 - 0 in the cup last season some little knackers called us scumbags!Pot,kettle,black and so on.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

57 Posts
    My worst ever was a Cup replay in Drogheda in 1989. Really fancied our chances of winning the cup that year as we finished 3rd in the league and were in great form. Murdered them in the first match couldn't score and drew 0-0.

Took the day off and drove from Galway for the replay, went 1 up in the first minute, missed chance after chance and somehow contrived to lose 3-1. Got lost in the wilds of Meath, got sick from eating a dodgy burger in the town and had an absolutely miserable day all round.

Close 2nd was getting relegated in Monaghan in 94 although fair play to Billy Bagster coming out of the dugout and telling their fans to stop singing "going down going down" , wish he'd told his team to stop playing like bloody demons though with nothing to play for.

20 Posts
    Well on the grounds that Drogheda now play in the evenings I'll give them an honourable mention, they were good for an afternoon session but the town looks awfully dodgy at night, and I don't like the ground.

Have to say Pats as the worst though, just edging out Bray because the latter has the Porter house. Too bloody awkward to get to Richer, don't like the ground and seats are a joke if you're taller than 5'7", and weather is often of Bray standards. As I'm eight inches taller than that I find them very annoying (bizarrely as a cumbersome gent I've never had issue with their width).
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

429 Posts
    You should try Croke Park,cramps like a bas*ard
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

20 Posts
    Not in the same league as Richer, or most el grounds for that matter. It is a joke though that they'll take into account excessive girth in the width of most seats but the idea of someone above hobbit size being able to fit their legs, why that's crazy talk.

Quote Originally Posted by joey B
    You should try Croke Park,cramps like a bas*ard

Whose home ground is that?

dublin in general. the traffic, the little scuts in nearly every ground and the fact that we seem to be there every second week, I'm just sick of the place.

20 Posts
    Well just to be nerdy it used to be Crokes hurling club home ground before they merged with Kilmacud (didn't play their home games there for a long, long time though!!!).

'Well on the grounds that Drogheda now play in the evenings I'll give them an honourable mention, they were good for an afternoon session but the town looks awfully dodgy at night'

Ah ye pussy

3,488 Posts
    Don't worry about him...sure the last time he was up, we got a coach so he wasn't even knocking around the town at all!

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    dublin in general. the traffic, the little scuts in nearly every ground and the fact that we seem to be there every second week, I'm just sick of the place.
    Poor baby! Unlike a corkman to be whinging about the capital

Worst away trip is monaghan without a shadow of a doubt. Total kip should'nt be even in the league.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Worst away trip is monaghan without a shadow of a doubt. Total kip should'nt be even in the league.
    Very harsh...Cobh and Athlone are surely worse? Even, whisper it, Finn Park is more of a dump?!

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Don't worry about him...sure the last time he was up, we got a coach so he wasn't even knocking around the town at all!
    You got a coach for 3 people