Page 18 of 60 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast

Thread: League of Ireland in Europe 2017

3,491 Posts
    All the underage winners are now known - so UCD need three of the following to qualify for the CL group stages and we're in the UEFA Youth League -

Sporting Lisbon
    Dinamo Kiev
    Ajax
    Red Bull Salzburg
    Legia Warsaw
    APOEL Nicosia
    Celtic
    Qarabag
    Ludogorets Razgrad
    Honved

If by some outside chance 5 of them qualify, we could end up being drawn against F91 Dudelange again.

You'd imagine at least three of those will qualify.

3,491 Posts
    You'd imagine so alright.

Club have done initial licencing prep for the tournament. Obviously just in case, but yeah, I'd be confident enough of qualifying.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosshead View Post
    Have never known such confidence among our fans ahead of a European tie. Doesn't sit well with me. I know we're on a great run, but we literally have no idea how strong these lads are. Would gladly take a score draw now.
    Well maybe most were extremely confident against linfield last year, and we didn't exactly stroll through that. Drawing the lowest seed can be seen as a good draw of course, but they are also on a fantastic run in their own league. I'd bite your hand off for a 1-0, but yeah a score draw would be very satisfactory.

1,928 Posts
    Bradley talked to few local reporters early this evening after training in Stjarnan's ground. He let it be known that Rovers "are the biggest club in Ireland and have the best supporters".
    That's mighty talk from the minnow sized coach.

He's actually not as short as he looks, so take that back.

1,928 Posts
    You don't take issue with Bradley's mighty sized boast? You just want to squabble about an imperceptible millimeter?

While Rovers might not currently be at the top of the tree, the hysterical reaction to anything Bradley says speaks for itself.

230 Posts
    [QUOTE=geysir;1926289]You don't take issue with Bradley's mighty sized boast? You just want to squabble about an imperceptible millimeter?[/QUOTE
    Fair play to Bradley, rile them up!

696 Posts
    Wow shamrock rovers manager says rovers are biggest team with the best supporters. Shock horror...

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    I'd say he has really frightened them with that talk.

He's a master at the ould psychology all the same

696 Posts
    I'd say he's on a par with "poor me we haven't had a peno in 5 years "

959 Posts
    This is bubbling up nicely! and not a Cork fan in sight to row in behind geysir ... yet. Cork and tbh Dundalk struggled in Iceland the last couple of years but Dundalk got over the jitters and kicked on. Cork have a banana skin of a tie but expectation is to progress. Id imagine Shamrock Rovers fans feel the same as bar struggling in Luxembourg, struggling in Iceland wont meet expectation regardless of overtures of staying grounded and stating that nothing is taken for granted - it is hard not to feel expectant against teams from countres that big Irish clubs should be putting away. Without seeing any of the game i'd say the expectation in Windor Park tonight was a given with relatively new management at the NI champions who were actually available for the forray in to Europe, the biggest club on the island and their fans had to have been thinking all about their glamour tie against the other hoops. Tie still up for grabs though there.

You'll give poor geysir a heart attack with that "countries big Irish teams should be putting away" talk.

959 Posts
    Oh after beating FH last season that heart sucked it up and quit the onslaught of the virtues of the Icelandic domestic league Id give plenty to have the facility that FH have, not the one fairly new stand, though that would be nice, but the facilities anciliary to that stand were sweet. But then if we all had the funding from the local council as they did we'd be grand.....cough.

I approve at your thinly-veiled dig at Bohemians and their cushy peppercorn rent deal.

959 Posts
    Thinly veiled - hardly. Jealousy is what it is, of FH.

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Thinly veiled - hardly. Jealousy is what it is, of FH.
    I'm sure they probably had to endure a years-long court case taken by the local GAA club before anything happened. I assume they have GAA clubs in Iceland anyway.

21. Thanks From:

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Bradley talked to few local reporters early this evening after training in Stjarnan's ground. He let it be known that Rovers "are the biggest club in Ireland and have the best supporters".
    That's mighty talk from the minnow sized coach.
    He says that before every game over here as well, I'm not sure if he's trying to convince himself or everyone else.

I reckon 2 of the 4 Irish sides will go through
    Here on a technicality.

399 Posts
    Best of luck to Derry, Rovers and Cork today. I`ll be following the updates closely. I think I saw Cork were slight favs to win tonight?

I think the only time we were favourites last season was home to FH, and we still didn't beat them!
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Page 18 of 60 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast