Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Keane Vs. Vieira

Keane Vs. Vieira

Did ye all see it? . That was great and see Keane's interview afterwards? Classic!

Read it:http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2...051748,00.html

ROY KEANE accused Patrick Vieira of trying to intimidate his team-mates as United ended Arsenal’s title dream.

The two skippers had to be pulled apart in the tunnel BEFORE kick-off.

Keane claimed the incident erupted when Vieira exchanged words with United defender Gary Neville.

The Republic of Ireland star said: “I said to him ‘Come and have a go at me’. Patrick Vieira is 6ft 4in and he said something about Gary.

“When people try and intimidate my team-mates I can’t have that.

“They think Gary Neville is an easy target and I’m not having that.”

United manager Alex Ferguson said: “I’ve heard different stories about what happened but I’m told Patrick Vieira threatened some of my players — so he was fired up.”

Vieira denied he tried to intimidate Neville or any United players.

The French international said: “Gary Neville is a big boy and can look after himself.

“I didn’t try and intimidate him or anybody else and I don’t want to say any more about it. Congratulations to them.”

The FA today confirmed they will not charge either side for the fracas.

They said: “We have received a report from referee Graham Poll following last night’s Arsenal v Manchester United Premier League fixture in relation to an incident in the tunnel prior to the match.

“He has confirmed that he is satisfied that he dealt with the incident at the time. Therefore no further action is required.”

Ferguson and Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger agreed defeat ended the Gunners’ hopes of defending their title.

Chelsea will go 11 points clear of United and 13 ahead of the Gunners if they win at Blackburn tonight.

And Wenger said: “We will not give up but now it is too far.

“There is still a small chance for United but not for us — we have our pride to play for.

“I don’t want to blame the goalkeeper but you cannot concede four goals at home and expect to win the game.

“The third proved to be the killer.”

Ferguson said: “Both managers said before the game that whoever lost would have no chance of the title — and we won. So that’s it for them.

“We showed great mental strength and it was a fantastic performance by us. We came from behind twice and that’s a measure of our performance.

“We could still win all our games and it may still not be enough but it showed we are in great form and if Chelsea slip up we are in great shape.”

Keane added: “Chelsea are doing well but we’ll keep going and see what happens.

“If Silvestre hadn’t been sent off we could have gone on and scored even more.”

Keane is pathetic. He was like your most common scumbag throwing shapes on the street inside a pub- "I'll see ya out there". Pathetic.

199 Posts
    I'm not Keane's biggest fan, but fair play to him for stickin' up for his team-mates even if it is Gary Neville!

who the hell would stick up for neville. he's an obnoxious little **** and deserves a good kick anyway.

anyway, its one thing sticking up for a team mate- throwing shapes and making threats like a street hoodlum is another matter- the preserve of scum like Keane

Keane totally psyched out Vieire before the game, and Vieira bottled it on the pitch.

I wouldnt be Keanes biggest fan, but last night he put the sh*ts up the entire Arsenal team before Kick off, and you could see it in their play.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Keane did what he did, and it worked. he's an excellent player, and is also very very good at getting an advantage for his team psychologically. I just happen to think his behaviour is pathetic- not saying it doesn't work, but surely professional, grown men can rise above childish crap like this.

leave eanna go off on his rant... he doesnt understand the word legend

roll on the next part of the saga at landsdowne road

go on keano ya legend

p.s. eanna

not once here have a seen u having a go off vieira who was also involved or is this just ur monthly anti-keane rant

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    leave eanna go off on his rant... he doesnt understand the word legend
    Did you not see the bit where I said what a good player he was? Just cos I can't stand the guy doesn't mean I think he's crap!

anyway, for the record, Vieira was out of order too. He just about stopped short of making a total show of himself, unlike Keane.

