Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Amhrán na bhFiann

i look around this country sometimes and i think after all the struggle and fight to be a free nation we are nothing but an English province.

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    i look around this country sometimes and i think after all the struggle and fight to be a free nation we are nothing but an English province.
    Come to Galway for a visit

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    i was refering to Dublin in and the crowd in lansdowne in particular. Its different(a bit) down here

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    i was refering to Dublin in and the crowd in lansdowne in particular. Its different(a bit) down here
    outside the pail...

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    He's giving out about England. The last thing he needs is a bunch of English hippies...
    Ya What???

I thought Galway was a bit like West Cork...lot's of people who 'opted out' of English society, and who could fill in an application form for an Arts Council Grant in 0.782 seconds flat...
    Ya make me laugh
    ya a lot did 'opt out' of English society...

Well someone had to attempt to keep Ireland Irish

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    I'd sayy99.9% didn't know the words
    You mean the words aren't da da-da da da da DAAAAAAAA da-da?!?!

3,491 Posts
    So not only do I not know what the words are, I also don't know what they aren't?!

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    A voice like thunder spake.......the west's awake, the west's awake

Off on a complete tangent, a friend of mine once remarked that if people in this country are serious about wanting a united Ireland, the national anthem and the flag will definitely have to change if nationalists and unionists are to compromise on it. Sorry if this is too political any feel free to move it moderator but what do you think?

199 Posts
    The lyrics your looking for Eanna

And if, when all a vigil keep,
    The West's asleep! the West's asleep!
    Alas! and well may Erin weep
    For Connacht lies in slumber deep.
    But, hark! a voice like thunder spake,
    The West's awake! the West's awake!
    Sing, Oh! hurrah! let England quake,
    We'll watch till death for Erin's sake

Quote Originally Posted by JGKyne
    The lyrics your looking for Eanna

And if, when all a vigil keep,
    The West's asleep! the West's asleep!
    Alas! and well may Erin weep
    For Connacht lies in slumber deep.
    But, hark! a voice like thunder spake,
    The West's awake! the West's awake!
    Sing, Oh! hurrah! let England quake,
    We'll watch till death for Erin's sake
    yeah, couldn't remember them exactly. I have a Luke Kelly CD- its haunting the way he sings it

230 Posts
    I don't think anyone has a bias, but a few here are annoyed with the whole 'you had it easy, we were on the front line against the tans' attitude - in fairness to you I don't think you bang that drum. Noone in their right mind would have a serious go at an Irish person based overseas, but noone likes the idea that somehow someone who got on the boat has more pride in Ireland and being Irish than those who remained.
    This may seem strange but when I left 20yrs ago I became more Irish than when I was living at home. In other words I became more aware of my history and heritage. As shameful as this may seem, I did not learn the words to our National anthem till my late twenties. Did anyone else, who is living overseas, go through the same patriotic phase?
    Last edited by strangeirish; 11/02/2005 at 9:54 PM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    I just wish their was more unity. Fair enough, I'm from the country and I don't know Dublin that well or who gets Setanta or whatever, I just call it as I see it and I've been away 11 years and it breaks my heart when I see Irish schoolboys not capable of singing our national anthem.
    They all seem capable of cheering on a Portuguese winger who plays for Man Utd though. This irritates the hell out of me.
    I get home three times a year and I'm currently saving for the Faroes trip. I just honestly wish there was a bit more unity and one-Irelandness around here. Rant over.
    Great post. and exactly what we all want. Ireland needs to Be Irish. and frankly, if you go by the premiership bar stooler that frequent Lansdowne road, it certainly isn't. Can they not see it? is Irishness gone? Dead?
    W.B. Yeats

September 1913

What need you, being come to sense,
    But fumble in a greasy till
    And add the halfpence to the pence
    And prayer to shivering prayer, until
    5 You have dried the marrow from the bone;
    For men were born to pray and save:
    Romantic Ireland's dead and gone,
    It's with O'Leary in the grave.

Yet they were of a different kind,
    10 The names that stilled your childish play,
    They have gone about the world like wind,
    But little time had they to pray
    For whom the hangman's rope was spun,
    And what, God help us, could they save?
    15 Romantic Ireland's dead and gone,

Was it for this the wild geese spread
    The grey wing upon every tide;
    For this that all that blood was shed,
    20 For this Edward Fitzgerald died,
    And Robert Emmet and Wolfe Tone,
    All that delirium of the brave?
    Romantic Ireland's dead and gone,

25 Yet could we turn the years again,
    And call those exiles as they were
    In all their loneliness and pain,
    You'd cry, „Some woman's yellow hair
    Has maddened every mother's son“:
    30 They weighed so lightly what they gave.
    But let them be, they're dead and gone,
    They're with O'Leary in the grave.

*alcohol makes you emotional

Quote Originally Posted by pronane
    in haste they were greeks ( they had big noses )

the cobra is in other places other than india too.

I wasnt a tourist conor, its my local pub, i know the lads well, the landlord is from roscommon, same place as me. These guys i had never seen before and were being annoyingly loud themselves. So i take offence at you saying some fat yank roaring whilst trying to compare me to him.

I take it you were watching the game in the Inn under age , To be fair it could have been a one off, watched Cavan (my dads county) v Derry last summer in there the same day Greece played Portugal and as the game went on the pub filled up with young Greek lads to get the seats near the big screens and as they seen a couple of Greek flags being waved by the Cavan fans on the telly they all started cheering on Cavan. They also got right into the Wexford v Offaly Lienster Hurling final after, great craic that day.

Mind you did see it nearly boot off before Cork v Wexford two years ago when a couple of gezzers in hacket tops started fcecking about talking the phiss during the anthem.

You should go to O'Raffertys for the games instead. &1 .60 a pint of Guinness sunday to thursday. Also great craic in there when a team that you can't talk about on here are playing on telly.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

I don't think anyone has a bias, but a few here are annoyed with the whole 'you had it easy, we were on the front line against the tans' attitude - in fairness to you I don't think you bang that drum. Noone in their right mind would have a serious go at an Irish person based overseas, but noone likes the idea that somehow someone who got on the boat has more pride in Ireland and being Irish than those who remained.

You wouldn't be meaning us lot now would you Conor. Now were has any of us said that you folks had it all easy back over in Ireland.
    Come on your making things up again and have not got any proof to back that statement up, bit like the statement about the fans of a Belfast club who must have gone out of their way to wind up Portadown fans outside a builders yard or a field full of rocks.

Come to think of it, i'd say you fella's back home are on the front line against the tans, seeing that thats who the media over there seems to be obsessed with, as well as Irish fans worrying and getting carryed away with what tan club opposing players play for.

Just thought I might add, the words to the National Anthem are printed in the programme beside the teams. It helped me slightly even though I admit my Irish is pure brutal.

No need for the whole racist debate though.
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

522 Posts
    sorry for all the foul language.
    Then stop doing it, the filters are there for a reason. If you don't, I'll be forced to delete all of your posts, since I don't have time to go through them one by one.

Wot? No 'huns'?

aye ive gone there a few times before sylvo. No im not underage eitehr what did you mean by that???

not that many go to oraffertys anymore plus the screen quality isnt very good.

I meant that at weekend night's it does double up as a crech. The screen has got a bit better in O'Raffertys, its just gottta get a little tap sometimes.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast