Page 24 of 66 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast

Thread: Richard Dunne

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Agreed, Okkas gave him the run around. Some very clumsy challenges and needless frees given away near the end. Couldve given away a penalty as well. I think Dunne suffers with an Okkas type of player, small and pacey, Sledge may have been the better option to mark him.

and here was I thinking okkas was marking robbie keane

Very poor game. I actually thought O'Shea was worse. And hardly noticed St Ledger. While Dunne made a lot of mistakes he made more valuable contributions than the rest of the defence combined. He needs to sort himself out though.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    While Dunne made a lot of mistakes he made more valuable contributions than the rest of the defence combined.
    Yeah. Contributions wise he gave away twice as many free-kicks as the rest of the defence combined.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    Yeah. Contributions wise he gave away twice as many free-kicks as the rest of the defence combined.
    I know that. He did contribute a lot of good though which some people don't take into account. We can't just count up the bad things and say he was worse than O'Shea. O'Shea was worse for me but all eyes are on Dunne I suppose.

lads it's hard to play well when all around you are playing sh#it and making mistakes, and Dunne has been our best defender so many times, totally standing out above any other player on the team. we depend on him too much, maybe the pressure was too much for him last night, and when he looks around him and sees O Shea, Kilbane, St. Ledger, he's probably thinking to himself " Christ i'm gonna have to be man-of-the-match again today if we're gonna get anything out of this game"
    "It's not about winning, it's taking people apart that counts"

82 Posts
    Very poor game. I actually thought O'Shea was worse. And hardly noticed St Ledger. While Dunne made a lot of mistakes he made more valuable contributions than the rest of the defence combined. He needs to sort himself out though.
    I would agree with you.

Dunne's size means that when he's playing against someone with a bit of pace (therefore almost every game), he'll get stuck on the wrong side a few times. He makes more than his fair share of excellent challenges in these situations, but also is guaranteed a couple of clumsy ones. The same happened last night. He really hasn't got the pace or lightness of foot to be a world class defender. But he gives you 100%.

O'Shea has been playing much better for Ireland under Trapp, but last night he was back to underperforming. Very hesitant and positionally poor, he didn't look comfortable at all. I wouldn't blame him too much for his distribution as he didn't really have much of an option short with midfield AWOL.

Surely his pace hasn't gone though? Vucinic and Torres are lightning quick and he had no problem dominating them. Dunne was fast at his best. He didn't look very quick last night.

82 Posts
    Surely his pace hasn't gone though? Vucinic and Torres are lightning quick and he had no problem dominating them. Dunne was fast at his best. He didn't look very quick last night.
    I know what you mean, but I think there's a difference between pace and speed. Dunne is quick in a straight line when he gets going, but because of his size he doesn't turn well. So he relies a lot on his reading of the game to be in the right place at the right time and not to be stuck on the wrong side (not unlike McGrath in his later years).

Last night he wasn't reading the game well, maybe it didn't help that the lads beside him were also poor.

Also, Torres whilst fast, is quite tall and hasn't got a low centre of gravity. I'd say Dunne far prefers playing against bigger lads.

1,928 Posts
    In mitigation, Dunne is not an early (season) riser.
    Also he missed out a good bit of training recently.
    He'll be grand for the Italy game.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    one poor game lads, Im not willing to write him off just yet after how good he has been throughout this campaign.Must have been difficult to get his mind right when he was trying to sort out a move in the middle of an important weeks training for the game. He will back to his best against Italy I have absolutely no doubts
    Its really not that complicated!!!

he was poor tonight, could have given away two penos and gave away a stupid and needless freekick with 2 minutes to go
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    In mitigation, Dunne is not an early (season) riser.
    Also he missed out a good bit of training recently.
    He'll be grand for the Italy game.
    Are you Steve Staunton?
    Yeah were normally good around March!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Dont know if this was posted already but when dunnie was at City, one of the staff at the ground required a back operation which cost 15k, dunnie did a whip around and put the majority in himself. You dont hear too many stories like that in any walk of life never mind football. Fair play dunnie, the man has gone up in my estimation - again.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Dont know if this was posted already but when dunnie was at City, one of the staff at the ground required a back operation which cost 15k, dunnie did a whip around and put the majority in himself. You dont hear too many stories like that in any walk of life never mind football. Fair play dunnie, the man has gone up in my estimation - again.
    nice to hear them helping out, didnt robbie pay for new kits for all the age groups at one of his old dublin school boy clubs. cant remember the name.

89 Posts
    debut for villa today

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rebelmusic View Post
    debut for villa today
    Good luck Richard. Show man city that they should have treated their best player over the last five years with a lot more respect.

Man city= plenty of money= absolutely no class.

89 Posts
    Quote from Sky Sports

"I like Richhard Dunne in a Villa shirt- he looks right at home.
    Here is is tidying up again with a flicked clearance to nullify any Birmingham threat"

123 Posts
    Word on the villa forums is that they're generally very impressed with Dunne's showing thus far.

20 Posts
    Villa at the moment are a modest club that seems to be boxing clever under O'Neill. It's a good club for a player to move to if they're the right mentality. We could potentially see Dunne move into another level of class at the club - I certainly had no faith in any part of the setup at City. Hope it goes as well for him as another famous Irish centre back who played at Villa

89 Posts
    All i'll say is go read the match details on sky sports score center. They're raving about him

Page 24 of 66 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast