Thread: Chants

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    I'm all for big flags, flares and that kind of thing, but a few green cards with songs printed on the back were absolutley woeful. It looked well when it was green white and orange flags making out the flag but just green cards on there own looked terrible, half the people didn't hold them up and they ended up as paper airplanes more often than not it seemed.
    the reason things like this don't work at landsdowne is that the vast majority of people in the ground are not people who go to games every week- they watch football on the TV, and as such don't have the first clue about creating an atmosphere.

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    they watch football on the TV, and as such don't have the first clue about creating an atmosphere.
    True but you not think its our duty to change this and turn our home matches into a party atmosphere and hope more people will take part? I sat in the upper west last time and was getting weird looks for shouting 'come on ireland'.. And people were complaining about the amount of times the 'stand up for the boys in green was sang'..

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    boring old farts complaing!

Thats because Rugby fans have earned the respect to be treated like adults... No doubt the mexican wave will be the ever entertainer for tomorrows match again.. Its normally the East stand that get the north boo for being slow to catch on..

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by M@ttitude
    I sat in the upper west last time and was getting weird looks for shouting 'come on ireland'.. And people were complaining about the amount of times the 'stand up for the boys in green was sang'..
    I am all for improving the atmosphere, but that song is worse than Ole Ole, particularly when sang every two minutes cause we have noting else in our repotoire!! Im not ashamed to say I find it annoying NOT atmosphere creating.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

to the tune of winter wonderland.

theres only one kevin kil-bane
    look at him go past his man
    some call him zidane
    but his name is kilbane
    walking in kilbanes wonderland.

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    when sang every two minutes cause we have noting else in our repotoire!!
    That's not why. It's to stop people on the North Terrace sitting down and giving out to those of us who are standing up.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    It's to stop people on the North Terrace sitting down
    Why would you sit on a terrace
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    I am all for improving the atmosphere, but that song is worse than Ole Ole, particularly when sang every two minutes cause we have noting else in our repotoire!! Im not ashamed to say I find it annoying NOT atmosphere creating.
    I'm all up or improving the atmosphere too, but I've no problem with "Stand Up". International matches are not like club games where chants evolve over the many games during a season, and where you usually have a hard core of singers together, especially at away games.

It's not the quality of our songs that's the problem, just the fact that most people don't bother singing any of them, IMHO. Ole Ole is naff I agree but Que Sera Sera replicates the feelgood aura of the late 80's so why not?

If good new songs come along, then great. But for me the timeless Boys in Green and the like will always be OUR songs. Boys in Green has been our no. 1 song since my first game in 1981 and I've no doubt long before that.

Duff will Tear You Apart would be great but as a rule we must avoid replicating the English yob anthems like Vindaloo or "'aving a larf". And any more complicated songs would just become the property of those "on the inside" not of everyone. I agree there's a huge number of late-arrivers, early-leavers, Mexican-wavers and and sit-down-at-all-times prats with only half an interest at these games, but keeping the songs simple is the only way to have a chance of getting the most people involved.

Needed to get that off my chest, sorry.

PS: anyone who ever sings "You'll Never Beat The Irish" before the final whistle should be shot. In fact, that's about the sh1ttest song of all. Let's just save it for the next time we beat England, true to the song's original context.

3,491 Posts
    the reason things like this don't work at landsdowne is that the vast majority of people in the ground are not people who go to games every week- they watch football on the TV, and as such don't have the first clue about creating an atmosphere.
    I think you also have to blame those in the North Terrace who think an atmosphere will just happen by their being there. Ask soccerc who organises (organised?) the tickets - people were asked to bring drums, etc. and didn't bother - actually said "f*** off" in some cases. People here whined about how difficult it was to bring a drum all the way into Lansdowne.
    It's very easy to blame the barstoolers (and right to, to a large extent), but all too often, the people in the North Terrace don't bother too.

2,796 Posts
    Anyway, I thought the atmosphere at the last competitive home game was pretty good.

Friendlies will never have the same atmosphere as a meaningful competitive game. Part of the problem since Kerr has taken over is that we've had far too few really important home games, and in some of those (e.g., Russia, Albania) the performance on the pitch was so flat it spread to the crowd.

'come on ireland' repeated until crescendo, then mantra-like for 20 minutes (turkish style)

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    I think you also have to blame those in the North Terrace who think an atmosphere will just happen by their being there. Ask soccerc who organises (organised?) the tickets - people were asked to bring drums, etc. and didn't bother - actually said "f*** off" in some cases. People here whined about how difficult it was to bring a drum all the way into Lansdowne.
    It's very easy to blame the barstoolers (and right to, to a large extent), but all too often, the people in the North Terrace don't bother too.
    Is it not more the case that no one followed the North Terraces lead and people have just got bored? Certainly the first few games the atmosphere was a 100 times better in the North Terrace than it was for games I was in there for before.

Drums imo are overrated at matches, drownout the singing and only people near the drums can get them to play to the same tune.

Roll on the milder weather and cheap cans outside the lansdowne...

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Is it not more the case that no one followed the North Terrace's lead and people have just got bored? Certainly the first few games the atmosphere was a 100 times better in the North Terrace than it was for games I was in there for before.
    Possibly, but then most grounds will have a small singing section (Section O, the Cork Shed), while most of the rest of the ground don't join in much (I'm going to get pilloried for that, I know, but by and large it's true!!) - doesn't mean they get bored and stop.

Drums imo are overrated at matches, drownout the singing and only people near the drums can get them to play to the same tune.
    I disagree. In Paris and at the Faroes game, I had a bodhrán and found it great to get chants going. If everyone has one, that's a problem obviously, but if they are spread around the terrace, they can help pick up on the chant and start it spreading.

Roll on the milder weather and cheap cans outside the lansdowne...
    Definitely! And a few Saturday games wouldn't go amiss either!

Whats the bets Criastiano Ronaldo gets booed for playing for 'the other team'
    <insert witty remark>

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    I went to a few games in the north terrace when that initiative started. I tried singing along with others but there was just no point. You got strange looks, and people didn't join in. Yet another reason why I gave up going to Ireland games.

As for bringing drums in- I brought in flagpoles a few times and had ridiculous hassle with them. Being stopped by stewards, guards etc. One time it took me 15mins of arguing just to get them as far as the security hut, and i still had to go in and collect them after. So no way would I risk bringing a drum all the way out there- what are you supposed to do if they tell you you're not allowed bring it in?

230 Posts

As for bringing drums in- I brought in flagpoles a few times and had ridiculous hassle with them. Being stopped by stewards, guards etc. One time it took me 15mins of arguing just to get them as far as the security hut, and i still had to go in and collect them after. So no way would I risk bringing a drum all the way out there- what are you supposed to do if they tell you you're not allowed bring it in?
    You will just have to march to the beat of a different drum Taxi
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    I'm all for big flags, flares and that kind of thing, but a few green cards with songs printed on the back were absolutley woeful. It looked well when it was green white and orange flags making out the flag but just green cards on there own looked terrible, half the people didn't hold them up and they ended up as paper airplanes more often than not it seemed.
    Fair enough and maybe there should be more imagination with the cards laid out in future, the national flag, the four province etc could be tried. However people in the ground should take some responsibility for not holding up cards -pretty simple thing to do but obviously some are not bright enough to work this out - I would at least say fair play to the FAI for making the effort.

Should also note that in all the grounds that I have been to it is only rarely that the whole ground will create an atmosphere, it is normally a dedicated set of fans at one or both ends of the ground that sing and make the displays. Even in the most loudest grounds with the best fans and most colourful displays (Roma and Dortmund as I'm in a name dropping kinda mood) the rest of the ground look to the Curva Sud and Sud Tribune respectively for the noise and colour - a starting point that we should consider when we wish to create an atmosphere at home games.

*Incidently I once seen St. Pauli organise there fans to hold up cards making out a recuring brown, white and red pattern on a terrace - now thats organised efficiency!
    Last edited by Pat O' Banton; 09/02/2005 at 5:14 PM.
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

No songs or Chants really got going last night at all really you'd hear the south startin up and a few would join in then it would just fizzle out...

Think its hard to get the crowd goin in Lansdown anyway the way the stadium is constructed....

Was in the East Terrace last night and was regulary the only one singing with everyone giving me dirty looks.... I didn't care carried on singing at the top of my voice all night and jumpin up and down to stop myself from freezin to death...

piratemousey
    so what do ye sing at ireland international matches.
    is it still ole ole ole??