Page 58 of 60 FirstFirst ... 8485657585960 LastLast
Results 1,141 to 1,160 of 1193

Thread: League of Ireland in Europe 2017

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post
    Can a referee send off spectators at a match ?
    they can and have to all to often sadly, especially parents gettng on the back of their own kids with foul language. Ref wont restart the game until the individual leaves but most of the time they can just step outside a perimeter fence or the like so makes litle difference. Ye hope they have been shamed in to shutting up

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    they can and have to all to often sadly, especially parents gettng on the back of their own kids with foul language. Ref wont restart the game until the individual leaves but most of the time they can just step outside a perimeter fence or the like so makes litle difference. Ye hope they have been shamed in to shutting up
    Had to deal with it myself back in the day.
    You wouldn't believe how some parents behave.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts
    Anyone here watch Last Chance U on Netflix? There's an episode in Season 2 where the head coach gets a mouthy parent removed from the stands, much to the chagrin of her onfield son. More of a stadium security thing though, not referees.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by disgruntled View Post
    Had to deal with it myself back in the day.
    You wouldn't believe how some parents behave.
    Same here, it verged on physical assault sometimes. Until a no tolerance approach is taken to that craic at underage matches, Irish kids will learn nothing other than to kick it as hard as they can up the pitch

3,196 Posts
    UCD v Molde fixture details confirmed - home leg on 27th Sept at 6:30 in the UCD Bowl; tickets a tenner (fiver concession) and available at the gate.

Return game on 18th October at 6:30 in the Aker Stadion in Molde -

408 Posts
    UCD v Molde fixture details confirmed - home leg on 27th Sept at 6:30 in the UCD Bowl; tickets a tenner (fiver concession) and available at the gate.

That's some stadium Molde have !

Do you think they'll be able to handle the intimidating atmosphere in the Belfield Bowl ?

386 Posts
    Molde is such a picturesque place. And expensive!

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Aye, Stu and the boys will be eating shoe polish in the park if they want to get a buzz on before the game, that is all we could afford to do anyway.

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Aye with the ground costing €20mil

184 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    Aye, Stu and the boys will be eating shoe polish in the park if they want to get a buzz on before the game, that is all we could afford to do anyway.
    On the plus side, Ryanair flights to Norway are usually v cheap. But yes, if stu or any of the other UCD lads are planning on going, be prepared for very expensive food and drink. I was in Oslo a few yrs ago and a pint cost me €13. Admittedly, that was in a lovely square right in the centre of the capital, but i'd still expect you'll pay around €10 for a pint in Molde. Even cans were expensive. I found a local supermarket (Kiwi it was called) and the cheapest can i could buy was €3!!

Luckily, I found Gronland. Tourist websites called it Oslo's multi-cultural melting pot - code for an immigrant neighbourhood. Prices were a bit cheaper tho so i was happy!

76 Posts
    Nice Stadium, but it doesn't quite have the same charm of the cowshed stand in Drogheda, the temperature of Deacy Park on any occasion bar sunshine or the terrace in Bray in the lashing rain

114 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Aye with the ground costing €20mil

Jaysis, over here no doubt it'd end up costing €200m! Absolutely fantastic facility for the cost of the build, I know it was built a couple of years ago but we can only dream of a couple of the likes of that over here.

3,196 Posts
    Worth pointing out too that Molde is the size of Bray. And they recently got through the group stages of the Europa League. Really puts in context the potential of the LoI.

76 Posts
    Worth pointing out too that Molde is the size of Bray. And they recently got through the group stages of the Europa League. Really puts in context the potential of the LoI.
    That really boggles the mind....I've always thought that with the right attitude to finances, promotion and capturing the public's interest, not to mention long term planning, we could be on par with the Danish,Norwegian and Belgian Leagues, all given each countries relative size of population alone. That's about 50 years away, if ever, sadly. Having said all that, take away Norway's discovery of Oil ,less than 50 years ago, and it takes all the billionaires (Kjell Inge Rokke,main Molde investor, being one) out of the pool. One can only hope that the Porcupine Bank Oil Prospect enriches us in the same way some day
    Last edited by CorribsideSteve; 20/09/2017 at 9:23 PM. Reason: Incorrectly named reference of person

The TV pot in Norway is €40m. In Ireland it's €0. Molde get more money without kicking a ball than most LOI sides turn over in a year.

19. Thanks From:

177 Posts
    Molde have a lovely wee stadium alright. But as has been said, the ground plus the team, have a billionaire backer. Talking to the their fans when Rovers played them a few years back they were saying that the club & it's ambitions has kind of outgrown the town ... a nice complaint.

Edit: The landing into their airport was sketchy as fuk.
    Last edited by redobit; 21/09/2017 at 2:16 PM.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

772 Posts
    Can get very damp in the stadium - hence the name.

I'll get my coat.

870 Posts
    At a rough guide of €1mil per thousand seats it wasnt that cheap but of course you can see where the additional 10mil have gone as it as a landmark type building and some prime site on the waterfront.

But yup in this country depending on the when, where, place in an economic cycle, who is chancing their arm etc figures look just plucked out of the air. An example of things seeming nuts in this country for me was when Southhampton were building St Marys it was costing 40mil, about the same time Berties Bowl was mooted and there were figures from the budgeted €250mil to north of €1billion in real cost bandied and the difference is about 20,000 seats. Eircom Park was called unrealistic at 40 million for 45k seated ground!!?? €45mil was spent on Stadium Ireland and not a sod was turned so what was spent could have built Eircom Park and have the revamped Landsdowne Road too.
    The flipping aquatic centre that did go ahead was to cost 30million and finished at 80million in the end and + remedial works for the 'leak'.

Slightly wrong thread I know but in context of looking at Molde's stadium costs and the bs we have here at times. Now is actually a good time to develop grounds if it is to happen at all over the next 20 years - build costs are not pushed to ridiculous levels as there is still not the development happening to sustain that industry at silly levels. Credit is still cheap and banks are loosening their loan criteria, government coffers are healthier and with that will be an increase of sports capital grants. Councils havent had budgets signiicantly increased yet so levies on any decent development will be grabbed and planners will try to actually iron out issues rather than give a flat 'no chance'.

Some councils are better than others of course ranging from the *cough* North Korea like Wicklow CoCo to the giving on a golden platter type like SDCoCo. So even in their eternal embarressment of the problem child the FAI should see the next couple of years as the window of opportunity to get ground development done. The introduction of the underage LoI leagues are a great chance to tick boxes in the grant application criteria (St Kevins know that too). The chance will pass after the national focus on housing stock levels are in full swing, builders will be back at 2006 building and pricing levels and maybe worse as housing developments will require greater proportions designated as social housing and builders looking to recoup that cost, planning authorities become overwhelmed, the whole risky sell to build thinking from clubs return along with the chancers looking to make a quick buck.
    I have always taken an interest in sporting infrastructure development internationally and nationally and we are very much in and about the circumstances of 2002 or so, so look away Bohs fans as all that is missing is the selling of one gaffe(sic) twice...
    Last edited by Nesta99; 21/09/2017 at 6:22 PM.

3,196 Posts
    Soft aul day for a match anyway.

I imagine this will ruin any chance of getting a crowd tonight.

3,196 Posts
    1-0 down after 12 minutes. Big gulf in class; could be a long night. Maybe 500 here in the end; decent crowd