Thread: best away trip in the league?

Quote Originally Posted by tarzan1
    Freezing?? Ye...
    Atmosphere?? Working on that and hopefully we will have bigger and better support this season. HOPEFULLY
    The kids has been attended to and i think the annoyance will be reduced this year.
    A dump of a ground??? Thats easy to say but jeez, where do we get the money from and hopefully the new roof for the stand will be up soon. Thanks for the welcome back EANNA
    I look forward to having my mind changed

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Why?
    It's always freezing.
    There's no atmosphere.
    Its full of annoying kids.
    Its a dump of a ground.

That enough for ya
    Have to say - from my few experiences of Bray, these characteristics hold true.

3,492 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DE TOWN
    I'd say that if/when we get the bar open, the away trip to Longford will be even better.
    Yez are getting a bar in Flancare?! Excellent! Won't be going home after that one!

189 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Yez are getting a bar in Flancare?! Excellent! Won't be going home after that one!
    Yeah, I don't know the ins and outs but I think its nearly finished.

Quote Originally Posted by Clones Road Cas
    Did you not visit our palatial surroundings
    Yeah i did, but at leaqst you have a very nice club house and a good size covered stand. St. Mels just seemed to be covered in tin roofing, even around the premiter of the place.

Why?
    It's always freezing.
    There's no atmosphere.
    Its a dump of a ground.

That enough for ya
    So just like EVERY other ground in the eircom league then ?

189 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Flancare Park is not always cold...
    There isnt the best atmospherre but there is a small 1
    There is a few annoying kids but nothing like Bray
    And 1 thing is for certain, The Flansiro is not a dump of a ground...

So NO, Carlisle Grounds are not like every other ground in the eL, They are just crap in their own way

Why?
    It's always freezing.
    There's no atmosphere.
    Its a dump of a ground.

That enough for ya
    Don't forget the jacks!

Flancare Park is not always cold...
    There isnt the best atmospherre but there is a small 1
    There is a few annoying kids but nothing like Bray
    And 1 thing is for certain, The Flansiro is not a dump of a ground...

So NO, Carlisle Grounds are not like every other ground in the eL, They are just crap in their own way
    Eh it's Ireland were talking about here, it's bloody well freezing most friday/saturday nights no matter were you go ! The coldest i've ever been at a match was a toss up between Hars Vs. Bray or UCD Vs. St. Pats. There isnt the best atmospherre but there is a small 1 - just like Bray so. Every club has annoying clubs and the only reason why we notice them no matter were we go is becuase of the lack of crowds. If every ground was fully we wouldnt even know the little ****s where there

There are worse ground in the eL than the carlisle. St. Mels, Finn Park, CHP, St. Colemans, Belfield to name some of them.

And you'll be all delighted to hear that work has started on a brand new jacks, no more aiming in the dark and hoping for the best

189 Posts
    There are worse ground in the eL than the carlisle. St. Mels, Finn Park, CHP, St. Colemans, Belfield to name some of them.
    Mels is worse alright.

Id put Carlisle on a par with the rest you mentioned apart from Belfield. There might be nobody there but they have a nice little stand.

not just like them. like them, but worse

3,492 Posts
    [Belfield has] a nice little stand.

Interesting theory!

I'd put Belfield slightly above the Carlisle purely because

1) the jacks and
    2) the fact that we don't have a corrugted iron cowshed spoiling one side of the ground.

Belfield's actually a tidy little ground, in fairness - though that's about all you can say for it! Hopefully when it's done up, it'll be better!

Finn Harps by far the best!!

189 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Belfield's actually a tidy little ground, in fairness - though that's about all you can say for it! Hopefully when it's done up, it'll be better!
    Yeah, for a 1st division team it is

Galway is the favourite. Super place, good fans. Derry on a overnight is great if they play ON A SATURDAY.

Cork is a great town but should be a saturday night where you would have more away support.

But of course every Hooper is looking forward to Finn Harps this season. Not much of a place but always great craic and great to see crowds at a game!

Harps and Longford are usually good crack. Haven't been to Galway in years but was good when I was there.

3,492 Posts
    Yeah, for a 1st division team it is
    Wouldn't know anything about that these days!

finn harps. best away trip is ballybofey

Back in the good auld days of Winter football,we always seemed to be drawn away to Sligo on Stephen's/boxing day.Some great trips,always good (drunken) crowd without any hassle, unlike trips to other un named neighbours!

Our supporters club have a club room now above our local, which we'll be using before games. The ground is only five minutes away.

We'll have sandwiches for any away fans that are about and look forward to having the banter like with the Longford fans last season before the League Cup Semi and the same with the Drogs the season before in the FAI Cup. A handful of Drogs enjoyed the 'local delights' so much they ended up staying the whole weekend partying with our lads.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast