Thread: Alan Hunter - the voice of Irish football

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    I only know of them through being a member of the London branch.

Has about 500ish members from memory. Exists primarily to organise trips and disemminate information, but is well run and does have clear democratic structures so could easily become more 'political'. Not sure if they'd want to though, and it would obviously be their call.
    Sounds good .... i'd totally understand that, but there is an opening ...

We've had discussions on here and Johnny Ward's old site before about setting-up a fans body, and it all amounted to nought. The bottom line is that people are happy to grumble, but reluctant to get-up off their arse and do something.
    Thats always the way but it shouldn't be that hard. Not if it were organised properly, you'd get a load of stuff done online so there should be alot of getting up off árses

I think there's scope for a 'federalised' fan body
    Necessity is the mother of all invention.

based around current supporters structures. Have members signed-up to a local 'group/chapter' based around each of their Eircom Clubs/existing supporters clubs. Would be fairly easy to set-up in that respect. The tough bit would be to get 2 or so active members from all/most clubs to do things centrally/nationally. You'd only need Joe Average supporter to join up and give you moral support and the occassional e-mail/petition etc. It's the 'leaders' nationwide that are crucial and would be difficult to get forthcoming.
    It should be that hard .... if you had every supporters club/grouping elect another member to update/work on this and relay the info back that way etc. ..... bottom line ... shouldn't be that hard after the initial setup.

Would be happy to give it a bash if 5-10 other people at different clubs were serious about it though ?
    I'd imagine City fans would be interested too .... definitely something should be done. As soon as the season is back ... should get moving on it.

Meanwhile ... if anyone was interested ... make it known here.
    It has to start somewhere !!

Let me lend my sage wisdom on this matter. Hunter is a muppet. I thank you.

I think a delegate based National eL Supporters group would be good.

How do you decide what supporter groups are represented? If club have several groups of supporters could they all join as could be trickey with many groups being a lot smaller than other...?

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I think a delegate based National eL Supporters group would be good.

How do you decide what supporter groups are represented? If club have several groups of supporters could they all join as could be trickey with many groups being a lot smaller than other...?
    I would do it as follows :

- Individuals pay a small amount to become members of the National body (say E7.50/£5).
    - Each team has a local 'chapter' of members - e.g. a Derry City group, a Cork group etc.
    - The paid-up members within each chapter would theselves elect/determine their individual reps/organising committe. Those reps would organise stuff at a local level for the national body, and would represent their clubs members at the national level.

I would use existing supporters clubs as the key recruiting grounds for a national fans body, as they are the fans who would probably be most interested/up for something like this. I agree with your point, though, that you can't just pick one supporters club and make them the official reps, as it would be both unfair and irrelevant if their individual members didn't officially join the national body.

I think forming a group out of existing supporters clubs would be the best way. Each club to have 2 people on it (in case there's more than one SC)

To be honest never heard of him but he sounds like complete garbage. Fair play to dcfcsteve though.

Dont give him any more publicity. Come to think of it has anyone got a pic of him they could post here? So that if we come in contact with him we can have a "chat"!!!

What about having him as the guest for the next Foot.ie Q&A session

Who is Alan Hunter

Met this guy in Moscow, he had all his association with him, i was there with the wife and kids...we outnumbered him and his associaiton by 2 to 1!! and we only have 2 kids!!
    The guy should be gagged..he represents nobody...

Quote Originally Posted by ACdub
    The guy should be gagged..he represents nobody...
    That where you are wrong ..... He represents YOU .... thats what Joe Public is being lead to believe anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc
    What about having him as the guest for the next Foot.ie Q&A session
    Excellent idea!

there was an article in todays (saturday) Irish Sun about this thread. A few quotes from Hunter saying it was just jealousy etc. Also he changed his claim about 50,000 members. He's now saying that those 50,000 members are SINCE 1970 when the group started

I've posted a scanned copy of the article up on another thread here

So Hunter says hes had at least 50,000 members since 1970?

That would be 2000 per year & would that be different members or same ones every year?

Thats like an eL club saying they have 1 million supporters since 1970 based on 2k people at 20 games season

I liked the way he said he didn't ask "members" for any contribution etc... so how the feck does he even think he can guess on his membership...

Will be interesting to see if any other media has a go...
    Last edited by pete; 20/02/2005 at 5:49 PM.

So Hunter says hes had at least 50,000 members since 1950?

That would be 2000 per year & would that be different members or same ones every year?

Thats like an eL club saying they have 1 million supporters since 1970 based on 2k people at 20 games season
    since 1970, but still, that sounds like back-tracking to me. Hopefully this will be picked up by other media outlets

So Hunter says hes had at least 50,000 members since 1950?

I liked the way he said he didn't ask "members" for any contribution etc... so how the feck does he even think he can guess on his membership...

Will be interesting to see if any other media has a go...

Well anyone with an ounce of sense will see those "members" figures for exactly what they are and should then put two and two together and see him for what he is, it isn't rocket science !!

The article says there was contact between him and the FAI, who made the contact, him or the FAI ? Who in the FAI is actually even entertaining this guy and his Walter Mitty dream ? Can we get a name ? Dont the FAI have to vet all their contacts in cases like this ?

It is kind of embrassing really, i'd be alright if the guy came across as even being a bit plausible but he seems like a looper. Himself and Peter Pan should go and take a long hard look at themselves.

Irish Football Supporters Association’ indeed

I'm an Irish Football Supporter, who gave him the right to speak on my behalf?

This man, who suggested that an ENGLISH premiership team should be based in our country - and indeed believe that it would benefit the game here -has the nerve to speak on behalf of Irish supporters.

As far as I can see he's just on an ego trip! Time to knock him down a peg or two.
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    since 1970, but still, that sounds like back-tracking to me. Hopefully this will be picked up by other media outlets
    Doh! typo.

I actually sat next to Hunter on the return flight from the Friendly versus Holland in Tilburg in 1994 and he had only one member of his "organisation" with him on that occasion. He made no attempt to promote any new membership and had he done so he would have been told where to go.

The man is a fake and needs to be exposed.

I certainly go along with the idea of each EL Club promoting membership of an official organisation at a modest membership fee and electing a spokesperson to deal with the media in future.
    Last edited by iceman; 20/02/2005 at 6:18 PM.

well presumably he has read the article so if he hasnt already registered here its likely that him or one of his "representatives" will be registering here soon so be warned!

Thanks to everyone for their feedback and support on the draft release, and thanks to Eanna for posting the Sun article up. Typical tabloid sensationalism around the story, but in this instance I like it

To me, the most important quote in there was from the FAI. Had the IFSA been a properly recognised, legitimate org they would've said so. Instead they merely commented that Hunter contacts them on "normal supporters issues like tickets for away games". ! That's a subtle and diplomatic way of saying he's nought but an ordinary fan !

Am starting to suspect that Hunter may be doing this, not just for an ego trip, but to get his hands on hard-to-get tickets for him and his mates. After all - how could you refuse to help the head of the Irish Football Supporters Association get to watch his country play !

I need a few more people who are willing to put their name behind the press release before I'll send it out. It has to be seen as coming from a broad-base of Irish football fans - not just one or two people's thoughts. PLEASE PM me if you want to put your support behind it. Just 2 more questioning news articles along the lines of The Sun and he'll be seriously on the ropes here. I particularly like the angle that The Sun have taken of focusing on the fact RTE's being suped. Will make coverage more likely in non-RTE media channels, and maked them feel embarassed.

This sham organisaation is finally being put under the spotlight. Let's make sure we don't let him off.

P.S. I wonder if Alan himself has logged on here yet.....!