Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Thread: Premier Division Fixtures - March 3rd

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Comic Book Guy View Post
    Certainly would, it would be a Leicester style win, I wouldn't hold my breath though. With the players we lost and coupled with the moneybags investment in Waterford I just hope we'll be competitive in the division. To be fair and without wanting to go over old ground I still can't get my head around the decision to scrap the playoffs this year.
    If Mervue could get to the play-off places on the brink of losing their LOI status, Cobh can win the league.

Not sure I like the idea of the winners of the First Division having to them play-off for promotion. I'd rather 9th in the Premier having to play-off with 2nd/3rd in First than that.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Quote Originally Posted by desaintsno.12 View Post
    The scramble at the bottom of the league is going to be interesting this year.

We are awful (Pats), really worryingly awful. Drogheda were a lot sharper than us without actually having to be that good but look to have some decent players. That young lad Byrne no.17 looks good....bit of a toe rag, but looks good. I would like to see Drogheda do well.....purely for Pete Mahon. Danny North signing ????

Two side notes..... refs get awful stick and rightly so, but i thought the ref on friday was good, especially given the conditions.
    Also, that crowd of "casuals" supporting you are such morons. They made an attempt to get at Pats fans before the game, about 30/40 of them and then at the end of the game, after being kept behind for 20 mins we then couldnt go out the normal way and were brought through the mud and over the pitch, ridiculous stuff and seemingly because the same crowd of lads were waiting outside for Pats fans again
    Fully agree about the ref.

About the described incident, I just can't understand how this goes on with Gardai at the games, I wish they would just arrest guys rather than just separating them. Few court appearances and the rest get the message. Drives me nuts. Gardai please do your job.

The club banned guys a few years back (to my knowledge) and they should do it again by the sounds of it. But the real solution are arrests imo as bans doesn't stop them outside the ground.

I bring my kids to games for the game, this wannabe hooligan rubbish by rebels without a cause is just pathetic.
    Last edited by SeanDrog; 05/03/2017 at 1:21 PM.
    Drogheda United in this together

429 Posts
    Sligo started last season in similar fashion and ended up 5th ,I will say they look significantly weaker squad wise than last season.
    It begs the question as to what the recruitment policy is at the club from top to bottom, if you compare them to say to Derry who are a similar club in terms of size and stature ,whereas Sligo are miles ahead of Derry in commercial and ground development terms on the pitch its night and day in terms of bringing young players through and quality of squad,maybe Sligo have focused so much on the other side they forgotten you need a team to compete on it!!

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post

The club banned guys a few years back (to my knowledge) and they should do it again by the sounds of it. But the real solution are arrests imo as bans doesn't stop them outside the ground.

I bring my kids to games for the game, this wannabe hooligan rubbish by rebels without a cause is just pathetic.
    This scumbag element are a pest in most clubs. There were a few scroats trying to goad Sligo fans in the ground last night until other Dundalk fans told them where to go.

However, once they get out of the ground, there is no one willing to control them.

The difficulty with United Park is that the exit for away fans in the route back into town for home fans. Ideally, the away fans would be located on the other side of the ground.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post

The difficulty with United Park is that the exit for away fans in the route back into town for home fans. Ideally, the away fans would be located on the other side of the ground.
    That's a very good point, tbf.
    Drogheda United in this together

397 Posts
    Before segregation was standard, I remember watching Dundalk in loads of matches in the 90's in Utd Park from the GAA side of the ground, the mix of fans seemed to work, and where the away fans are now, this was where the more die hard Drogs fans stood.

A few seasons ago we also had to walk across the pitch after the match, what amazed me was there was no ground staff directing fans, and it was a packed away end too, dreadful way to treat a pitch with fans walking all over it.

Its probably the only useful thing about Dundalk's away section, at least fans can walk out and get straight on to their coaches, but I certainly agree there is a fair amount of local yobs from our side who will be looking for trouble, arresting and a few court cases as suggested by SeanDrog might be the answer.
    Last edited by oriel; 05/03/2017 at 2:33 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

861 Posts
    Fully agree about the ref.

About the described incident, I just can't understand how this goes on with Gardai at the games, I wish they would just arrest guys rather than just separating them. Few court appearances and the rest get the message. Drives me nuts. Gardai please do your job.

I've noticed this ''casuals'' problem becoming more prevelant at LOI clubs this season in particular. With social media now it's easy for these idiots to arrange fights etc. If they want to kick each other's heads in away from the ground then great let them at it but the clubs know exactly who they are and nothing is done about it. Sligo have a couple of idiots following them that literally spend their time messaging rival fans during the week trying to arrange fights and it's easyilly available for the club to see online yet nothing done about it?

68 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Not sure I like the idea of the winners of the First Division having to them play-off for promotion. I'd rather 9th in the Premier having to play-off with 2nd/3rd in First than that.
    The winners of the First Division get automatically promoted like every other year. There is no play off at all this year.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Listened to Robertson's post match interview. He sounds completely deluded and not the type of manager I would want in this "season of death".

https://audioboom.com/posts/5674190-robbo-post-dundalk
    Mr 'Integrity' Robertson is making a total ass of himself here while make scurrilous accusations against Brian Gartland for the 1st yellow card

Mr Integrity said: I felt it was soft. The first one it’s just a header, a 50-50, they go in shoulder to shoulder, the lad falls over, rolls over like something out of a Hollywood film, The referee produces a yellow card, which is disappointing. I would never ask my players to do that. He’s probably been tricked into it to a degree.
    Brian Gartland does not do Hollywood roll overs and is as honest as the day is long

Mr Integrity seems to have missed the fact that Ayunga had already clattered Paddy Barrett
    The Bit o’Red were hammered 5-1 by Limerick in their first game of the season and Dave Robertson’s side looked fired up in the early stages. Paddy Barrett was left in a heap by Ayunga in the eighth minute, a challenge that went unpunished by referee Ben Connolly, much to the disgust of Kenny and the Dundalk bench.
    Before picking up two yellow cards in 13 minutes for 2 more assaults

Ayunga was finally booked in the 53rd minute for flattening Gartland and the big striker was given his marching orders 13 minutes later after catching Barrett with a poorly timed lunge.
    John Russell could also have got a second yellow card in the first half

The hosts were lucky to finish the half with a full compliment on the pitch. John Russell was booked for a late challenge on Sean Gannon, right in front of the main stand, and four minutes later he crashed into John Mountney. Referee Connolly, however, took a lenient view and Russell was allowed to stay on the pitch.
    http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/news/h...ing-start.html

It is one thing offering a blinkered view after a second successive hiding - but to make accusations against Gartland that he must know are false are out of order

185 Posts
    Jesus, are you banging gartland or something.
    " my lovely Brian wouldn't never do a thing like that "....
    Does it really bother you that much or are you completely paranoid about any criticism of your team!
    Get a grip mate, will ye.

Quote Originally Posted by hollocaine View Post
    Well done Cobh tonight. Took their chances when they came.

We're dreadful. No chance of being in the promotion mix. Players didn't look like they gave a damn. Club took the easy option appointing Mathews and now we're seeing the result of this. He brings nothing
    think thats a shameful way to treat our most successful manager in our history. not one person has mentioned that it was TC that caused the entire mess in the first place. People are getting carried away with ourselves with us goin up crap. Not once in our history have we gone up in the first place straight away. I think it will take time. But I am not standing for it with people jumpin on Mathews back straight away.

958 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Jesus, are you banging gartland or something.
    " my lovely Brian wouldn't never do a thing like that "....
    Does it really bother you that much or are you completely paranoid about any criticism of your team!
    Get a grip mate, will ye.
    Well your cage has been pretty well rattled too by the defence of Gartland.

415 Posts
    We were beyond useless in the first half. Don't even think Dundalk played that well. We never tracked any of their runners from midfield and eventually one of their balls over the top led to the second goal.

Ayunga was by far our best player but now has a suspension ahead of him. Pats on Friday night already a huge game. Cork and Bray after that and hard to see us getting anything out of those.

Walking on air after tonight's result. Rain threatened to ruin the game at times but both teams tried their best in testing conditions. Good crowd from Pats, fair play to them given the weather.

At half time I felt we should have been at least one up but to no avail (hit the bar and missed at least one that was easier to score tham miss).

In the second half Pats threatened more and hit the post in a ten minute good spell but they faded after their substitutions (imo). Their midfield looked good but the back line was very nervious once pressed.

I do think some pats players dropped the heads well before the end of the game - some (not all) seemed to be going through the motions.

Again we need to keep taking this one game at a time but I am enjoying looking at the league table tonight. Pete has instilled an honest hard working approach to the team and it's very enjoyable to watch.

Cork next week will be a very tough game but who knows how we may do 😇

Brought my eldest to the game along with my dad, two cousins, met other cousins and uncles plus a few neighbours - our clubs are more than just football,they are community - pity many people don't realise this wealth in our misth.
    How did Ryan McEvoy look when he came on? He have a chance of becoming a starter?

Quote Originally Posted by magicman View Post
    How did Ryan McEvoy look when he came on? He have a chance of becoming a starter?
    He was solid but very difficult to make comments beyond that given the time on the pitch and the weather tbh

Fine beard though

445 Posts
    F*ck off Pats.
    Here on a technicality.

2,284 Posts
    Derry have announced that entry to the rescheduled game against Limerick on the 21st of March will be free: http://www.derrycityfc.net/2017/03/s...limerick-game/

861 Posts
    think thats a shameful way to treat our most successful manager in our history. not one person has mentioned that it was TC that caused the entire mess in the first place. People are getting carried away with ourselves with us goin up crap. Not once in our history have we gone up in the first place straight away. I think it will take time. But I am not standing for it with people jumpin on Mathews back straight away.
    Personally I feel the board were just as responsible for last season as that w*nker cousins. They promised an AGM this year so new blood could get onboard but once again they lied. If Mathews turns out to be an awful appointment will the board be held responsible for appointing him? Course not they get away with ridiculous decisions every time.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Personally I feel the board were just as responsible for last season as that w*nker cousins. They promised an AGM this year so new blood could get onboard but once again they lied. If Mathews turns out to be an awful appointment will the board be held responsible for appointing him? Course not they get away with ridiculous decisions every time.
    fair enough point. Forgot about the board promisin an AGM.

68 Posts
    Highlights from Waterford's 3 nil over Cabinteely https://youtu.be/egZMunaiAoE

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast