Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: What foreign clubs do you support?

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    Aye deffo says somthing about our club feeding Man. Utd compared to the City boys feeding Wrexham.....mabye there was something in "City are the second best team in Cork" afterall
    Ahh these young fellas. Probably before ye were born.
    The ex City player at Wrexham is Brian Carey who was signed from City by Alex Ferguson after the 89 Cup Final. He was captain of the Man Utd reserves for a long time but due to the Bruce-Pallister situation at the time he never really broke through. Has been a great servant to Wrexham.
    Also I believe it was Notts Forest that Ramblers fed and not Man Utd.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

I dont I'm Irish not english.

A few lads put all english league clubs in a hat a few years back and picked out northampton town. They go over once a year just for the p1ss up really they couldnt give a fcuk about the club. IMO that's the way it should be.

Irish people supporting an english club sums up this country Although I have absolutely no problem if they support their local EL club first.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    A few lads put all English league clubs in a hat a few years back and picked out Northampton Town. They go over once a year just for the p1ss up really
    Quality!

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Although I have absolutely no problem if they support their local EL club first.
    I think that was implied (or at least, it's true in most cases here)

Liverpool since I was about 5. Can't understand how people can change the clubs that they support, whether you dislike the manager or not. A true supporter has one loyalty, and sticks with that club through thick and thin. Apart from Liverpool, I have no interest in any other English club. In Spain I look out for Barca's results, can't stand Real Madrid. In Italy, I look out for AC Milan's results, but I wouldn't consider myself a real fan of these clubs.

i wonder is their any topics on english sites "what IRISH teams do you support?"

dont think so

F***ing great news

pats have just announced a friendly v Darlington.....now if only we can swing a game v Spartans my dreams will have come true!!!!!!!!!!!1

Dont support any 'English' club but support Cardiff City who play in the English league. Used to live over there and went to the games, the Div 1 standard was decent enough, far better than EL or SPL

I've been looking out for Everton lately, they've a mighty spirt
    Oh no not them again

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Not really....that's due mainly to the arrogance of their media & pundits....only took an interest in La Liga & Serie Á when Eng.players went to play there.......

your point being what?????? the spanish media couldnt give a fiddlers about the premiership in england and only acknowledged its existence (in any form) when reyes signed for arsenal - jaysus get over your colonoiztion inferiority complex

its perfectly natural

davros...i think we all know by now you dont like the EL

Stay on topic please lads.

Davros, if you have nothing constructive to post, open a Celtic thread or something. This thread is about which English teams do people support, not about anything else.

Anyways, Im going to London in 2 weeks to see Fulham Vs Charlton in Craven Cottage. Easyjet is pure cheap lately.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Been there myself before. I think the Stevenage Rd Stand is very nice. Its certainly different from the oversized plastic things seen elsewhere.

As for the game itself, Ill be in London anyway, so why not. It was either that or Man U Vs Palace, but to go to that I would have had to get a ticket for a grade B game also, which, at sterling exchange rates, is far too expensive.

Thinking of going over to Villa agin in August maybe.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Liverpool Football Club

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gary
    Been there myself before. I think the Stevenage Rd Stand is very nice. Its certainly different from the oversized plastic things seen elsewhere.

As for the game itself, Ill be in London anyway, so why not. It was either that or Man U Vs Palace, but to go to that I would have had to get a ticket for a grade B game also, which, at sterling exchange rates, is far too expensive.

Thinking of going over to Villa agin in August maybe.
    Don't expect anything too exciting. The mother in law to be is a Fulham season Ticket holder, been to see them versus Birmingham (1-3) and Derby (4-2 AET) recently and both games were pretty dire to watch despite the amount of goals scored. Quite like the look of Diop - good big strong central midfielder does the simple things very well. Fulham are badly missing Malbranque for that bit of creativity.

Atmosphere wise, if you want to get near any of the singing. The middle of the Hammersmith end is your best bet.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

followed arsenal as a young fella but lost interest a few years back.
    wouldn't say i've followed the english premier league in about 6 years.
    "If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wws
    F***ing great news

Pats have just announced a friendly v Darlington
    Curtis Fleming probably had a hand?

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    Can't understand how people can change the clubs that they support, whether you dislike the manager or not. A true supporter has one loyalty, and sticks with that club through thick and thin.
    agreed. The fact that so many people do so shows the reality of "supporting" an english team like so many do in Ireland.

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    i wonder is their any topics on english sites "what IRISH teams do you support?"

dont think so
    I was going to ask the same thing Corner!
    Champions!

Wink Which ITALIAN team do you support?

....and be honest because there are some people on here who like to slag the Italian game but support a team underneath it all.

Personally, I like Inter Milan because they are the only Italian team I have ever actually seen play in the flesh.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Stevenage Road Stand is like something out of Victorian times, old wooden seats and pretty cramped.
    I believe i'm right in saying the Stevenage Road stand has a National Trust preservation order on it. I'm serious. I remeber Keegan being interviewed about while he was at Fulham and he said they were caught between a rock and a hard place because they were obliged by one body (NT) to maintain it in it's original condidtion and by another (UEFA) to bring it up to code.

I think they might've gotten some exemption from UEFA. Hey ...there's an idea in there somewhere for all our struggling domestic clubs.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Had a friend from Italy years ago who was an Inter fan, and I was in Milan, had a look round the San Siro, so I've always kept an eye out for them.

These days I tend to look out for Udinese, again a friend of mine supports them, and sent me over a scarf. Also because I feel a certain compassion for any fans who have Carsten Jancker imposed on them

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast