Thread: Come to Cork this March 17

I have to say that I'm a little disappointed they are not coming, but maybe it's not the right time as I can see the Shinners making a big deal of it and mounting a protest against them and spoiling the whole thing.

Did anyone catch the discussion on the Last Word about this last night? The Sinn Fein "representative", unfortunately from my own area, was a disgrace. A blathering ignoramus with nothing to say, as usual.....

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Did anyone catch the discussion on the Last Word about this last night? The Sinn Fein "representative", unfortunately from my own area, was a disgrace. A blathering ignoramus with nothing to say, as usual.....
    Heard the first piece with the Orange guy, saying he was looking forward to it and that he had family in West Cork.
    I guess if they are not given the chance then nothing will change but maybe its gone too far for that already.
    Who was the SF rep?
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by davros
    march where they are welcome,not where they demand......
    They received a letter from the Lord Mayor inviting them down.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Heard the first piece with the Orange guy, saying he was looking forward to it and that he had family in West Cork.
    Not surprised they have relatives in the uO26C. It's where they all go to retire as they can get free electricity.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

OO & it's Oberfhurer I.K.Paisley
    Paisley isnt involved in it, he has his own indepdent lodge who wear a kinda wine instead of orange.

Good old Paisley, he has his own political party, his own religion, his own village people-esque marching band, all he's sort is his own counrty
    Oh no not them again

Dont think IKP would allow anything amounting to hard liquor eg.wine,into his world.........but it is true......he does live an archaic'unionist theme-park' bubble!
    Ever watch that very distressing programme about p*******on in the US. Horrific scenes of a a woman smashing up a bar in Kansas. Anyway, some eejit on there reckoned that Jesus never partook in wine but had grape juice 'just like you get in the grocer store.' FFS

St Patrick's day is a day to celebrate the life and works of St.Patrick our patron saint..
    The OO march to celibrate beating the irish in battle...
    Any one can celibrate and take part in St.Patricks day festivities..
    Only Prodestants can take part in a OO march

Think the 2 should be seperate..
    They should not have been invited to join...

And at that I heard that Sinn Fein never put in an official objection (not sayin they didn't complain about it) that it was the people of cork objected and wrote letters to the Mayor and the Gardai

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74

The Republicans really did blow up kids, round these parts they beat up people and ran guns. Fact. And for them to dictate who has the moral right to march in a parade would be funny if they didn't take it so seriously themselves.
    Some soccer fans are hooigans does that mean that all soccer fans are hooligans??

The point here is that we all know the OO is a bigoted sectarian group. However, we must be the "bigger man" here, and take the first steps, as they won't. [size=2]When they realise that we don't eat our children, hate all things British and are not anti-Protestant, some of their more ludicrous claims & myths will get harder and harder to sustain. Eventually, even the most hardened bigots would realise that an annual trip to Cork for the Parade would be an enjoyable break for a good time, and their anti-Irish positions would become untenable.

Somebody has to make the first move, I would prefer if it to be us.

[/size]

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    To me, they both have scum aspects and they're perfectly placed beside each other in a parade.
    Yeah just not in my County!

I ljust got to say here fair paly to Eire06 who has been making some qaulity posts around the forum
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

[size=2]
    [/size]
    Hear Hear

Can you imagne the boys coming back to Belfast and tell all the other lads at the Lodge "Guess what lads ye wont believe this but...Taigs DONT actually eat their young at all"
    Oh no not them again

Quote Originally Posted by liam88

I ljust got to say here fair paly to Eire06 who has been making some qaulity posts around the forum
    Why thank you, I do try my best...

So Liam are you comfortable with the idea the rule of law can't hold sway in "your" county? (thought you lived in London ) and that these people -whatever you think of them, had to pull out coz their safety couldn't be guaranteed if the shinners started throwing their toys out of the pram?
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    So Liam are you comfortable with the idea the rule of law can't hold sway in "your" county? (thought you lived in London ) and that these people -whatever you think of them, had to pull out coz their safety couldn't be guaranteed if the shinners started throwing their toys out of the pram?
    Nah I actually live in Guildford but as my Irish side is half Cork, half Tipp I have a right to say "my" with reference to Cork In fact I have a right to say my in reference to Akeab, Rangoon, Guildford, Tipp or Cork so there we go
    Right now we've cleared that one up........no I'm not pleased that they had to pull out because of safety but I am pleased that they are pulling out. I'm fed up with the IRA/Sinn Fein and ma family once suffered because of them but I'm equally fed up with the Orange Order. They spend all their lives proclaiming that they arn't Irish then want to come to "The Rebel County" for St. Patricks day. In my opinion they are as little a part of our culture as the IRA are and I would be unhappy to see IRA, Sinnn Fein or the Orange order marching about on St. Patricks day. It's not meant to be political it's meant to be a celebration of St. Patrick and of our culture, we should have the local schools, sport clubs, churches , society's and clubs in the parade
    Last edited by liam88; 18/02/2005 at 9:58 PM.

The point here is that we all know the OO is a bigoted sectarian group. However, we must be the "bigger man" here, and take the first steps, as they won't. [size=2]When they realise that we don't eat our children, hate all things British and are not anti-Protestant, some of their more ludicrous claims & myths will get harder and harder to sustain. Eventually, even the most hardened bigots would realise that an annual trip to Cork for the Parade would be an enjoyable break for a good time, and their anti-Irish positions would become untenable.

[/size]
    couldn't agree more. I remember hearing an interview with a youth group from the Shankill who were on some exchange trip in Kerry (helping rebuild that famine boat I think) and one of them said he was shocked when he came down- he expected the place to be full of priests and nuns! The only way to change opinions is to educate.

And how DARE Sinn Féin have the nerve to tell anyone what to do. Just who the f*ck do they represent? How many TDs or councillors do they have in Cork? there's a reason they don't get any votes, and thats the same reason they have no right to dictate what the people of Cork want.

It's not meant to be political it's meant to be a celebration of our culture, we should have the local schools, sport clubs, churches , society's and clubs in the parade
    I thought it was a celebration of the patron saint of Ireland, who brought christianity to the country. Can't really see where culture comes into it....

Aye but coming from CarrickF.,I'm sure you're familiar with the 'popular' local concensus,that,er,they don't want to be Irish by definition or culture! They prefer to save themselves for some day in July.
    I'm sure there's plenty of people from towns like Carrickfergus celebrate Saint Patricks day in their own way, possibly not on floats in Belfast City Centre waving tricolours, and getting ****ed, but still. Maybe they'll go to Downpatrick and visit his grave at the local Church of Ireland.

Quote Originally Posted by Andyh
    I thought it was a celebration of the patron saint of Ireland, who brought christianity to the country. Can't really see where culture comes into it....
    Sorry; of course it is, just me being stupid. I mean it is a day to celebrate our heritage and our country-all that St. Patrick represents

Quote Originally Posted by Andyh
    Long time no hear, Andy. One question: What would you define as culture?

I know what you're trying to get at, and i suppose it could be seen as a cultural event in a way. But it should be religious culture, ie Christianity, rather than the celebration of nationality which, it has become. You know, kiss me I'm Irish hats, green beer, it's pretty much an americanised perversion of what the day was supposed to be.