1-1, Benno

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    Didn't see this happening tonight, but we are heading for a defeat. Vernon puts pats back in front.

Christ, 3-1.

Very disappointing this

147 Posts
    That's a result - and that's the title

Didn't see that coming but very happy. One win needed to win the league now.

Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    Didn't see that coming but very happy. One win needed to win the league now.
    Congratulations lads. Possibly the best of the 3 title wins? We try again next year.

P.S Please let us have the cup at least

296 Posts
    Delighted with that really helps raise the spirts , what a cracker by Sam Verdon.

Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    P.S Please let us have the cup at least
    Eh no! The results tonight will also help the fixture congestion. If we beat Bohs then the last two games are meaningless.

On the cup final, I saw a tweet that said Bolgers yellow was his 8th of the season so he could miss the final.

386 Posts
    A week and a half ago it looked like City had turned it around. 3 games later it's 'Good night Vienna' It is the #GreatestLeagueInTheWorld

125 Posts
    Fantastic achievement. This was the most impressive of the other 2. Taking into account the European matches and that it was a phenomenonal achievement.
    I actually did think Cork would catch us and win the title even after last week's match but words cannot describe this team

Really do feel for Cork as they are a good team and deserve some reward for it. Thankfully they have the presidents cup

On the cup final, I saw a tweet that said Bolgers yellow was his 8th of the season so he could miss the final.
    I'm always for keeping these things separate. Suspensions in the cup should be only for cards accumulated in the cup.

84 Posts
    A lot of Dundalk fans (well the ones I know) did not think we had the legs for both a european run and another league... I think cork dropped points at important moments to drive that home and missed an opportunity. In saying that its not over yet , but it certainly gives dundalk a lot more room to rest players coming into the final and other European games.

Side note, only 300-400 at the Pats game ? (I have seen on twitter)... If thats true , what an absolute shame. They won the league only 3 years ago and did well in europe this year. No mid table team in Ireland should have that crowd anyways on a monday or not.

26 Posts
    The results tonight will also help the fixture congestion. If we beat Bohs then the last two games are meaningless.
    Fair play.
    I hope they can go into the Zenit game on a bit of a high now and not be too tired... would be a pity in the home leg to get hammered... :S

Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    Really do feel for Cork as they are a good team and deserve some reward for it. Thankfully they have the presidents cup
    Your compassion doesn't soften the blow. Very frustrating if it weren't for ye, we could be the ones getting the three in a row. Thought the presidents cup was a turning of the tides kind of game and that belief was reinforced by the two victories over ye after that. The critical part was the games we dropped points in after we exited Europe. 7 days ago I thought we would do it, and now here we are 7 points behind. Football is a strange old game.

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    Your compassion doesn't soften the blow. Very frustrating if it weren't for ye, we could be the ones getting the three in a row. Thought the presidents cup was a turning of the tides kind of game and that belief was reinforced by the two victories over ye after that. The critical part was the games we dropped points in after we exited Europe. 7 days ago I thought we would do it, and now here we are 7 points behind. Football is a strange old game.

Yeah, must be a strange feeling to finish second 3 times. I thought the changing point for Dundalk was wining the league Cup in 2014, and so the presidents cup could have been for cork, as its always important to break that duck. This is the first year that Cork ended with a better head to head in the league and to still not push it to the end must be frustrating. Cork did look like a different animal with Maguire up front and are kind of in an Arsenal position now, would take a brave/reckless (only time would tell) decision to get rid of caulfield

399 Posts
    I always believed Dundalk would win it, even with the european matches and the run of league games to squeeze in, as apart from the Zenit match, Cork had the same schedule. I just felt Kenny had the players focused, and apart from the Sligo blip, it never really looked like we would allow Cork to get past us. Cork may have got a huge boost with that 5-0 away win in Galway, but they still had to come to Dundalk and win, I never thought that would happen, we were stronger all over the park that night.

It is a fair suggestion though, if it wasn't for Dundalk and Kenny, Cork could possibly won a league during 2014-16, but I`m not so sure Caulfield is the right man, he doesn't strike me as a league winning manager. He has a chance in the cup final though to finally get some silverware.

On the near certainty that we do win the league now, this has to be one of the best ever league titles by Dundalk given the progress the club has made in Europe with a chance of making the last 32 in the EL.

If we do win it on Sunday night at home to Bohs, that will be title no 12 for the club, incredible achievement really, considering 8 seasons from 1999/00 to 2008 were spent in the FD, and before 2014 it was 19 years since the last title.
    Last edited by oriel; 17/10/2016 at 11:56 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kiki Balboa View Post

Side note, only 300-400 at the Pats game ? (I have seen on twitter)... If thats true , what an absolute shame. They won the league only 3 years ago and did well in europe this year. No mid table team in Ireland should have that crowd anyways on a monday or not.
    Yeah, very poor crowd. I'm didn't think it was that low (I'd have thought maybe double that ?) but I couldn't see the full stand from where I was. Regardless, we should be doing much better. Combination I think of our pretty lousy season, Monday night, and Man U/Liverpool on the box.

The result helped though Probably our best performance of the season, for spirit and guts alone. This team doesn't show enough fight and commitment for my liking at times, but it was there tonight. Get O'Brien typified it,terrific performance. Two lovely goals from Christy Fagan (trying to curry favour with his new employers ?) and especialy Sam Verdon. Would have preferred that performance in the cup, but such is life.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

415 Posts
    Eh no! The results tonight will also help the fixture congestion. If we beat Bohs then the last two games are meaningless.

I thought they brought in a rule after we had Richie Ryan and Blinkhorn miss the 2010 cup final with yellow cards totting up that players wouldn't miss the cup final cause of yellow cards anymore?

Well done Dundalk, best team won in the end (assuming you don't do a Rovers on it).

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Well done Dundalk, best team won in the end (assuming you don't do a Rovers on it).
    Devon Lock is dead and buried

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast