Thread: Cork Soccer Best Eleven

Cork Soccer Best Eleven

So whats the deal, who made the team and who put it together ??

Anyone any ideas ??

People voted through the Echo ......I believe.

I can't believe Liam O'Brien, Trevor Brooking and at least one of the Bulgarians didn't make it.........!!!!

Yeah it was echo readers who voted for it.. there'll be interviews on the big red bench tonight with Dave Barry, Deccie Daly, Noel O'Mahony and Donie Leahy of cork celtic..

*cough* shameless plug *cough*
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Quote Originally Posted by Ruairi
    *cough* shameless plug *cough*
    But what time is that on Roar ????? ...... the usual 6.00-7.00 ??

if it was any other time it just wouldnt be the big red bench!
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Well done, some nice interviews Ruairi....especially for a young fella...

So what was the team then lads?
    Champions!

----------------------alec ludzik (cork celtic) RIP-------------

Deccie Daly (city) Noel O'Mahony (hibs) Jackie Morley (hibs) Davey Noonan (Athletic) RIP

Donie Wallace (hibs) Dave Barry (city) Carl Humphries (celtic) John Lawson (hibs)

-----------------Donie Leahy (celtic) Seanie Mccarthy (celtic)------------

manager Dave Bacuzzi (hibs) Referee Derry Barrett RIP

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Well done, some nice interviews Ruairi....especially for a young fella...
    LOL... Donie Leahy was an absolute legend.. one of the soundest fellas i've ever talked to...

There is one major problem though ..... All the people that voted are the ones that say "I used to support Hibs/Celtic" but then lost their way around the city and never quite made it to Turners Cross.

Some call them bitter old foggies .... i dont know what to call them !!

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    There is one major problem though ..... All the people that voted are the ones that say "I used to support Hibs/Celtic" but then lost their way around the city and never quite made it to Turners Cross.

Yeah! it was much better in the "old days" when some of those guys on that so called great eleven would kick you over the stand ..................if there was a stand!

All the people that voted are the ones that say "I used to support Hibs/Celtic" but then lost their way around the city and never quite made it to Turners Cross.
    It's not their fault that they outvoted those too young to remember Hibs/Celtic, who think that O'Flynn is already the greatest player ever to ply his trade in Ireland
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Face, it might be hard to understand, but as a Hibs fan, I well remember the dis-illusionment, and pain of seeing your club go out of existence. It's not like you can then just go to another team the following week and say I'll follow you now. On top of that, there was such a long period of uncertainty about the clubs that followed and it was really only when City had established itself that people had a club to follow again. Unfortunately, Uk soccer and apathy had overtaken too many by then......
    Last edited by patsh; 14/02/2005 at 2:08 PM.

as the Hibs fan
    only one of ye?

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    only one of ye?

edited my post.....

I well remember the dis-illusionment
    Thats fair enough, i hear what you're saying but what gets me are these guys incessant whinging and bitchin' ..... "i wouldn't go out there if you game me £1000" ... and they say it with conviction too !! ..... What the fúck do they want like ... closure !! We dont want you out there so. I think it is time they got over themselves .... i am not saying they should go to City games, they can make up their own minds on that one, i am saying they dont have to rain on the parade all the fúckin' time .... it is sooo predictable at this stage, its like they just wanna get it in there, just to have had said it .... "i used to support Hibs" .... as if they are getting one up over us. I dont give a toss, ya bitter twisted fool .... if all Hibs supporters attitudes are like that, we dont know how lucky we are without them.
    Some people serious like to whinge and go on about stuff, its like a crutch for half them i think.
    Last edited by A face; 14/02/2005 at 7:44 PM.

This is unreal !!

It would turn your stomach ..... i would put money on it that 95% of the people who voted, never went near the Cross in that last 20 years.

Bitter and twisted !!

Thats fair enough, i hear what you're saying but what gets me are these guys incessant whinging and bitchin' ..... "i wouldn't go out there if you game me £1000" ... and they say it with conviction too !! ..... What the fúck do they want like ... closure !! We dont want you out there so. I think it is time they got over themselves .... i am not saying they should go to City games, they can make up their own minds on that one, i am saying they dont have to rain on the parade all the fúckin' time .... it is sooo predictable at this stage, its like they just wanna get it in there, just to have had said it .... "i used to support Hibs" .... as if they are getting one up over us. I dont give a toss, ya bitter twisted fool .... if all Hibs supporters attitudes are like that, we dont know how lucky we are without them.
    Some people serious like to whinge and go on about stuff, its like a crutch for half them i think.
    Thats grand to a point A face but there are people out there who just assume that Lennox is a cowboy like everyother person before him was. Can you imagne supporting and loving 3-4 teams only to see them all go to the wall because of poor management, you would become bitter and twisted!

Even upto the time before Lennox took over the whingers and moaner were correct, we were still a cowboy outfit

I took my old fella along to see City about 5-6 times this season. He was well impressed and couldnt believe how much the Cross has come on and how professional the behind the scenes set up was. He'll be back again next season but he had to be brought there to see the evidence for himself. You know fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me.
    Oh no not them again

This is unreal !!

It would turn your stomach ..... i would put money on it that 95% of the people who voted, never went near the Cross in that last 20 years.

Bitter and twisted !!
    Well there are 2 City players on the team and if you consider there's been senior soccer in Cork since the 1920's that isn't too bad a ratio, especially when City have only won 1 league and 1 FAI Cup.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Amazing how people can get their knickers in a knot over any thing these days - maybe its due to the fact that we cannot watch City but some of the comments are just plain stupid.

From my name you can see I've been around a while and have seen Cork soccer since the early 70's when my dad brought me to watch hibs every second week down the lodge even though we lived closer to the Box (the X).

Seen a number of teams from cork fade away and when City went to Bishopstown with Pat Da Plonk - I think that its a miracle that they are still going and all credit to everyone involved.

Why do Hibs/Celtic fans not go to watch City - its not because they are bitter and twisted but lets have a think back as to what was around back when the Lodge and the Box were almost full every week and when the travelling support would need 3 trains to bring them to the Pale to watch one of the Reble teams...... Times change - there are a million and 1 other things to do now - before one of the soccer highlights of the week was going to the Supporters Club Building in the Lodge on Sunday morning to watch a video tape of Match of the Day which was sent over from Saturday night from the BBC.......

Every single sport has to offer the fans something , every single sport needs to have a hardcore of people working for them and like every single sport success brings more fans but don't forget that if a team starts to loose then some of the support will stop. Its the way of things these days unfortunatly. City are lucky to have the people that they have involved in the Club, the fans etc but it's hard work to keep it going and slagging people off will not encourage people to come......

Enough for now and can't wait for the new season