Thread: Harding Cup

3,348 Posts

Harding Cup

Just heard from CTID that we're through to the semis tomorrow at 2:00. Won our quarters 2-0 today. No news on who we played or are to play though.

3,348 Posts
    Seems we beat UCG with goals from Paul Byrne and Conor Sammon. DU (Trinity) or UUJ await in the semis.

We had UCG in the quarters and Tr***ty in the semis if they win their quarter.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Seems we beat NUIJ with goals from Paul Byrne and Conor Sammon. DU (Trinity) or UUJ await in the semis.
    Ba$tard, just beat me to it!

3,348 Posts
    Apart from the NUIJ bit!

Might do some work now...

Apart from the NUIJ bit!
    Hadn't noticed that, assumed it NUIG you'd written.

Semi finals played at Santry

UCD 5 - UUJ 0
    Ryan Coyle
    Paul Byrne 92)
    Conor Salmon

UUJ - player sent off

UCC 1 - UL 0
    Sean Henaghan

UL - player sent off

Final: UCD V UCC tomorrow (Sunday). College Park, TCD at 2pm

Plate final: TCD v. Queens, tomorrow (Sunday). Santry at 11am
    "oh my, that was some beer we had last night, I think I feel like getting sick" Effin Eddie

Harding Cup

U.C.D. beat UUJ by 5-0 in today's semi-final at the Trinity Sportsgrounds on Santry Avenue on the Northside .

U.C.D. opened the scoring after 9 minutes through Ryan Coyle and it remained 1-0 to half-time. In the second half Paul Byrne's brace of goals on 65 and 68 minutes was the platform for ultimate victory. Conor Sammon made it 4-0 on 81 minutes and Derek Doyle grabbed the fifth two minutes.

The final takes place at College Park, on tomorrow Sunday 13th at 14:00 hours

Trinity to their credit are in the Plate Final tomorrow morning at 11:00 in Santry.

Harding Cup

Queen's beat Trinners in the Plate Final by a goal to nil.
    In other good news U.C.D. won the cup beating U.C.C. in the final by 6-0

Paul Byrne opened the scoring and Conor Sammon, Ciaran Harte and Brian Shorthall grabbed a goal apiece to leave it 4-0 to U.C.D. at the break.
    Conor completed his hat-trick during the second half to seal the victory.
    One of the U.C.C. midfielders was sent off for throwing a few digs on the hour mark.

Oh and apart from Eddie Wallace, Dick Shakespeare, The Sheridan family and few of the parents, there was only me of the Belfield regulars present. Where the hell were the rest of ye?

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Queen's beat Trinners in the Plate Final by a goal to nil.
    In other good news U.C.D. won the cup beating U.C.C. in the final by 6-0

Paul Byrne opened the scoring and Conor Sammon, Ciaran Harte and Brian Shorthall grabbed a goal apiece to leave it 4-0 to U.C.D. at the break.
    Conor completed his hat-trick during the second half to seal the victory.
    One of the U.C.C. midfielders was sent off for throwing a few digs on the hour mark.

Oh and apart from Eddie Wallace, Dick Shakespeare, The Sheridan family and few of the parents, there was only me of the Belfield regulars present. Where the hell were the rest of ye?

Thanks for the report. I was here waiting for your post, I knew you'd pull through for us. No suprise about the UCC player losing it.
    Is Paul Byrne expected to part of our first team next season?
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

3,348 Posts
    Really puts the Colours match into perspective when our U-21s beat Trinity 5-0!

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce
    Is Paul Byrne expected to part of our first team next season?
    I'd expect so (not the question you asked, but anyway!) Looks like two from himself, Murphy and Dupuy up front if we assume Podgo is on the wing.

Paul Byrne picked up the player of the competition. Fair play to UCC too - least they made it to the final.
    "oh my, that was some beer we had last night, I think I feel like getting sick" Effin Eddie

20 Posts
    Now for the Collingwood...

It's been too long since we won the big one.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

I'd expect so (not the question you asked, but anyway!) Looks like two from himself, Murphy and Dupuy up front if we assume Podgo is on the wing.
    Dropping Robbie Martin are you?

3,348 Posts
    Doh! Knew I'd forgotten someone...

Is Colm Kierans still with the us? Doesn't look like he'll get much action if he is.

Playing our under 21 league winning side in this was taking the pi$$ a bit! 13-0 on aggregate.

www.a2zsoccer.com have a feature on the Harding Cup win

3,348 Posts
    Who was playing for us? I know the goalscorers obviously, but were the likes of Gannon, Gallagher and so on playing as well (i.e. was it basically our full U-21 team or were there some others)?

It's supposed to be a freshers' team I thought.

3,348 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    It's supposed to be a freshers' team I thought.
    If that's our Freshers team, we'll walk the league this season!

Who was on it, though?

I'm sure CTID will tell all...