Very poor game. I actually thought O'Shea was worse. And hardly noticed St Ledger. While Dunne made a lot of mistakes he made more valuable contributions than the rest of the defence combined. He needs to sort himself out though.
lads it's hard to play well when all around you are playing sh#it and making mistakes, and Dunne has been our best defender so many times, totally standing out above any other player on the team. we depend on him too much, maybe the pressure was too much for him last night, and when he looks around him and sees O Shea, Kilbane, St. Ledger, he's probably thinking to himself " Christ i'm gonna have to be man-of-the-match again today if we're gonna get anything out of this game"
"It's not about winning, it's taking people apart that counts"
I would agree with you.
Dunne's size means that when he's playing against someone with a bit of pace (therefore almost every game), he'll get stuck on the wrong side a few times. He makes more than his fair share of excellent challenges in these situations, but also is guaranteed a couple of clumsy ones. The same happened last night. He really hasn't got the pace or lightness of foot to be a world class defender. But he gives you 100%.
O'Shea has been playing much better for Ireland under Trapp, but last night he was back to underperforming. Very hesitant and positionally poor, he didn't look comfortable at all. I wouldn't blame him too much for his distribution as he didn't really have much of an option short with midfield AWOL.
Surely his pace hasn't gone though? Vucinic and Torres are lightning quick and he had no problem dominating them. Dunne was fast at his best. He didn't look very quick last night.
I know what you mean, but I think there's a difference between pace and speed. Dunne is quick in a straight line when he gets going, but because of his size he doesn't turn well. So he relies a lot on his reading of the game to be in the right place at the right time and not to be stuck on the wrong side (not unlike McGrath in his later years).
Last night he wasn't reading the game well, maybe it didn't help that the lads beside him were also poor.
Also, Torres whilst fast, is quite tall and hasn't got a low centre of gravity. I'd say Dunne far prefers playing against bigger lads.
In mitigation, Dunne is not an early (season) riser.
Also he missed out a good bit of training recently.
He'll be grand for the Italy game.
one poor game lads, Im not willing to write him off just yet after how good he has been throughout this campaign.Must have been difficult to get his mind right when he was trying to sort out a move in the middle of an important weeks training for the game. He will back to his best against Italy I have absolutely no doubts
Its really not that complicated!!!
he was poor tonight, could have given away two penos and gave away a stupid and needless freekick with 2 minutes to go
'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch
Dont know if this was posted already but when dunnie was at City, one of the staff at the ground required a back operation which cost 15k, dunnie did a whip around and put the majority in himself. You dont hear too many stories like that in any walk of life never mind football. Fair play dunnie, the man has gone up in my estimation - again.
Quote from Sky Sports
"I like Richhard Dunne in a Villa shirt- he looks right at home.
Here is is tidying up again with a flicked clearance to nullify any Birmingham threat"
Word on the villa forums is that they're generally very impressed with Dunne's showing thus far.![]()
Villa at the moment are a modest club that seems to be boxing clever under O'Neill. It's a good club for a player to move to if they're the right mentality. We could potentially see Dunne move into another level of class at the club - I certainly had no faith in any part of the setup at City. Hope it goes as well for him as another famous Irish centre back who played at Villa![]()
All i'll say is go read the match details on sky sports score center. They're raving about him