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Yeah,the same legend who supports Celtic(Glasgow)

but also went missing in Japan before WC2002(& later 'into bed with',a slimy c*nt like Grum-phy),got himself suspended for the '99 CL Final,nearly ended his own career(Poetic justice,anyone?) in a spat with an EPL journeyman & generally behaved like a bully/thug trying to illegally intimidate others(inc.refs.),whilst playing for ManUre.....W*nker

Plus he's the worst possible ad.for Corcaigh,exc.his auld fella......

Sympathies to the locals......
    hold it there for a second...ah...thats right.. chip removed now bud

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    anyway, for the record, Vieira was out of order too.
    ah!! nice of u to finally spot vieira's involvement

144 Posts
    There has been no mention anywhere of what initially happenend to kick the whole thing off between Vieira and Neville.
    Neville is a mouthy little ballbag who is more than capable of looking after himself, probably intimidates refs more than Keane.
    Vieira is an eejit too and a shadow of the player he once was.
    Keane must have had a fight with the wife before the match or something cos he was still wound up even after the game, poor oul Geoff Shreeves must have been bricking it, good job he had a bottle of champers for him.
    I hope the Israelis were watching.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

I think what Keane did was right he's the captain and if other players are trying to intimidate your players you do something about it....

And that he did, I'd say the half the Arsenal team were s***in themselves..

Personally I think that is one of the great things about Keane the first class ability of intimidating and bringing fear into the players of the other team... A lot of the game is about Pyscology and he does it well....
    Ya admittidly he does go a bit too far at times and Yes I'd say Neville is gettin some stick about his 'minder' but I'd say Keane would have done the same for any of his players...

It was apparantly started by Arsenal to intimidate Man U players and it backfired on themselves...

Fair play to Keane he is truly a Legend

2,796 Posts
    I think Gerrard & Keane have more skill than you give them credit for. Ince was just a bully who didn't have the talent to match his ego. He cowered away from taking a penalty in Euro '96 despite being a much better ball striker than Southgate.

Although I'm an Arsenal fan, I took great encouragement from Keane's performance. MUFC as a team were second best in the first half but Keane's influence grew and grew.

That's Gerrard & Vieira he's got the better of recently, though having an experienced midfield partner also helped. If Keane, Kilbane & Duff can maintain their current level of form then our midfield is looking in great shape.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Thuggery/intimidation may be important in the modern game, but personally one of the great things I like about football, the beautiful game, is technical ability and skill. Not a big fan of the Inces, Battys, Gerrards and Keanes.
    Don't get me wrong I don't think players should be constantly taking chunks out of each other..
    Of course its the technical ability and skill of players that makes the game.. sure no-one would watch the matches with out it...
    I just think Psycology is a factor in soccer and certain players do it well....

Thuggery/intimidation may be important in the modern game, but personally one of the great things I like about football, the beautiful game, is technical ability and skill. Not a big fan of the Inces, Battys, Gerrards and Keanes.
    Think your overplaying the incidents, of the latter two especially, as compared to their overall game. Are you saying that Keane doesn't have technical ability and skill? I think you're letting your obvious dislike for the man override your football mind....

The same chip that's displayed,any time your lot play a team from outside Corcaigh;Shels spring to mind

surprise surprise

you actually do know that the league of ireland exists

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    I just happen to think his behaviour is pathetic- not saying it doesn't work, but surely professional, grown men can rise above childish crap like this.
    There's nothing childish about it if it gains an advantage for your team. Surely it is a very professional thing to do if it helps you win the game.

I thought it was a bit strange though, almost as if it was all staged by Sky Sports to add to the pre match hype. I know it obviously wasn't but it had shades of a WWE promo or a boxing press conference about it!
    Champions!

Shams
    dont worry,a lot more out there just the same as you

You must admit that Ryan Giggs playing well is a better spectacle for a football purist than Roy Keane playing well.
    Obviously, but then the football purist tends to forget the need to win the ball, supply it to the dribblers, etc. And Keane can play a killer pass - produces a hell of a lot more than Ryan "Contracts up, better start playing" Giggs....

Huh?

most people on here probably havent been to shams ground

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast