Thread: reason for negitive vibes?

reason for negitive vibes?

We just signed a striker, one who played with a team with a great tradation last season, a striker who threw himself into every tackle, a striker with a goal return unequalled in our league, some of the local non net fans know this already and all bets on Limerick being promoted are off, also the suicide rate has gone up. One fan just choked on his dinner when i told him. We have just signed i cant bring myself to say his name, oh jesus why us, here we are all proud not to have signed a donkey like Jason Kabia yet we signed Cant Pass O'Brian...again
    Last edited by gael353; 07/02/2005 at 6:13 PM. Reason: typo

This is a surprise. I know a certain minority feel that CP wasn´t handled properly and used it as another excuse to attack Mike Kerley a few months ago but I´d like to point out that he didn´t make the grade either with Cork City. So I guess Pat Dolan is a bad manger as well. But seriously we all know that he has the potential to be a good player but his problem is in his attitude and application. Hence the reason why nearly all Limerick FC fans who saw him play were delighted to see him go before the end of last season. He´s not a team player and I feel could prove to be a disruptive force, NOC is taking a gamble in my opinion. He would have been far better off trying to resign Kulsten who in my opinion is a far better player.

One incident I remember concerning CP was when we played away to Galway last season, CP texted Mike Kerley half an hour before kick off to say he couldn´t make the match supposedly because of injury. Why he couldn´t contact him earlier in the day I don´t know but what I do know is that the players weren´t impressed, the same set of players who are being retained this season. If we do sign CP he is going to have to start doing the business straight away on the field to win the fans and players over.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

What kind of a message does this signing send to people lik Finny who AFAIK is yet to resign? Remember this is a man who basically quit travelling to away games towards the end of last season, John Healy was forced to come on as a loan striker up in Athlone when this guy was at home fit What were they thinking re-signing him? I dunno what amazes me more, the fact that someone at the club took the bother to ring and ask for his signature or the fact that the lazy **** got up and answered his phone This is a real shocker by NOC and could alienate quite a few fans. Some people are beyond deserving a second chance and in my humble opinion Consistently Poor O'Brien is one of them. I could forgive a lack of ability but not a lack of effort

Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    I could forgive a lack of ability but not a lack of effort
    Exactly the same sentiment as myself then. Can't Pass O'
    Brien has friends in high places, that's been an open secret for a while now and it would explain how he ended up on our doorstep again. It's not like he was linked with anybody else now is it? The mooted interest from Cobh certainly never materialised and there was a distinct shortage of hype about a player whose claim to fame is playing well once in an U-21 game...

I dunno, maybe it's just me but even outside of the fact that he seemed a lazy, selfish, petulant liability for much of the season there's the fact that he hardly set the world alight anyway.

Hopefully he'll fare better this time out but I'm not convicned that it's a good move at all. He'll have to play out of his skin from the start to win over the majority of the support as well as the players who weren't complimentary about him either. Best of luck to him anyway I suppose, I hope I'm wrong and he turns out to be a player after all.

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    we signed Cant Pass O'Brian...again
    Bring back the Three Stooges, all is forgiven!! At least they only signed him up on a loan deal!!

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    a player whose claim to fame is playing well once in an U-21 game...
    in fairness he did a bit more than that. When I saw him at Limerick he looked pathetic- he wasn't interested and he made no effort at all. He's certainly capable of doing good things for limerick if he puts his mind to it, but if I were a limerick fan I'd be very disappointed given his behaviour.

Gael, seeing as you are so down on Colin P., care to lay a tenner that, if he signs, he scores more goals this year than Derek McCarthy. His attitude was bad - but everything stunk to high heaven last year. You are underestimating him.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    Gael, seeing as you are so down on Colin P., care to lay a tenner that, if he signs, he scores more goals this year than Derek McCarthy. His attitude was bad - but everything stunk to high heaven last year. You are underestimating him.
    I'll easily lay down 50 that Derek scores more although it will be difficult with such a wastrel partnering him

a wastrel partnering him
    Hee hee. So so apt!

Actually lads it's just a simple mix-up. NOC actually meant to ring Colin T but rang Colin P instead (it's what you get when you rely on phone nos in a mobile)
    Reportedly, Colin P couldn't believe he was being offered another chance and jumped at it, while NOC couldn't believe how easy it was to get his man!

The first training session should be good crack!

bets

Its not that im down on the guy its just his attitude twords us the supporters last season, he told JohnD to go "f*%k himself when John offered encouragement, gave him the finger too. I wont bet with you on this one LFC last year i didnt take one either when one of the then club amigos offered odds on CP and Alan Barry getting more goals then Stevo and Carthy the year before. No i just think his re-signing might alienate some/lots of supporters.

Ah man, take the bet. At least for a bit of sport at home games.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Ah man, take the bet. At least for a bit of sport at home games.
    Is my money no good here?

Seeing as how I don't know ya...

In any event - €50 is too steep for a bit of craic.

Seeing as how I don't know ya...

In any event - €50 is too steep for a bit of craic.
    gael or one of the lads will point me out to you at the next game. Oh dear a misunderstanding i was thinkin more along the lines of 50 cent I am a student you know

wait and see he has a hell of a lot to offer

Super Blues

I was passing hogan park yesterday and had a look in
    the place is in bits, just over 4 weeks to the start of a new season
    all the talk of 5/600 seats in place for kickoff ,i dont think so..the pitch is unplayable not up too EL standard.cant see football been played there in the near future...... danny drew more like ronnie drew...maybe hogan park will become hogan place..a nice place to put 20 houses up and make a few bob????

Quote Originally Posted by willie john
    wait and see he has a hell of a lot to offer
    lol lets

Quote Originally Posted by fc hammer
    I was passing hogan park yesterday and had a look in
    the place is in bits, just over 4 weeks to the start of a new season
    all the talk of 5/600 seats in place for kickoff ,i dont think so..the pitch is unplayable not up too EL standard.cant see football been played there in the near future...... danny drew more like ronnie drew...maybe hogan park will become hogan place..a nice place to put 20 houses up and make a few bob????
    Your right about the place being in bits but i think the mention of seats was for 600. something will have to be done bout the pitch too but we always get the first game away so it'll be pushed out to 6/7 weeks to get right.

6/7 week is fine but what about seeing some kind of movement there, time is ticking away and 7 weeks is a hell of a short time to bring the ground up too a standard where people will spend there money and contuine to support us.we need action now the time for words has pass
    where is the rest of the magic fix and when do they turn up to be counted